We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My review won't do it justice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Bay Area
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My review won't do it justice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Washington Court Hotel was an unexpected highlight of my recent trip to DC. My room was bright, spacious, and had a FABULOUS view of the Capitol Dome. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly. The in-house restaurant’s food and service were good and reasonably priced. The lobby’s multiple seating areas are elegantly furnished yet comfortable and inviting open spaces to socialize, read, or work on your laptop. The hotel is conveniently located only 2 blocks from Union Station, which not only turned out to be DC’s ground-transportation hub, but also a great place to dine and shop. The Washington Court Hotel was an unbelievable value for the money and I would highly recommend this property to family, friends, or anyone I want to impress.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maildfrelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    546
    182
    63
    68
See reviews for
341
326
86
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hello, a repeat stay at this wonderful hotel. Its located a 5 minute walk from Union Station in quite neighborhood., This hotel is within walking distance of the US CAPITAL and the museums. It makes a great business location, quite rooms comfortable beds. The food is good, and the drinks at the bar cold and well poured by bartenders who know how to make you smile.

Fo someone who finds this hotel on the internet and wonders the aqnswer should be yes, and yes the front desk will answer all the questions you may have. and well for thoase with families, its quite, cost effective and close to the mall. US capital end of mall.

So yes I would stay again and gain.

Brent from Richmond.

Room Tip: highest floor the have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VaBaytrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with the family for Thanksgiving. The room was clean and the location was excellent. Only two block from union station. Service was ok. The only other thing was the shower pressure could be better, if you need good shower pressure, this hotel might not work for you.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haasini1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We have just arrived back from a great weekend at the Washington Court Hotel where we stayed for 2 nights on a Groupon deal. I was a little nervous on arrival as i'm never quite sure what to expect on a cheap deal (and it was cheap, $89 per night for a room for 2 adults and 3 kids) but I was extremely pleased regarding all aspects of the hotel. On checking in we were told that we'd been upgraded to a King Room and it was huge! There was a desk/work area, a table and four chairs, a large bed settee and a huge bed! This is one of the few hotels that i've stayed in where, even with the bed settee made up and the roll-away bed up for the kids, there was still plenty of space to move around. The bathroom was spotlessly clean and the bed linen was great. My only complaint would be that the pillows were a little firm, for my taste, but the housekeeping staff changed them as soon as we asked. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, but did eat dinner in the bar area on the night we arrived. The menu was very good and the staff were really helpful and offered to make the kids any kind of pizza that they wanted, as the choices on the menu were a little grown up for my smallest. The food and service was excellent. The hotel is located a 5 minute walk from Union Station and from there we were able to catch the hop-on hop-off trolley bus tour, which was a great way to get around. I really couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Here for a business trip. Checked in at 11:00 PM and gone by 8:00 AM. Room was clean. As someone that runs/works out the location can't be beat as 2 blocks from Capital Hill and workout room nice.

Common area large and comfortable.

Good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
千葉県
Level Contributor
291 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I thought the hotel was small because the price was very reasonable. But actually, the hotel was very big and luxurious atmosphere. Above all, the entrance was very big and beautiful. The room was wide. There was coffee maker in the room, but there is neither security box nor refrigerator.
The hotel is near Union Station and I could walk to museums.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harempercussion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here for one night after buying a groupon. I must admit i didnt expect much but i was delighted with the hotel. The staff were so friendly and the recently-renovated rooms are modern and very comfortable. The public areas are a little dated but they clearly pay a lot of attention to cleanliness, which matters far more to me. The location is amazing, particularly for tourists. If you have a car, i recommend parking around the corner at Union Station, as it costs half as much as parking at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pomds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing