We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Surprisingly Child-friendly Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #83 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Surprisingly Child-friendly Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Washington Court Hotel over Memorial Day weekend with my 7 year old grandson. Though primarily a business hotel (some conferences were in progress while we were there) I was pleasantly surprised to discover how child-friendly it was. The doormen were pleasant and spent time talking with him and he just loved the breakfast buffet (kids eat for 1/2 price.) I found all of the staff friendly and courteous; spilled milk was met with a smile and "No problem."
Our room was large, the beds comfortable with plenty of pillows, the showers good and hot.
I'd chosen the hotel based on location; it is about two blocks from Union Station and we'd come by train from NC. It is also conveniently situated close to the Capitol building and National Mall. This was my grandson's first visit to DC and we made the most of it, visiting museums, the Lincoln Memorial and the Zoo. The area felt safe and the Washington Court provided us with a good base for our explorations.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Capitol building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingthruhistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    524
    169
    59
    65
See reviews for
329
316
82
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights. Room was a good size and comfortable. Bar and restaurant were adequate. Room needed a few more amenities... No safe, no mini-fridge, no hotel service directory. Internet access is pretty slow and pricey. Great location... Just a few blocks to US Capitol and Union Station.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank jun_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

I will say it was a average experience at this hotel. Rooms were nice but I was not happy with the helpfulness of the staff. Overall I will say it was a good hotel with a bad management. The beds were comfortable and I think breakfast would have been more better if it was presented nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

recently stayed on an overnight visit to DC. checked-in tired after doing the National Mall tour on foot and dozed. After an hour or so we discovered valuables & cash missing from a bag and made a report to the hotel and hotel security investigated. They said only our keys were used during the time of loss, so the door was open during the burglary. It turned out there are no cctv cams in the room corridors. Granted that we may have mis-closed the door, the hotel's security system is below par, in our opinion. Oh, by the way, we frequently saw shady characters loitering around the hotel's vicinity.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank adel1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We just had a 5 night stay and really enjoyed our stay there. I thought housekeeping, in particular, were very helpful and efficient. Great location for the National Mall and they have the most comfortable beds! We had the best time in Washington DC over the Memorial Weekend and staying at the WCH made it that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misha184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stay here 3 nights! We love it hotel very closed for walk to go see all nice buildings, we got room with nice view,we will back to stay again soon. Any one look for hotel I recommendation this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Stayed here the night before the Rock N Roll marathon this past March. The location was fantastic to the mall and the Capitol especially. Plenty of restaurants were not far. We did not eat in the hotel but there was a restaurant there. Rooms were clean and seemed very up to date! Would definitely come back and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pjpnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,044 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing