We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Cordial Staff, and Possibly Good Perks for Platinums”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
cleveland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great Location, Cordial Staff, and Possibly Good Perks for Platinums”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

The Fairfax hotel delivers a reasonably luxurious experience in a great location in DC.
Here's what we experienced....
Pros:
- Great location near Dupont Circle and, if you are able-bodied, a good 20-25 minute walk to the middle of the mall or to Georgetown.
- Cordial, friendly, responsive staff (front desk, bell staff , phone operator/guest services)
- Excellent service in the Jockey Club restaurant; yeah it could be considered pricey.
- Very nice breakfast and breakfast service (full breakfast will run you around 50 bucks for 2)
- Older building with traditional interior if you are looking for a change of pace from modern design (we like modern but the traditional worked well considering the location)
- Nice bed linens and pilows
- Great water pressure and lots of hot water
- Nice soap/bathroom ameneties and huge superabsorbent bath towels
- GREAT acknowledgement of Platinum status SPG: we were fortunate to be upgraded to a nice 2 room suite on the 7th floor even though we used points for the entire stay. We received a very ample fruit basket and high end bottled water- delivered to the room
- Flat screen screens
- Relatively quiet part of town (our room was very quiet but we are not sure if those on lower floors get the street noise
- Walking distance to good restaurants and Starbucks (a block away)
- Functional Gym with new cardio equipment and a set of dumbells up to 50 pounds (it appears they had a complete set up to 65 based on the weight rack but the weights over 50 were missing)

Cons
- The bed was OK but it was definitely not a real pillow top. It was somewhat firm. The nice linens and pillows helped make it more comfortable. I slept pretty well even though I prefer pillowtops
- Housekeeping did a good job cleaning the room but we only got turn down service on 2 of the 4 nights we were there. When they did it, it was good (chocolates on pillow, slippers on a white mat next to the bed
- We received morning newspapers 2 out of the 4 nights
- 30 bucks a night for parking although that is actually pretty good for DC and the parking on street was hard to come by (but you can find more expensive valet charges in DC)

Someone paying $500 or more a night for a suite would probably have a problem with this uneveness in the turndown service and newspaper delivery but hopefully they are just breaking in some new housekeeping people.

The bottom line is that we enjoyed our stay and the smaller feel of this hotel and we would probably consider staying there again

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snowshoedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    627
    196
    77
    40
See reviews for
446
518
122
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2009

I usually stay at the Four Seasons when I travel to Washington, so I felt some trepidation when my husband booked our family at the Fairfax Hotel. The Fairfax was having a special price on its nicely renovated rooms: pay full price the first night and pay your birthday the second night. We ended up with a comfortable, quiet suite for which we only paid $46 the second night; a great bargain! The service overall was attentive, friendly and solicitous without being overbearing, and the food at the much-revered Jockey Club was excellent. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend stay for its nicely appointed rooms, superb service and excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petrina6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2009

We were actually surprised at how nice the hotel was - our room was really clean, comfortable bed (no bedbugs!), great service. The hotel is located 5 minutes from Dupont Circle so it was super convenient to get around the city and to grab a bite to eat (also there is a Pain Quotidien situated right a round the corner from the hotel which great for breakfast). All and all, it was a worthwhile stay and we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NycNyc2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

Well, I had high hopes for the Fairfax. I will say, it is in a nice area, the rooms are pretty and they have killer lemonade in the lobby. But that's about it.

My room (room 525) had an air conditioner duct in the closet. So every time the air conditoner would shut off, the duct would begin banging loudly. This happened all night, every time the air conditoner shut down. Needless to say, I got very little sleep. It sounded like someone banging on the door. So when I would finally get to sleep, the duct would bang and startle me awake again. The next morning at 9, I asked the front desk to move my family. I continously checked the status and FINALLY at 10 pm I got my new room that was much quieter. But did it really need to take 11 hours for them to find a new room? Also as an FYI, when I complained about the noise in the morning, I asked if they had heard of this issue before, they informed me "not from this room". So although I can tell you to stay away from room 525, it sounds like you may have this noise issue with other rooms too.

The other family we travelled with, also had a problem. At around 5 pm, they went back to their room to find it hadn't been cleaned. They notified the front desk and was told "housekeeping will get right to it." When they returned to their room at 10 pm, it still hadn't been cleaned- no towels, etc.

The rooms look nice, but just don't function well. As others mentioned, the coffee maker is on the bar area, but no place to plug it in unless you unplug the TV or move the coffee maker to the bathroom. Just not what you need in the morning when all you want is a cup of coffee!

So although it might look like a 5 star hotel, it surely doesn't run like a 5 star hotel. Find somewhere else to spend your money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassMoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

Just stayed in the Fairfax. I had forgotten it was a former Westin, and a cab driver told me it was once a Ritz-Carlton. The location of the hotel is excellent. About a block off DuPont Circle and close to a Metro stop. The hotel lobby is small and not a lot of room to check-in when it is crowded. There are a lot of staff members working in the lobby- a bit too many. They are very helpful. However, when the valet thought I wasn't going to tip him he was a bit busk and when I asked if he was the valet that brought my car I got a "yeah." I think the hotel needs to continue training the staff, but they are very helpful and willing. I got an outstanding deal on SPG.com, so the room was on the small end. It was well appointed. The bed was comfortable and there was a nice flat screen. My coffee maker was in the room, but the desk lamp had an outlet so I did not have to move it. When I went to make coffee there was an old coffee filter in the basket. I did alert the front desk and the manager made a note of it. Again, the staff needs more training. As nice was the room was I too would not say this is at Luxury Collection level, but it is very nice. I have stayed in almost every Starwood hotel in DC, including the St. Regis, and this is certainly a nice hotel. I suspect the quality of the Jockey Club restaurant helps it with the rating; I did not try the restaurants. I did use the health club, which is fairly small. There were several cardio machines, but basically only a limited universal for weights. The cold bottled water, apples and cold wash clothes were a nice touch. If you want a nice casual meal- try Pizza Pomadoro. It is moving soon so check the address.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlyRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

I just stayed here for two nights for my son's college orientation. Although I loved the location, and yes the hotel was comfortable, I would not say it deserves the Luxury rating. My room was nicely appointed with two queen beds, flat screen tv, etc. A coffee maker was in the room by the tv but I had to move it into the bathroom to be able to plug it in and use it. The two worst things were the view of the garbage area and my toilet was not clean when I first entered the room. Having 3 boys I just sucked it up and cleaned the spots myself but was not happy. I didn't try the restaurant or bar and maybe those are what bump up the rating, who knows.I enjoyed the Westin on M street much more.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckeyeGirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2009

The last time we were in DC we stayed at the Westin on Embassy Row - it was a little tired but still charming enough that we decided to stay there again during our 30 day road trip. When we heard it was changed to the Fairfax we were concerned it wouldn't be as nice as before but decided to take a chance anyway.
The hotel was completely renovated & is beyond beautiful - it's fabulous. the rooms are smaller then they were before - they have added more rooms - but the rooms have everything in them that anyone could want - including a tv & phones in the bathroom!
Also, a feature I always like - the sink & dressing table are in a separate room from the toilet & shower.
The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful.
If I had to complain about anything it would be the cost of breakfast - too expensive.
Other then that, this is hotel I would strongly recommend when coming to DC - short walk to Dupont Circle & transportation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J4BFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,241 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#89 of 141 in Washington DC
1,245 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,058 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#103 of 141 in Washington DC
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing