We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent solid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed for the first time at the Fairfax, it is discrete, elegant and low to no fuss hotel. Competent staff with comfortable, clean well appointed rooms in a great location. DC can be a hard place to find a decent hide away. A good bar, good restaurant - somewhat unimaginative breakfast (but Fine).

All in all - recommended

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind recommendation of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We’re very pleased to learn that your stay was restful and provided you with just what you needed for a relaxing stay in Washington, DC. We’re pleased to see you appreciated the elegance of our hotel and look forward to having you stay with us again very soon. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,897)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,252 - 1,258 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2013

Beautiful old hotel with great service and a great location. Classic DC. The restaurant, 2100 Prime, was incredible!! One of the most unforgettable meals I've ever had - anywhere - and well worth the price. And, again, the best service. They really make you feel special from the moment you walk in. Can't wait to go back someday. Nice little Sunday farmer's market within walking distance as well as one of my favorite breakfast places. Close to Dupont Circle. Perfect place to stay. Can only imagine how amazing a wedding there would be as they have a separate entrance for that part of the hotel where the ballroom is located.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lpyles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Your kind comments are certainly appreciated and we love hearing that your meal at 2100 Prime was outstanding. The staff at The Fairfax at Embassy Row makes it their top priority to ensure that each and every guest’s needs are taken care of and we thank you for your kind acknowledgement of their efforts. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for another great stay in the future and we thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I just returned from a business trip in Washington, where I spent 4 nights at the Fairfax. This is an overall good hotel, with good service in a great location. The rooms are comfortable and spacious, although the bathrooms are a little dated and could use a little reburbishing. The restaurant is pleasant enough,,and breakfast was OK. The staff really makes the difference, and were all superb. The concierge managed to resolve a huge problem I had with luggage, and she did so with great expertise, efficiency and with a beautiful smile to boot! Special thanks go out to her. The location of the hotel couldn't be' better. Just a few minutes away from Dupont Circle, and close to many embassies. also just a short cab ride to many of the city's main attractions. The Fairfax is definitely a competitive hotel in its category, comes at a fair price and I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magenta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

We are so happy to read that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was an integral part of your enjoyable business trip to Washington, DC. Your kind comments for our staff are sincerely appreciated and it would be our pleasure to share them with everyone. Please don’t hesitate to ask for assistance from any of our Concierge professionals in the future; we thank you for your lovely review. We can’t wait to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Recently stayed one night on business. Easy trip by Metro from Reagan to the Fairfax. Despite a very early arrival, my room was available, and all staff were extremely helpful. Room was very comfortable. I'd probably have gone to excellent had I had the chance to use more of the facilities/amenities. For example, I didn't have the chance to try the restaurant or bar. All that said, I felt I received full value for my money, and would stay at the Fairfax again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILikewhatILike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Your review has certainly made us smile! It’s always wonderful to hear how a guest appreciates the attentive service our staff provides and your thoughtful acknowledgement is truly appreciated. We hope that during your next stay with us that you will have the opportunity to indulge in a meal at 2100 Prime, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon to The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We have stayed at this property before and were delighted with the service. This stay was not the same. We did not have hot water for a shower one morning. It would have been nice if they would have given us some time frame for when it might be corrected but they did not. That same day, we were gone from morning until after 8 pm and we came back to a room that had never been made up. The location of the hotel is great but I would certainly be reluctant to stay again when there are so many excellent hotels in DC.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra for a deluxe room or suite to get more than a tiny space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badgerbacker49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

It is very clear from your review that we missed several opportunities to provide you with the experience you have come to expect from us. You are correct; Washington, DC does have a large selection of excellent hotels, which is why we strive to enhance our guests experience at every turn, making their stays personalized and not cookie-cutter. We do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered and will have our Maintenance Engineers look into what may have been the problem concerning the hot water. We hope you will still consider staying with us if you are ever in the area again. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Staff were very helpful at all times. The hotel is very nice and clean. Centrally located and a metro stop just up the road. Rooms had a nice decor and the beds were comfy. wi-fi was available for free in the lobby.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

We are delighted to learn that your entire stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row; from your comfortable accommodations to our helpful staff, was enjoyable and we thank you for your great review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband (on many occasions) has stayed at this wonderful hotel. I have had the luxury on occasion to accompany him. Everyone from the bell staff to the hotel manager are top notch. The housekeepers are particularly pleasant. The bar is a favorite of ours! Last, the concierge, especially Peter! Provided us with exceptional breakfast, lunch and dinner options. This hotel is in a beautiful neighborhood and a sure treat for a wash dc newcomer..

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

We are so glad that you were able to accompany your husband on his recent trip! It’s delightful to hear that our attentive staff, particularly our Concierge, helped to create a memorable stay for both of you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we look forward to greeting you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,320 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
1,439 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
2,188 reviews
Upper Northwest
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $98 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing