We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Comfortable & Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #99 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed May 28, 2014

First of all, it is right by Union Station so it is an easy two block walk. The hotel is quite attractive with good front desk people who are most accommodating.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed. The restaurant is very good.

More importantly, it is near to everything, all within walking distance. Depending on when you go, you can pick up extremely favorable rates. Our foursome did and we paid well below what many others pay for hotels not even as nice or near to the Capitol.

If I return to D.C., I would certainly stay here.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor and facing the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have no problems with this hotel. My only suggestion is that if you don't have a room with a view, ask for an inner room facing what they call a courtyard, as the hotel is one block away from a VERY busy fire station.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

How nice to walk from the train along the capitol park to one's hotel. The staff is alert and gracious from the door to the desk. While we did not dine there, the bar provided good mixed drinks at moderate prices. The room had a comfortable bed and nicely appointed bath. While we had a room with a view of the lobby and not the capitol, the natural light was good. The public areas have a more intimate feel than the larger hotels, and the staff (often offering advice on local transportation and sites) remembers their guests. The hotel is in easy walking distance of several good restaurants, bars, and a coffee shop.

Room Tip: If you wish a room with a view of the capitol, ask for one. Our room was discounted (AmTrak) and so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gouvernail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is centrally located and more suited for business travelers. The rooms are large and comfortable compared with some of the top end names in D.C., and the decoration is decidedly modern. The bathrooms are exceptionally big. There is one restaurant that handles all meals and does not offer the kind of environment for a romantic evening. The general tone of the hotel is upscale, as are the room prices-but not excessive for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterAL10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Comfortable, large room, free Wifi, but no luxes.
Not too far from the Center and the Congress center.
Prices included continental breakfast (correct).
Not far from shopping area.
Prices were correct for the capital, but not cheap.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Germaine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Coming from Union Station, this hotel is within walking distance and near the Capitol and the Monument and the White House. Cab fare to Pennsylvania ave was just around $11 so the proximity to various tourist spot is great. Room was clean and the doorman was very pleasant. We got the double beds because we were a family of 4. The hotel was willing to give extra bed for around $20 for a relative who visited us. Wifi was not free. You have to go to the lobby to get free wifi. How ironic! The paying guests have no free wifi and the random guests at the lobby gets gratis! Not willing to pay $10 more for a 24 hour wifi connection to my room, we just updated our fb downstairs! Lol. Will i recommend it? Yes. Unless you want Hyatt which is just across this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
2  Thank dmagdslene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I stayed at the Washington Court Hotel for three nights for a conference and was exceptionally pleased. It is centrally located, with nice rooms and amenities. The bed was the best part: firm but not too hard, with just-crisp-enough sheets. Everything I saw was clean and the toiletries are nice. The meeting rooms were also excellent and (for those ordering food) the meals were especially tasty.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rcmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
754 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
413 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Pod DC Hotel
Pod DC Hotel
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#123 of 141 in Washington DC
1,407 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $152 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing