We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hotel with a history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C. to your Saves list
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row) (Dupont Circle)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct Get Parking
Ranked #49 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
København
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hotel with a history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a conference, and for once enjoyed a hotel with a real history and a "soul". The rooms might not be the biggest in the city, but they are charming and the staff makes you feel more than welcome.

The location is excellent - not to far from the center, but close to beautiful parks and in an upscale part of D.C. Great runnings-trips in the area and within walking-distance from Georgetown and The White House area.

Great bar and a very comfortable bed made this business-trip one of the most enjoyable for quite a while. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, September 16, 2013
It’s always wonderful to hear when our guests appreciate the history, elegance and convenience of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We’re so pleased that your business trip was made even more enjoyable by our dedicated staff and convenient location. Please come and stay with us again soon and we thank you for your very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    519
    155
    58
    31
See reviews for
377
409
97
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The staff in this hotel are amongst the best I have encountered in the hotel industry around the world. They are truly superb. The staff, like the hotel, are unpretentious, friendly, extremely helpful, and worth much more than what the hotel charges for a room.

I will gladly send all the people I know to this hotel with the certainty that not one will be disappointed. I stayed there six nights and never had a reason to not fully enjoy my hotel experience. The restaurant food is good, room service is timely and delicious but, again, the staff are the ones who really make the difference. All of them, the doorman, the front desk, bell hops, waiters, maids are wonderful. Stay here, you will not regret. Oh, by the way, it's location is easily the best in all of Washington, DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabianaChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Your review has certainly made us smile and we sincerely appreciate the gracious compliments you have shared with everyone regarding your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We strive to accommodate our guests at every turn and your thoughtful acknowledgement of our staff will let them know how much of an impact their efforts make. It was a pleasure to welcome you as a guest at our hotel and we can’t wait to greet you again as soon as possible! Thank you for your amazing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, NJ
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This hotel is without a doubt welcoming and super hospitable. My room was elegant, well appointed, with comfortable bed, small dresser, desk end enough outlets to charge all my electronic gadgets. Staff super friendly, helpful and very well trained. Fresh flowers in the elegant lobby smell great and add to the ambiance. Excellent location. Street P steps away with a number of restaurants. Mass avenue - Embassy Row - lined with beautiful architecture. Rock Creek Park trails in the walking distance. The hotel has an excellent gym. Spacious, airy and well equipped. I counted 5 treadmills, 5 elliptical trainers and a couple of stationary bikes, free weights area. Hospitality extends here as well in the form of water bottles, apples and towels. With all my enthusiasm, I did find a few areas for improvement.
1) Internet in the rooms is charged at $13 a day per gadget. So if you have a smart phone and laptop, you will be charged twice. That is outrageous. So last century. And this policy is not transparent. Not mentioned in the room, where I found long and unnecessary instructions on how to use the phone. When I called from the room to ask, I was not advised of this practice, so I was caught by surprise when I tried to connect the second gadget.
2) For some reason the presence of the spectacular gym is well hidden. No mention of it on the hotel website, not even a word in the folder describing hotel services.
3) Breakfast is super expensive and offers no alternatives within my company's budget of $10.
4) AC unit in my room was very noisy, turning on and off with nocking so loud I thought someone was at the door. I had to turn it off to sleep.

If you are sensitive to noise at night, ask for a room facing the street. Mine faced the courtyard and there was a constant low grade noise from the compressor outside.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise at night, ask for a room facing the street. Mine faced the courtyard a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We’re grateful that you’ve shared not only the areas you enjoyed at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, but also those that you feel we need to pay more attention to. We do understand that certain fees can be frustrating to travelers, so we offer complimentary internet access in all public areas of our hotel for the convenience of our guests. Additionally, the features of our Fitness Center are outlined on our website under the Accommodations/Hotel Features tab. We certainly apologize for any noise disruptions you encountered and will have the A/C unit in your room promptly looked at. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope to be able to welcome you back for another comfortable stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed for five nights at this hotel over the Labor Day weekend. Everybody from the hotel receptionist to the door men, house keepers, and all of the staff were super polite. The hotel receptionist was very cooperative and she acted as an ambassador for the District of Columbia, welcoming us very pleasantly. We reserved our hotel through a third party, but still she was very nice about changing our king bed room to a double bed room for our two children.(they stayed three nights) All four of us enjoyed the great service of the hotel. The hotel was very clean and had easy access to attractions. We will definitely stay in the same hotel on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank semiramm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, September 10, 2013
What a wonderful compliment to learn that you will stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row on a return visit to Washington, DC. It sounds like you and your family had a wonderful time over the holiday weekend and we appreciate your kind words for our staff. We look forward to welcoming your return and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My two day stay at the Fairfax Hotel last month was exceptional. I travel a lot, and to find a hotel that deserves the highest rating is unusual.

The sleeping rooms are lovely and impeccable. More than comfortable, this hotel is welcoming in every way.

The staff is across the board friendly and eager to be of assistance in any way needed. I look forward to my stay at the Fairfax next week. There is not much more one could ask for in a hotel. Kudos for achieving an outstanding rating from a highly critical guest!

Room Tip: You could not choose a better hotel in the DC area. Enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoraWCoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, September 10, 2013
The biggest reward we can have is learning from a guest that they are planning to return to The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we are deeply appreciative of your patronage. It’s wonderful to see that our staff was able to make your stay so enjoyable and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your return and thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights at the end of August. Check in was excellent. They re arranged our rooms so we were all on the same floor together (3 Rooms) Staff were without exception welcoming, professional and efficient. We enjoyed drinks i the bar most nights and even the hot chocolate exceeded expectations! ( It was 85 degrees outside) Rooms were cosy and clean. Daily room service was good. The only gripe was no free internet access in the room and the building is in need of a major refurb. Otherwisw a great stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sim0n0459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments for our staff and for sharing how much you enjoyed your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Providing a comfortable and convenient retreat for each of our guests is a priority and we’re happy to hear that we were able to make adjustments to your reservations that made it easier for your group to enjoy being together. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good location on DuPont Circle and a decent sized room but... the shower is a bizarre contraption that took a **long** time to reach the required temperature. On the plus side there is a gauge that shows you how slowly it's heating up. So while you wait you can either stare at the gauge or read a good book. A long, long book. Also the hotel clearly wants to wash All your towels All the time - there's only one small towel rail and that's inside the shower (!) so all of ours inevitably ended up on the floor. Hmm! No wonder I couldn't see the usual 'Only-put-the-towels-you-want-us-to-change-on-the-floor' sign.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C., responded to this review, September 10, 2013
While we’re happy to see that the convenient location of The Fairfax at Embassy Row worked out so well for you, it is disappointing to read that your accommodations did not fully impress you. We encourage our guests to reach out to us immediately if there are ever any problems or requests that they might have. It would have been our pleasure to inspect your shower to make sure it was working properly. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future for the exceptional stay that you deserve and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing