We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Nearby Hotels
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$328
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$404
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$375
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$463
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$370
$351
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,978)
Filter reviews
1,978 results
Traveler rating
923
685
227
93
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
923
685
227
93
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circlejockey clubanderson housephillips collectionluxury hotelfront desk staffbeautiful hotelmetro stationlocation is greatper daybusiness centertwo blocksdc areawhite housevalet parkingnational malliprefer
Filter
Updating list...
1,202 - 1,207 of 1,978 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013

The Fairfax is a beautiful hotel located in the heart of the Embassy District. The service we received was by far the best we have ever experienced. We especially enjoyed our interaction with Ms. Rosser at the front desk, she made our short visit extra special.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KitPaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

How wonderful that your visit to Washington, DC was made complete by the service interactions you had with our staff! We certainly appreciate your kind comments and will be sure to share them with everyone. We’re looking forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row for another great stay and thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

I stayed sat the Fairfax for 3 nights on business and was very happy there. From the moment you arrived the check in was swift and easy and the staff were helpful.
The buffet breakfasts and lunches provided at the meetings were tasty and there was more than enough selection and quantity for everybody.
The hotel location is ideal 30 minute walk to the Lincoln Monument and White House and a 20 minute walk to Georgetown and the main shopping street there. Also 5 minutes walk to the subway at DuPont and all the places from there.
The rooms were great, spacious and comfy. The bed was large and comfortable. Facilities were great. Although I never used the gym, if returning I would bring my training stuff and use this facility.
Only drawback was the internet use policy and costs, which is not included and is charged per device, not good if you are using more than one device and a phone.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank DuncanKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

It certainly sounds as if your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row fully met your expectations and we’re very pleased that our convenient location and attentive staff made your experience memorable. We look forward to your next visit with us and highly recommend a rejuvenating workout in our fitness center. For future reference, complimentary WiFi is available in all public areas of the hotel. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were able to get a great AAA rate on this hotel so even though I often choose hotels based on whether they provide wifi, since we had such a great rate, we were fine to pay the extra 12.95 for daily wifi. Little did we know this is PER DEVICE. So, if you are traveling with someone else, and each have a phone (where you are trying to avoid international roaming charges) and each a laptop/iPad…this is an extra $53 per night. This is absolutely ridiculous in my opinion. I should note, you can use free wifi in the lobby, however there are about 3-4 chairs in the lobby and it's not a comfortable place to work.

Other than the wifi the hotel was great - all the staff were incredibly friendly, great buffet breakfast included in our rate, really nice cozy lounge for drinks/dinner, great location.

Room Tip: We looked out on another building so got very little sunlight/view. Ask for a room with a view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenSinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for your kind compliments for both our staff and our dining options; we will be sure to pass them along! We do understand that fees for certain services can be an inconvenience however, we feel that it is better to not pass the cost of a service on to every guest and charge only those that use them. WiFi access is complimentary in every public area of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row in the near future and your review is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great location, hard to beat this. Only a city block from DuPont Circle along Mass Ave, from subway station Qstreet entrance, many decent restaurants nearby, and just a hop from National Airport. Quiet, clean, and comfortable room, well maintained hotel with friendly service.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank terry h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

It’s great to hear that the convenient location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row worked out so well for you during your visit to Washington, DC. With our central Dupont Circle location, our guests are able to enjoy a myriad of local attractions along with easy access to our Nation’s Capital. Thank you for your kind comments and for posting your review. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Generally a nice hotel for a reasonable rate. That said, we called ahead to confirm check-in time & then, when we arrived, the room wasn't ready. No free upgrade. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe room and were underwhelmed with its size and comfort. On top of that, overnight parking was $40/night -- which we didn't know until we arrived (lame!). We ordered breakfast to the room one morning and it was superb. The doormen were the best part of their service. We likely will not stay there again.

Room Tip: The grand deluxe rooms aren't exactly "grand"
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

It is certainly disappointing to hear that your recent experience did not live up to your expectations. With a variety of room sizes available throughout our hotel, it would have been our pleasure to assist you in finding the perfect room to suit your needs. We do hope you will come and stay with us again where we can work to re-gain your trust in our hotel. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews