We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grande Dame needs a nip and tuck”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Just back from a couple of days at the Fairfax; it was a lovely hotel, but not without it's flaws. On the plus side, I was very impressed with all staff that i encountered--they were friendly, professional, and helpful. I had an amazing suite--not much of a view, but that's common in DC. Very nice amenities in the bathroom, too. Fantastic Embassy Row/Dupont Circle location.

On the minus side, the decor was a bit to grandmotherly for my taste. More seriously, one has to walk up a short flight of stairs from reception to the elevators. The bathroom was aging...and not all that gracefully.

All in all, I'd definitely stay here again, but it was not up to the standard of Luxury Collection hotels like the Ivy in Minneapolis or the Palace in SF. Certainly nicer than your typical DC area Westin, however.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank rastaman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We certainly understand that classic and traditional decor may not be for everyone and we thank you for sharing your perspective regarding your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. It makes us very happy to hear that our dedicated staff fully impressed you. Please note that a handicap accessible lift is available for any of our guests that cannot use the stairs in our lobby. We hope this bit of information will help with any future stays and we look forward to having you as our guest very soon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,174 - 1,180 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

Decent, smallish hotel in excellent location, though not does not meet international standards of “luxury”. My room was 828.
Pros;
1) Outstanding location near Dupont Circle and metro
2) Staff who appear genuinely friendly and helpful
3) Rooms that are clean and well maintained albeit a little small (mine was about 10x15 excluding bathroom and hall)
4) Comfortable beds with nice linens
5) Good selection of soaps and of toiletries for hair and body that are replenished daily.

Cons:
1) Lobby is essentially a hallway; only two small chairs immediately in front of one bank of elevators- not good place for meeting/socializing
2) Breakfast buffet extremely expensive
3) Shower but no bath in some rooms including mine
4) Hot water temperature dangerously high – at a level where severe scalding with minimum exposure would occur and no temperature guide on shower mixer unit or safe detent position. This is a catastrophe waiting to happen for a child or an elderly person.
5) Internet exorbitant – and have to pay per device. While internet is nominally “free in public areas”, unless you want to sit in the restaurant or squat in the entrance lobby (see #1 above) few such public places are available . A luxury hotel should at least meet the standards of a budget motel chain by providing basic level WiFi in the rooms. By all means charge for high-speed access, but basic connectivity should be treated the same way as a television, sheets, towels and toilet paper and included in the room rate. Perhaps the high internet fees cover the insurance for concern #5
6) Each room contains its own air conditioner unit. Mine was in a ventilated cupboard about 1 foot from the head of the bed. Both compressor start up (KERCLUNK ) and shut down (KERHISSSSSSS) were extremely noisy and when the unit was running there was a constant 120 cycle hum that had me dreaming of giant mosquitos until I was again woken by the compressor turning off. This is not a fault in the compressor, but a flaw in the room design. These units should not be in ventilated cupboards next to a guest’s head.

So, if you bring sleeping pills, a collapsible chair for the lobby and a wireless data plan for your computer, and if you also take care using the hot water, you can safely enjoy the many other genuine benefits this hotel has to offer and turn it into a 4 star experience

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markbrentlesham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

It disappoints us to hear that your recent stay with us was not reflective of the luxury experience we hope for each of our guests. Our Maintenance Engineers will promptly look into the issues you mentioned with the A/C unit and also the water temp in your room, and we thank you for alerting us to these potential problems. We love receiving suggestions from our guests and we will be sure to share your comments with our Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you like charming old hotels, this is the place for you!

We enjoyed our room. Enjoyed our stay. Enjoyed the friendly service -- the staff was obviously well trained and seemed friendly without being phony.

I would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in the area. To top it off we got a nice weekend rate making it a great value.

The ONLY reason I can't go "five dots" is the size of the bathroom. If you're alone -- no problem. And my wife and I actually like each other... so no problem. But it was a really small bathroom. Think "closet-sized bathroom." Nice, neat and clean. But small.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHMPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We’re excited to read that you and your wife enjoyed your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, and we have to say your review made us chuckle just a bit. Your recommendation to others is sincerely appreciated. During any future stays, it would be our pleasure to assist you in finding the perfect room to suit your needs as we have a variety of differently sized rooms. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wonderful hotel located close to Dupont Circle Metro. Staff was very helpful and service was excellent. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Only complaint was the small refriferator did not keep drinks very cold. Would absolutley stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSullivan132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We’re so happy to hear that our convenient location worked out so well for you during your stay in Washington, DC. We do apologize for any issues you may have had with the in-room refrigerator and we will have our Maintenance Engineers take a look to see what the problem may be. We’d love to have you come back and stay with us again at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

The Capitol City is like no other to experience national pride and to witness the numbers of tourists and people in DC for business which creates a range of choices for hotels.

My husband was attending a conference held at the Fairfax Embassy Row which is in the Historic DuPont area next to beautiful diplomatic homes from around the world. The hotel seems focused on business clients rather than tourists -- yet is near a residential area chock full of restaurants, shops, banks, young people, etc.

It has a small but lovely lobby area, a nice restaurant that serves a good quality buffet breakfast @ $30, a credible fitness center, and cozy bar area. Our King Standard faced Mass ave and was spacious enough for my husband who is a "spreader." Though the bathroom was on the small side, the lighting was good and the water pressure excellent. They have Frette towels and quality personal amenities. The bed was comfortable but the down pillows too large for me so i requested a standard size. Decor is traditional and tastefully done and in keeping with the period architecture.

The high points were the excellent staff who seemed to genuinely love their jobs. This was evident in the doormen, housekeeping, food servers and front desk professionals. Quantina, Biji, Samina and Peter are names that come to mind though there were so many others. Everyone was helpful.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in DC.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willylabradoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

We sincerely appreciate your kind review and thank you first, for staying with us and second, for sharing how much you enjoyed our dedicated staff, luxurious amenities and beautiful, historic location. It is with great enthusiasm that we cater to each and every one of our guests, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another exceptional stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel has gone through many changes of orientation and management over the years before acquiring the Luxury Collection icon. In fact it seems to be undergoing some one more transition at present. The bottom line for now s a good hotel, perfectly located for business, restaurants, services. You certainly get good value for the money (especially if you have a corporate rate or some similar arrangement), but its better to moderate your expectations somewhat on Luxury, especially if you are beholden to a European yardstick for luxury. Rooms tend to be nice, convenient and spotlessly clean, fitness center good, bar and restaurant OK, and other services fine. It presents a far superior to many of its competitors in town thanks to its compact size and generally efficient services,

Room Tip: being an SPG Bremen does yield benefits at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and for mentioning how advantageous being an SPG Member can be. It sounds as if you had the opportunity to take advantage of many of the amenities that make our hotel so wonderful and we’re pleased that you noticed our efforts to continually improve the experience for every one of our guests. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The hotel is comfortable, clean with lovely service. This is in an historic building and the rooms are understandably small. The location was convenient to both Georgetown as well as the key DC tourist sights (though we did a good deal of walking). Good value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSHMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

How great is it to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the amazing attractions that make Washington, DC an outstanding place to visit; all while staying at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We appreciate you letting us know that your stay was comfortable and we hope to welcome you back very soon. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,323 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
1,441 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,287 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Upper Northwest
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $97 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing