We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Daejeon, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Solid Stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I recently completed a two night stay at The Fairfax on a great AAA Hot Deal rate that included deluxe (buffet) breakfast.

As a Starwood Preferred Guest platinum member, I was also upgraded to a top floor deluxe suite located at the end of a hallway. The hotel was renovated in 2008 and the furnishing certainly reflect that: clean and well-maintained. Also, the hotel provides Remede products in the bathroom, my personal favorite. The very comfortable bedding, combined with the quiet room location provided two great nights of sleep. However, the room location did create some minor inconveniences: (1) the water temperature in the shower occasionally needed 3-4 minutes to warm up and (2) the wireless connection in the room was spotty/dropped out in some corners of the suite.

Breakfast served in the Capitol Room offered a standard, if not inspired, selection of food (hot dishes, cereals, fruits/yogurts, and pastries). The servers made it a point to remember guests' seating preferences and drink choices at breakfast, a nice touch!

Perhaps the best feature of the Fairfax is its easily accessible to most of what Washington DC has to offer. Being in Dupont Circle, the hotel is two blocks away from a Metro station and a brisk 20 minute/1 mile walk to the National Mall and Georgetown. Moreover, Dupont Circle is a vibrant neighborhood with a variety of dining, drinking, and shopping options.

Overall, the Fairfax is a solid option when visiting Washington D.C. and would be my first choice whenever I return.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in -12 and -14 are most likely the quietest rooms on the property, located at the end o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 14, 2014
It’s so nice to hear that The Fairfax at Embassy Row will be your first choice of accommodations whenever you are in the Washington, DC area. We are delighted that your stay included so many of the aspects that make our hotel a great place to stay; from a delectable meal in the Capitol Room to easy access to all that our Nation’s Capital has to offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It would makes us very happy to have you return and we hope that it’s soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    626
    196
    77
    40
See reviews for
445
518
122
520
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This is a great hotel. We visited just after New Years with our kids 7 & 3 and everyone at the hotel was so nice to them! From a warm welcome to bringing milk and cookies in the afternoon as a courtesy, the staff exceeded our expectations. This is a great hotel for families, especially with the suite options. It is also a great hotel for business travel as it is classy, refined, thoughtful and in a great location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJT324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 14, 2014
At The Fairfax at Embassy Row we always look forward to welcoming our younger guests with services and amenities that cater to little ones’ needs and interests. We’re pleased to hear that you family enjoyed their stay and we appreciate your kind recommendation. We hope you and your lovely family will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, N.J. U.S.A.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Oh the weather outside was frightful, but inside the hotel was so delightful. And since we had no place to go (after dinner), we said: Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!! Our room was spacious and comfy, and the amenities were to our liking. From valet to concierge our welcome was most inviting. The location was perfect for our needs and and ideal for a holiday setting. We will stay here again, when this lovely hotel offers promotions.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room off of the street and you will enjoy a silent night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for making us smile! With unusually high temperatures this December, we wish it was more of a winter wonderland around DC this Christmas; however, we’re pleased that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row made you feel right at home for Christmas. Our staff work very hard to create the most enjoyable experience for each of our guests and we’re happy that they helped to make it the most wonderful time of the year for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during an autumn trip to the east coast. The hotel is located very conveniently in Dupont Circle, within walking distance to many sites and very close to a subway stop. It's an old-school hotel with a lot of class and charm. It's not as polished and ritzy as some of the fancier hotels in town but it is a good value for the price.

Our room was small but quite nice. The bed was very comfortable and we had everything we needed. Our one complaint concerned the water temperature in the shower: It took about five minutes of running until the water was warm enough. We called the front desk to ask to have it fixed and she called maintenance, but the problem persisted throughout our stay.

Other than that, our experience was great. We'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your review about your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We’re thrilled that our convenient location worked out so well for you during your stay. We do regret that you experienced any inconvenience at all however, and we will look into why there were issues with hot water in your room. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had booked the Fairmont for 2 nights to be near points of interests for sightseing and near Georgetown for a University visit. The Fairmont is a very classic hotel in style, the room had a good size that we had no problema to fit with our family of 4 and our 9 pieces of luggage coming already from a long trip. We had a Deluxe room with 2 Queen beds, very comfortable. The bathroom was splitted in 2 rooms what was practical. We paid 394 $ the 4 of us for 2 nights, but no breakfast included, what was 26 $ per person, also the Valet parking over night was 40$, kind of expensive what added up considerably to the total of the 2 nights.
The breakfast was of very good quality, we appreciated very much the fresh cut fruit selection of pinapple, melón and a mix of berries, in addition was a healthy choice of different nuts,cranberries, raisins and oats. I also loved the fresh croissants.
At the check in we were already offered a late check out what was very nice since our flight home was not til the evening.
Since we had 2 university visits planned, the hotel was in walking distance of George Washington University and a good 15 minutes walk to Georgtown what is a very cute neighborhood with nice shops and restaurants.
We coud also walk to a metro station to take the metro the the National Mall for sight seing.

Room Tip: our room was overlooking the main road, can get kind of noisy with Street cleaning in the night. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneVIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 14, 2014
How wonderful that the central location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row made it easy for you and your family to visit the institutions you needed to see and also enjoy a bit of fun exploring while here. It was our pleasure to provide you a comfortable stay that worked with your travel schedule. Your stay at our hotel sounds like it captured much of what we expect to provide for all our guests and we thank you for sharing your story. Please visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located between the various attractions (Georgetown, White House, monuments), allowing visitors to walk everywhere. The rooms are very nice with comfortable beds. The hotel staff goes out of their way to accommodate guests. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisanne10n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We’re flattered to hear your compliments for both our staff and accommodations and very happy that your stay was enjoyable. We hope you will be visiting The Fairfax at Embassy Row again soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family and I stay at the Fiarfax every year over the Christmas Holidays when we are in town to visit my family. The Fairfax is a beautifully restored and mainatined classic hotel very conveniently located right by the Dupont Circle Metro station and walking distance to the KStreet Corridor. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Just beware that overnight valet parking is a steep $40 a night. there are plenty of casual restaurants, a Starbucks, a deli, and a liquor store all around the corner on P Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It is a pleasure welcoming you and your family to our hotel every year and we’re happy to read that you are completely impressed each and every time. Our convenient location certainly makes it easy to enjoy Washington, DC even more and we thank you for mentioning it in your review. We’re looking forward to seeing you again soon and we thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,240 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
1,245 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,057 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing