We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Ranked #53 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Elegant and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel staff is amazing. The bell men are excellent and make you feel welcomed. The entrance is grand and old fashioned. Our room was large and had a beautiful view of the embassy row. It is an old hotel, so rooms vary in size. House keeping is excellent. Great location in DC for Georgetown and feeling more at home then a tourist. Room service was excellent and so was drycleaning. The breakfast was good and the restaurant was elegant and old fashioned. Felt right at home and can not wait to return!

Room Tip: Old hotel with diverse room sizes. We loved room 843; spacious and beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We love hearing when one of our guests appreciates the historic ambiance of our hotel and knowing that you felt right at home while here makes us happy. The dedicated staff of The Fairfax at Embassy Row work very hard to create memorable experiences for each of our guests and we appreciate your acknowledgement of their efforts. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back and we thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    532
    161
    59
    33
See reviews for
392
417
98
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mattapoisett, ma
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This hotel is in an amazing location. A nice walk to the National mall and monuments. A beautiful stroll down Mass. Ave to see all the embassies and across the street from Dupont circle where there are delicious restaurants. Luckily it is tucked away from the noise of Dupont circle so we slept peacefully. The only negative is the spotty wifi which we were not charged for because we are SPG gold members but it would constantly go in and out of service which meant downloading movies and documents very difficult.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debbythec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Being able to get a restful night’s sleep while on a trip is so important and we’re pleased to hear that you were able to relax and enjoy yourself while at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We do regret that you experienced issues with Internet connectivity and will have our IT Technicians look into what may have been the problem. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We had 4 rooms for multiple nights when the family converged for a college graduation and a bit of sightseeing. The hotel exudes style and comfort. The rooms were all very different but equally comfortable. We requested quiet rooms and one of the first rooms was a great room except it was next door (separated only be a thin wall) to a meeting room. They quickly accommodated our request to move. Sadly we ended up with a view of the AC's. The other rooms were all good though. Our bill took some effort to work out and since we owed them money you would think they would have reacted faster! It is in a wonderful area with restaurants and shopping nearby and many opportunities to exercise outdoors. WE had evening drinks in the very busy bar which was fine, not great but fine. Overall it was a good experience, nothing exceptional, nothing terrible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphey1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are delighted to learn that you and your family enjoyed yourselves while staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and exploring Washington, DC. It’s good to hear that our staff worked with your group to find the rooms that best suited your needs. The pleasure would be ours to have you return in the future for another great stay and we appreciate your kind feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel was really clean, the staff was very friendly, the beds were incredibly comfy, and the room was spacious and had character. I wish we were staying more than one night! We chose the room rate that included breakfast and it was a good deal. I love this hotel and will definitely be back!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Heather G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your incredible review and for mentioning how much you enjoyed your accommodations at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We strive to provide each guest with the most comfortable of stays and we love hearing that you have been inspired to return because of this most recent experience. We’re looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, Maine
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This place is all you'd want in a good hotel--clean, well-appointed, quiet and right next to some great things to do in DC. Works for vacation and works for meetings, It's only a block from the metro and only a block from the Phillips Collection. But the best thing is the staff, who were really friendly, helpful and fun to be around. This is a great place to stay in DC.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for such an excellent review! We’re so glad to hear that the location, accommodations and dedicated staff of The Fairfax at Embassy Row created the most memorable of stays for you. It was a pleasure to welcome you as a guest and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I had a long weekend at the hotel with my family and I can state that this stay was really remarkable in terms of the facilities and also the service we received. I have to underline the super friendly and outstanding service we received from the Front Desk team. My adress is clear for my next stays around that area. Thank you...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWandererFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 24, 2014
How wonderful to hear that you will return to The Fairfax at Embassy Row for future stays! We’re so pleased that our dedicated staff made such a positive impression on you and that you fully enjoyed the grace and charm of the accommodations at our hotel. We look forward to greeting you again in the future and are so happy you took the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburbs
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Room well-furnished, bed very comfortable. Bathroom modern and clean; shower's water pressure is superb. Hotel has classic "old school" decor: dark paneling, framed prints and photos of DC buildings. Hotel quiet and classy. Action is 2 blocks away at Dupont Circle.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WalkingLadyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Having a quiet and comfortable place to relax while you’re exploring the Washington, DC area is so important and we’re thrilled that The Fairfax at Embassy Row provided you with just that. Please don’t hesitate to come and stay with us again as soon as you are in the area. Thank you for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,504 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#82 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,117 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing