We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Nice Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Ranked #55 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is in a perfect location for walking. Beautiful neighborhoods,easily accessable to public transportation, and the DC attractions. Staff are the best. Rooms are small but clean. If you are a light sleeper beware, a very noisy air conditioner. Sounded like a plane taking off each time it came on. Not sure if all rooms are like that but ours was. I would stay here again but bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1carol2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row during your recent visit to our Nation’s Capital. We appreciate the kind compliments you’ve shared but do regret that your experience was not completely satisfying. We will have our Maintenance Engineers look into the A/C unit in your room and we thank you for letting us know about your concern. We can’t wait to welcome you back again and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    540
    167
    59
    34
See reviews for
400
424
100
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Looking at DC schools this summer and this was a great location right by Dupont Circle. Quiet oasis after sightseeing days. Really helpful staff, clean and beautiful room. Would absolutely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CDS2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We are so glad that The Fairfax at Embassy Row was part of an enjoyable experience in Washington, DC. We strive to accommodate our guests at every turn and your kind acknowledgement of our staff will them know what an impact they made. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel and we can’t wait to have you back again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Classic, nice hotel. Restaurant/lounge offerings are a bit lacking. Breakfast buffet is not exciting. If a nearby embassy is having a party, you might feel like there is a party in your room. Polite and friendly staff

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DoctaraCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 28, 2013
While we’re very happy to hear that our staff fully impressed you during your stay, we are disappointed to learn that the remainder of your stay was not as enjoyable. We do regret any inconvenience you encountered and hope that during any future stays you will not hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even better. Thank you for your review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The location can not be beat. The service was outstanding. The room was comfortable and just as we expected. This hotel was a real treat. Breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and the bar area was inviting and comfortable. I would definitely stay in this hotel again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Estie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 28, 2013
What an excellent review! We’re so glad you took the time to mention our centric location and the warm, inviting atmosphere of The Fairfax Grille & Lounge. It was our pleasure to welcome you as a guest at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we hope to welcome you back time and time again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

First off my wife and I went to Washington D.C. To see our son at Georgetown university and booked a room at the Baron Hotel near Dumont Circle. The Baron Hotel was nothing more than a flop house with no parking ,are you kidding no parking and it got worse from there.But I am here to sing the praises of the Fairfax Hotel around the corner from the Baron , I called the Fairfax from the dump room at the Baron and a gentleman named Ertag the front desk manager, when I told him my plight he took such GREAT care of us and could not be more helpful .The Fairfax Hotel Is our new home when in D.C. And I'm talking a beautiful hotel I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THE FAIRFAX HOTEL call Ertag and tell him I recommended you !!.
hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It is certainly wonderful to hear that our staff took such great care of you and that based on your experience, you have made The Fairfax at Embassy Row your home-away-from-home while in DC. Your comments are sincerely appreciated as we are always delighted to learn when our staff and accommodations inspire a return visit. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I've stayed here probably twenty nights in 2013 and they never acknowledge my return at the desk. I am also a Starwood Preferred member and there is absolutely no advantage here- still have to pay for wireless access and a $2 cup of coffee in the lobby. Beautiful hotel but they nickel and dime you to death here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flicklives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us with your concerns. We would like to clarify that only Starwood Platinum Preferred Members receive complimentary in-room Internet access, and we appreciate your loyalty to our brand. We do apologize that the service levels you have received during your stays have not matched our commitment to stellar customer service and we will be sure to share your review with our staff in order to pre-empt any further occurrences. We would hope to be able to welcome you back and provide you with the exceptional stay that you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitwe, Central, Zambia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Lovely and serene with the intimacy of a small hotel once you step out of the busy street, five minutes walk from DuPont Circle - lots of restaurant choices within walking distance. Staff is friendly and eager to lend a hand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, October 22, 2013
It’s always nice to hear that our staff helped to create an enjoyable experience for our guests and we appreciate you mentioning how helpful our convenient location was during your stay. Thank you for your kind review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row! We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,563 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
The Normandy Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing