We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location close to Capitol Hill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #93 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location close to Capitol Hill”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a conference and it was a nice clean hotel. Upgraded to a Capitol Hill view and it was not worth cost of the upgrade. There were mostly satellites in the view. Very disappointed in the view. So not worth the extra money. Ate in the restaurant twice and it was good. Staff was friendly. Rooms were clean. Would stay again but not upgrade.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisLevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    527
    571
    187
    67
    71
See reviews for
357
330
92
443
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

We got a great deal through groupon so keeping price in mind, hotel was well worth it. Room was large with comfortable beds. No view of Capitol, but that was ok since we did a lot of sightseeing and were barely in the room. The location is convenient and found plenty to eat around there. Parking was indeed very expensive and on top of it my husband's work blackberry, which he left in the car overnight, went missing.
We requested a fridge because had to refrigerate daughter's medicine and it was promptly brought up. Breakfast at the lobby restaurant was good (buffet option available). All in all, we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family and I have been to DC many times and have stayed in several areas. This trip, we learned that, hands down, the location to be at is Union Station. This hotel and a handful of others are located literally 5 minutes from there. For the price, it really couldn't be beat. As others have noted, it's silly to charge $5 for wifi in today's world (again, it's free in the lobby).Also, parking is outrageous- $46 for one night. In fact, the doorman even suggested we park elsewhere because of the expense! The staff (except for the check in woman) was lovely, especially the bag-checkers and the doormen. We didn't even turn on the TV, bit the room was great-- spacious. Although we did not get a room with the view of the Capitol, it was fine. The bed is soooo comfortable- the best I've ever slept in.
If you're looking for good dining, there's a restaurant right inside. If you're looking for cheap dining, literally a Quiznos and sandwich shop are around the corner (along with a hot dog truck), and Union Station is, again, only 5 minutes. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and will be checking out reviews of The Hyatt, Liaison, and Phoenix (?) which are located literally right next to our hotel. Nice experience overall.

Room Tip: You might want to park elsewhere and dave $46.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CML754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Traveled to DC on business and was assigned this hotel as it was within walking distance of our conference. Very surprised that something so close to the Capital was so "average." Considering the price the room had few extra amenities... the tv worked only periodically even after the maintenance folks replaced the remote twice... had to call to get an iron... it was clean and the bed were comfortable but it just seemed more like a budget hotel trying to impress it's date... Ease of access to DC and suitable if you plan on spending zero time in your room...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Beautiful hotel, great rooms, well appointed, comfortable, with all the amenities (except, strangely, any sort of in room safe, which is pretty rare these days not to have one), even a decent fitness center. But, from minute one the service was mediocre. The bell captains couldn't be bothered helping with luggage when we arrived, nor even holding the doors open, and that was pretty much the case throughout our stay. Check in time was 4pm, but there were dozens of people waiting in the lobby right up until that moment and then suddenly all the rooms became available - that's just poor time management and not good guest relations. Over a three day stay, housekeeping never once came to our room - late on the second day I called to see what was going on and a housekeeping supervisor came to the room to inform me that there was no record of the room being occupied, so she apologized, but, no housekeeping. We went to eat breakfast in the cafe one morning - the two waiters were grouchy the whole time, brought us coffee and juice, but then never came back to take an order, despite attempts to flag them over (and very few people in the room, so it wasn't that they were busy), finally after about half an hour we just gave up and asked for a check, then suddenly they wanted to take an order. I wouldn't bother to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saltshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I stayed at Washington Court for three nights and had an excellent stay. I got the Amtrak from New York and the hotel is about 5 minutes walk from Union station. The staff were lovely, I arrived a bit early and my room wasn't ready for another hour or so but I waited in the lobby and when my room was ready before the check in time the receptionist came over and gave me the keys etc so I could get in early.
The room was huge and had a view over the street at the front of the hotel, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean. There is free wi-fi in the lobby downstairs and the bar opens onto the sofas in the lobby so there always seemed to be people around which made for a nice atmosphere.
There is a small shop selling snacks and souvenirs which is handy and I used the gym which has a variety of equipment and weights, I only saw one other person in there so there's no problem getting onto the machines.
The location is close to Capitol Hill and it was about 20-30 minute walk to the White House and museums, although as a solo female I didn't feel safe walking around on my own at night so would get a cab back after dark.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyloui89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is in a decent location, accommodations including lobby and room were nice but nothing exceptional. Lobby space needs to be updated, it still has a 1994 look to it. Rooms were clean but not spotless. A little more attention to detail needed to be get a five rating.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wes F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,163 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
303 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
581 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,494 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing