We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with extremely convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #81 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

The Fairfax is only 2.5 blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro station, making getting to and from the hotel very easy. Situated on the western side of Dupont Circle, it is in the middle of the embassies on Massachusetts Ave. The staff were invariably extremely friendly and helpful, and frequently went well beyond the necessities. Check-in was very efficient and would have been very fast had we not taken advantage of the friendliness of the staffer to learn more about the hotel and the neighborhood and upcoming events in the area. The hotel is a converted apartment house, reputedly where Al Gore grew up, but the conversion has transformed it to a beautiful hotel with beautiful wood and antiques furnishings in the common areas. The rooms are about standard size, but comfortable and well-lighted. Internet access is fast and reliable. The bar is well stocked, although one bartender was less friendly than we would have preferred. The others were wonderful. The breakfast buffet is about the same as in other hotels, and there are multiple local options very nearby. Prices are reasonably good for the always expensive Washington DC.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buddymedbery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

What a wonderful review; thank you so much! We love hearing when our guests appreciate the historic significance of our hotel and enjoy the work that was put into making The Fairfax at Embassy Row a luxury experience. Thank you for your kind acknowledgement of our staff and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,921)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014

I loved the way this hotel looked inside! It was very well decorated, and I felt like I was paying a lot more than I was. The rooms were small but nice. We had no problems with it, just the two of us. The showers were really great too! It is located in a pretty good area, and you are able to walk to a lot of food. We took a cab, because they were not too expensive, to most places. A lot of nicer, more hip places, are a short $5 cab ride a few blocks away. We drove our own car to all the Memorials; parking was expensive, but it usually is!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We appreciate the time you took to share your comments regarding your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We’re so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and were able to take some time to explore the surrounding area. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

ı was there last weekend with my girl friend for a weekend get away ... usually ı dont leave comments about the hotels that i stay but this one was so unusual in a positive way so i decided to tell my comments ... front desk staff was so friendly , room service was excellent ... hope to stay again in my next visit to Washington DC ... lastly i want to thank to all the hotel staff for their hospitality ...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dirk Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

How nice that your recent stay with us provided you and your girlfriend with a relaxing experience during your Washington, DC weekend getaway. It was a delight to welcome you both to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we appreciate that you took the time to share your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming your return and appreciate your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We spent a very pleasant weekend at the Fairfax. The location is superb -- convenient to Dupont Circle and a wide variety of shops and restaurants. The zoo is a very short, beautiful drive up Rock Creek Parkway. The building is historic, but our suite was spotless and the water pressure in the shower was terrific. Every member of staff we encountered was friendly and competent. We called to request extra pillows and received them within 5 minutes. The nearby embassy buildings create an interesting and relatively quiet neighborhood. We were not disturbed by any noise from outside or neighboring rooms. The Fairfax is the perfect home base to explore Washington DC. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 302annal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

We try very hard at The Fairfax at Embassy Row to ensure each and every one of our guests is treated with the utmost respect and consideration, and we’re pleased to read that your stay was no exception. It was our pleasure to have been able to make your weekend stay enjoyable and we thank you for mentioning our convenient location. Please come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I attending a wedding in Washington DC and stayed at The Fairfax Embassy Row. The property was amazing and we especially appreciated the great staff such as Ertug Ersoy, Front Office Manager who helped us extend our stay from two days to a week so we could enjoy the sights. The food at the hotel was top flight for the wedding reception, in the bar and grill, and the dining room. Be sure and have Guillaum wait on you in the grill, he is amazing! Room service was top notch. Being that the hotel is only two blocks from DuPont Circle meant, banks, drugstore, coffee and pastry shop and even a farmers market were close at hand. Only suggestion -- the carpet in our room needed a little cleaning, but our view from the seventh floor over the little park with a memorial to Gandi was superb!

Room Tip: 7th floor front overlooking Massachusetts Ave
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Fairfax at Embassy Row for your visit to Washington, DC; we hope you thoroughly enjoyed the wedding you attended. We’re thrilled that our location added convenience to your stay and we certainly appreciate your kind acknowledgement of our staff and their efforts. We would consider it a privilege to welcome you back for a future stay and we thank you for your gracious comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here one day on my husbands business trip. Very friendly and helpful front desk and staff. Hotel is very clean and all the amenities were very good ! One of the Best beds we slept on in any hotels !!! The bath towels were exceptionally soft and good. The location is excellent, very close DuPont Circle Metro,you can hop on a train to Historical sights like white house, Capital, and other places. I took the metro while my husband was busy with his meetings, arrived at the Union station which took about 15 minutes to reach from DuPont Circle. I walked to the Capital Building and from there went to the Botanical Gardens. Spent couple of hours there looking at lot of exotic plants, enjoyed my day ! walked back and window shopped at Union Station shops. Took a train back to DuPont Circle. There are all kinds of restaurants walking distance from this hotel. the day we arrived my husband had to go for business meeting dinner and I found a Mediterranean vegetarian restaurant called vFalafel. It was very good !! Definitely will stay here if get chance/.

Room Tip: I do not know if they had a swimming pool ! Best location, if you want to venture out by your self...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bolkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

How lucky you were to have been able to join your husband for his business trip to Washington, DC! It sounds like you had a wonderful time exploring the area and we’re so pleased you took the time to share your adventure. Thank you for spending some to time put into words how much you enjoyed your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we hope you will have the opportunity to join us again for another exceptional stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed at this beautiful hotel for several nights. The Fairfax is in a superb location amongst the embassies. It is only a block away from many restaurants including a number that are outstanding (Pizzeria Paradiso, Al Tiramisu, Pesce). It is also only a few blocks from the Metro. Our suite was wonderful, the staff very friendly, and the breakfast buffet outstanding. After a day of sightseeing, we looked forward to the freshly baked cookies in the lobby in the late afternoon. Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AZtraveler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Your review has certainly made us smile! We are thrilled that The Fairfax at Embassy Row was part of an enjoyable experience for you, as we strive to accommodate our guests at every turn. Your kind comments for our staff and property are sincerely appreciated and we can’t wait to welcome you back as soon as possible. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
1,478 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,427 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Gregory Hotel
The St. Gregory Hotel
#101 of 141 in Washington DC
201 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $139 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing