We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #86 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Granite City, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Hard to make reservations but once you're checked in you're treated like royalty. Great service, especially Paul at the desk. The food was great. It is near and I mean within walking distance of many sights.

Room Tip: Get a corner room at the end of hall, quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CathyLou1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    534
    176
    63
    66
See reviews for
334
321
85
404
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at the Washington Court for the weekend of March 21-24, while visiting Georgetown Law Center with my sons. The service was great from the moment we arrived with a terrific doorman and valet. Check-in was easy and the room was comfortable.
The hotel is a little pricey, but expected due to it's location. Room service was timely and breakfast was good. (never ate dinner in the hotel). Breakfast buffet is available, but we had ala carte and it was fine.
Lobby bar was small, but service was prompt and there were always a few people around. Drinks are again pricey, but expected.

Very easy walk to National Mall and all surrounding sights and attractions. Extremely great location if you're visiting Georgetown Law School (it's across the street).

Parking is expensive,($43.00 overnight) but there really isn't anywhere to park if you want to stay this close to the Capitol. Parking in close by garages cost about the same.

Overall a very nice stay and I would go back when visiting my son.

Room Tip: Stayed in a double, nothing spectacular, but well appointed and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Level Contributor
248 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We got a good deal on this place and paid about $100.00 per night. At that rate I was quite happy with this hotel. It is centrally located, clean, staffed with very helpful and friendly staff and it has a lovely lobby. If I had paid full price I would have been bothered by the need for refurbishing, so it is relative. The bathroom in particular needs an overhaul, as there is some rust, grime and mildew present. Also the windows are paper thin and provide no sound insulation whatsoever (we heard every word spoken on the street outside from 14 floors up). But to be in the centre of everything at this price, it was great value!

Room Tip: if you don't like noise while you sleep, try an inside room facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamester1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was my 4th or 5th stay at Washington Cour. The property is excellent and the staff is top notch. It is convenient to Union Station and the subway as well as easy walking distance to our meetings around the Capital. There are several good dining locations within easy walking distance, too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great location everything was within walking distance or a short drive. Great Caribbean food from Negril Eatery (I don't think they are jamaicans but using the name very well) and Sweet Mango less than 5miles from the hotel. Very nice hotel with friendly and helpful staff. From the time I entered the hotel lobby I knew my stay would be good. The room was spacious, clean and warm. My sleep was very comfortable on the soft mattress with fluffed pillows. The brass faucets is a nice touch but it needed cleaning and polishing. I loved the lemon or lemongrass scent of the soap and body wash. I was disappointed there wasn't a pool for the kids would have loved that but we all enjoyed the Smithsonian National Zoo.

Room Tip: There is no parking, only valet parking for $20 or $46. No free WiFi, the cost is $10.99 or $19.99...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

Great location and superbly friendly staff makes up for hotel being slightly dated and worn around the edges. However, it's clean and less expensive than others in the area and I really appreciated the service. Great bar food! I sat at the bar and ordered the flatbread pizza. It was delicious and I made it my dinner. The bar is a nice feature with some clubby nooks and crannies where you can tuck in and check emails as well as a nice communal space. The bartenders are great as is front desk, valet and bell staff!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smotley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond va.
Level Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very nice hotel with great service, rooms spacious and nice,less noisy in rooms away from the street. would definitely stay here again. easy access to capitol hill,union station and the mall make this a good location for visiting washington.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the street are much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snillor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,076 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#93 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#60 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing