We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in the Dupont Circle/Embassy Row DC Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #61 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in the Dupont Circle/Embassy Row DC Area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Overall - The perfect place for me to stay in DC.

Location: The Fairfax is situated in a great location. One block from the Dupont Circle and blocks from numerous great restaurants, nail salons, spas, YMCA, metro station, and a CVS. Everything I need in 5 minutes or less :-) Also a great run route up to the Naval Observatory.

Rooms: Every room is unique. Decor is classic with pictures of DC landmarks. My rooms have always been very clean and room service staff are friendly and willing to assist.

Service: The service is impeccable. Everyone is really nice and offer to assist you. If you have any issue ask for Katie, she will take care of you. If you need any local recommendations, ask for Peter. He will make the best recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ILoves2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, December 10, 2013
We are delighted that your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was one that exceeded your expectations and that you found our location to be so convenient. Your compliments for our hotel and staff are sincerely appreciated by our team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    601
    185
    70
    36
See reviews for
426
487
119
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catonsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Elegant decor, friendly professional staff, a block from the wonderful Phillips Collection (Renoir's Luncheon of the Boating Party), walking distance to many good restaurants. Great walking neighborhood. Very reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Stop by the bar area for a drink; fireplaces, cozy nooks, comfy chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Any time of year, a stroll around the Dupont Circle area is something everyone should experience. Thank you for sharing your enjoyment of both The Fairfax at Embassy Row and its surrounding neighborhood. It would be our pleasure to have you as a guest again and we absolutely appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Fairfax is a beautiful hotel located in the heart of the Embassy District. The service we received was by far the best we have ever experienced. We especially enjoyed our interaction with Ms. Rosser at the front desk, she made our short visit extra special.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KitPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, December 5, 2013
How wonderful that your visit to Washington, DC was made complete by the service interactions you had with our staff! We certainly appreciate your kind comments and will be sure to share them with everyone. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row for another great stay and thank you for your lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed sat the Fairfax for 3 nights on business and was very happy there. From the moment you arrived the check in was swift and easy and the staff were helpful.
The buffet breakfasts and lunches provided at the meetings were tasty and there was more than enough selection and quantity for everybody.
The hotel location is ideal 30 minute walk to the Lincoln Monument and White House and a 20 minute walk to Georgetown and the main shopping street there. Also 5 minutes walk to the subway at DuPont and all the places from there.
The rooms were great, spacious and comfy. The bed was large and comfortable. Facilities were great. Although I never used the gym, if returning I would bring my training stuff and use this facility.
Only drawback was the internet use policy and costs, which is not included and is charged per device, not good if you are using more than one device and a phone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DuncanKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It certainly sounds as if your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row fully met your expectations and we’re very pleased that our convenient location and attentive staff made your experience memorable. We look forward to your next visit with us and highly recommend a rejuvenating workout in our fitness center. For future reference, complimentary WiFi is available in all public areas of the hotel. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were able to get a great AAA rate on this hotel so even though I often choose hotels based on whether they provide wifi, since we had such a great rate, we were fine to pay the extra 12.95 for daily wifi. Little did we know this is PER DEVICE. So, if you are traveling with someone else, and each have a phone (where you are trying to avoid international roaming charges) and each a laptop/iPad…this is an extra $53 per night. This is absolutely ridiculous in my opinion. I should note, you can use free wifi in the lobby, however there are about 3-4 chairs in the lobby and it's not a comfortable place to work.

Other than the wifi the hotel was great - all the staff were incredibly friendly, great buffet breakfast included in our rate, really nice cozy lounge for drinks/dinner, great location.

Room Tip: We looked out on another building so got very little sunlight/view. Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenSinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind compliments for both our staff and our dining options; we will be sure to pass them along! We do understand that fees for certain services can be an inconvenience however, we feel that it is better to not pass the cost of a service on to every guest and charge only those that use them. WiFi access is complimentary in every public area of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row in the near future and your review is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location, hard to beat this. Only a city block from DuPont Circle along Mass Ave, from subway station Qstreet entrance, many decent restaurants nearby, and just a hop from National Airport. Quiet, clean, and comfortable room, well maintained hotel with friendly service.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It’s great to hear that the convenient location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row worked out so well for you during your visit to Washington, DC. With our central Dupont Circle location, our guests are able to enjoy a myriad of local attractions along with easy access to our Nation’s Capital. Thank you for your kind comments and for posting your review. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Generally a nice hotel for a reasonable rate. That said, we called ahead to confirm check-in time & then, when we arrived, the room wasn't ready. No free upgrade. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe room and were underwhelmed with its size and comfort. On top of that, overnight parking was $40/night -- which we didn't know until we arrived (lame!). We ordered breakfast to the room one morning and it was superb. The doormen were the best part of their service. We likely will not stay there again.

Room Tip: The grand deluxe rooms aren't exactly "grand"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, December 5, 2013
It is certainly disappointing to hear that your recent experience did not live up to your expectations. With a variety of room sizes available throughout our hotel, it would have been our pleasure to assist you in finding the perfect room to suit your needs. We do hope you will come and stay with us again where we can work to re-gain your trust in our hotel. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,987 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#102 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing