We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent hotel overall” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #83 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice for large events, although I live in the DC area. The furnishings are very comfortable and the staff provided amazing service despite being slammed by a 100% capacity crowd. The food is better than you would expect for hotel food, and costs about what you would expect at a nice hotel. Some of the bar snacks were really surprisingly good. Yes, the bar prices are high...you have to expect that. I really have two complaints. One is that they charge for Internet access. That's just bush league in 2012. The other thing is the price for parking, which is outrageous. Every hotel in this Capitol Hill neighborhood absolutely gouges for parking because they know they can get away with it, and it sucks. I will deduct a star for it. However, if you are a tourist coming to DC you really don't need a car and they are an easy walk from Union Station. A downtown hotel might be better for some of the tourist attractions, it really depends on what you are coming for. But the hotel itself is superb.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    524
    169
    59
    65
See reviews for
329
316
82
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

thank god! for finsh the stay in this hotel, and be careful sometimes the elevator will not working and also the internet in room wil not working and also they will try to charge you more money for it. and the TV in your room is very bad as well..and the ice maker in your level is not working , but you need to pay they to bring up ice or go looking for other level and see which one is working...beside all those ...I cant think anything or any reason to stay at this hotel again! the bad experince is huge turn off! thats not inculding the rude from the staff working at there! so dont stay at this hotel for your own good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

Room Tip: THE ROOM is ok, but be careful beside the room, nothing is working at this hotel and do not ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviabriaben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I just decided on short notice to spend a couple of days in DC, and found this hotel near the Capitol for a Sunday night at a rate of $89. We didn't know what to expect, but found the hotel to be a very pleasant surprise at this price. We even got a free upgrade (after asking) to a 15th floor Capitol view room that had a spectacular view of the lit Capitol at night. The room was very clean, roomy and nicely appointed. The hotel lobby was also very nice, with nice seating areas and a bar with a pool table. We would not have blinked at paying twice as much for this level of quality in any major city hotel. Even the hotel restaurant, where we had breakfast, while not cheap, was pretty reasonable as large city hotels go. The only quibble worth mentioning is that free wifi is only available in the lobby. Also, the only parking offered by the hotel is very expensive valet parking; however, we were able to find free street parking nearby on a Sunday.

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade to a Capitol view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

We go to DC every couple of months, always staying where we get the best deal. Here we had a groupon for 89.00. Our room was on the 14th floor, and had a fantastic view of the Capitol building. The front desk when we checked in the evening of the 20th was impressive. What a great staff! The doormen and valet were so helpful and friendly. Well done whoever hired all of these gentlemen. We will definitely be back. My only complaints are the crazy valet fees for overnight parking (but that's all hotels in DC) and the fan in the bathroom really needs to be cleaned, it was horribly dusty. Room 1417.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doverite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Dale, Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I only give this hotel a "very good" rating because it was so quiet and so well located.

Some flaws that they could control: WIFI in the room was very pricey....free if you went to the lobby. The coffee in the room was the worse I've ever seen.....a Motel 6 would do better.

On the very plus side--the breakfast was a good deal off of the menu....but I thought they didn't have free coffee in the lobby until I found the coffee bar near the entrance to the cafe.

Staff very friendly--rooms very quiet--very close to Union Station (the Metro) and some eating places.

Room Tip: we were in a deluxe room, not a suite,,,,,but it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

If someone tells you something at this hotel, make sure you get it in writing. Three people said Sunday would be free, and then they charged for it. When we found out we had to pay for parking! "PAY FOR PARKING!" we decided to take the car somewhere else and they told us they had already charged us for it. It seemed like they just charge helter skelter for whatever they wanted to.

Oh, and if you do decide to stay here, be sure to bring your own toilet paper, apparently there is a shortage, and they don't often supply any in the room! For that matter you better bring your own coffee too, must be a shortage of that as well!

Room Tip: Rooms elsewhere are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnofHartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I decided to have a weekend getaway to Washington, D.C. We booked our stay at the Washington Court Hotel after viewing it on Groupon and finding exceptional reviews accommodated with a great offer.

We arrived at the hotel on a Saturday at approximately 12:30pm and expected no more than a bag check since check-in was not for a few hours. However, upon meeting Paul and Charlene (the front desk personnel) who greeted us with warm smiles, they reassured us that there would be no need for that and we would be permitted to check in early to our room. We were very excited. Paul and Charlene also provided us with a discount and VIP accommodations to a very well-known Italian restaurant to have dinner the night of our arrival to add a bit of romance to the evening. It was more than we could have expected.

That was a great beginning to our trip and made it even more memorable. Upon entering our accommodations we were more than pleased. The room was immaculate and overlooked the capital building… a great topping to our weekend getaway. Before our weekend excursion was through, room service delivered a delicious breakfast to our room. It was wonderful!

We enjoyed the beautiful city and had lots of fun! We look forward to another stay at the Washington Court Hotel and hope we encounter again great people like Paul and Charlene. Not only were they friendly, but extremely hospitable. All questions were generously answered and it was apparent they wanted to provide only the very best for us on our trip. They were incredible.
Thank you… and an even bigger thank you to Paul and Charlene.

Best Wishes,
Ashlee & Ewan

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delvalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
National Mall
Phoenix Park Hotel
Phoenix Park Hotel
#30 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#95 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Capitol Hill Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing