We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #74 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The location of the Fairfax is ideal. Dupont Circle and its environs is lovely and using the Red Line most of the tourist locations are quickly accessible. During my two night stay, I was most impressed by the staff. Every person greeted me kindly, professionally and with enthusiasm to make my stay as comfortable as possible. The room I had was very well appointed, it had everything I could need and felt large and spacious. The bed was really very comfortable.

Some of the details left me disappointed, most notably was that there is a wifi charge per day per device. In addition, the door to the room did not quite meet the floor so there was a bit of noise from the hall that drifted into my room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

We are truly grateful that you’ve shared your experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row with us and in particular your gracious compliments for our staff. Please accept our apologies for any noise disturbances you encountered during your stay and we will be sure to inspect the condition of the door of your room promptly and make any needed repairs. Our Internet charges are comparable with many other establishments in the area that offer the same service, and we do appreciate you letting us know your opinion on the matter. We look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,268 - 1,274 of 1,888 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Fairfax might once have been a great hotel and with investment from Starwood it could be again, but for now it is second-rate and living off its name.

First the positives:
- Great location, by Dupont Circle, walking distance to lots of useful and interesting places and right by the metro
- Very comfortable beds and good blackout blinds
- Decent-sized room (following advice from people on TripAdvisor that standard 'Superior' rooms were tiny, I paid extra for a larger 'Grand Deluxe' room)
- Helpful door staff
- Reasonably priced *were it really a 5-star* (but overpriced for the 3.5 star hotel it really is)

Now the many negatives:
- Shamefully poor breakfast buffet, worthy of a 2-star hotel, with very limited choice, poor quality food and only one espresso coffee included in the (high) price of $24 + tax + service, ie, around $30 (the waiter filled in the tip himself before giving me the bill!)
- Poor shower: weak water pressure, cheap shower curtain, no shower gel (only soap) in the amenities
- Cramped bathroom that could do with modernising
- Erratic and noisy air conditioning
- $12.95 + tax (ie, $13.73) a day for wifi for one device
- Cheap coffee machine in the room that made horrid coffee
- Cursory housekeeping: the bed still looked slept it, my pajamas were left in a pile rather than folded etc
- Small, poorly equipped and warm gym (77°F, it said one day, ie, 25°C): one free weights bench, one shoddy cable machine, no mats to do abs/stretch etc
- Often long wait for the concierge, concierge button on the phone in my room didn't work
- Asked on arrival which morning paper I wanted, I asked for the Wall St Journal; instead received USA Today the first few days, then no paper at all
- After staying six nights and departing on a Sunday, rarely the busiest day for arrivals, the latest checkout they were willing to offer me was 1pm.. this despite the fact that during the week, housekeeping often didn't come till mid afternoon

The Fairfax makes much of the fact that it is a 'Luxury Collection' hotel that has welcomed many of the big names from US politics (eg, Bush, Gore etc) and the 'global elites' with pictures of the White House etc everywhere to reinforce the message. Unfortunately, it does not live up to the high standards to which it pretends.



  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil_London2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We can appreciate your disappointment when there were so many areas within your experience that you felt were not up to par. It seems that there were several instances where we missed the opportunity to improve your stay and for that we apologize. Your comments have given us an important insight into what areas need improvement and where we are succeeding and we thank you for that. Thank you for your kind comments for our staff and we hope to be able to welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfax Embassy for 3 nights for a wedding. The location is great – about 5-10 minute walk from DC metro (red line, convenient for accessing suburban MD). Everything you need (Starbucks, ATM, CVS, restaurants) within 1-2 blocks. About 15 minute cab ride from Georgetown and 20 minute metro ride to Smithsonian museums. Concierge and front desk beyond friendly and helpful. Like in all big cities, the rooms are small and the bathrooms need updating; I felt like the hotel was pricey for what you got. If you are coming to DC for vacation and want to be where the action is, or if your company is paying for accommodation then stay here. If you come here often or would prefer a better value option, I prefer the Westin in Arlington (also Starwood) – a bit outside the city but updated and modern.. and cheaper.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. Our location is certainly something that adds value to our guest’s stays, along with our luxurious amenities, dedicated staff and delectable dining options. We do regret that we did not achieve the outstanding stay that you deserve and hope to be able to welcome you back to impress upon you our dedication to luxury. Thank you for your sincere comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

A wonderful, luxurious hotel, with fabulous service, close to everything and just all around super! I would definitely stay there again. Most stars go to the staff who are gracious, friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: Bus to Georgetown and cheaper restaurants right around the corner - hotel restaurant is posh and nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkemble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We are delighted to read that your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was so enjoyable and we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your generous acknowledgement of our staff is sincerely appreciated and it would be our pleasure to share your comments with them. Thank you for your helpful tips to others and for your review. Please come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The staff at this well-located hotel were incredibly polite and helpful. The deluxe rooms are quite spacious, with traditional decor and large windows. Like most Luxury Collection hotels, however, the Fairfax could use a deep cleaning, some paint touch-ups, new showers and perhaps a spa. One caveat, make sure when booking a room that it does not house an HVAC compressor. Ours did, much to the detriment of our sleep quality.

Room Tip: Opt for deluxe. Make sure the HVAC compressor is not attached to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRH2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Please accept our apologies that we did not create the experience you had come to expect of us. We are disappointed that you did not receive a restful night’s sleep and will be sure to have our Maintenance Engineers look into the noise issue with the HVAC unit. Thank you for your kind comments for our staff and for letting us know about your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon to The Fairfax at Embassy Row.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

If not for the image this hotel aspires to and its price, I might have given it a higher rating. The hotel has a great location and impressive appearance. Unfortunately, you have to leave the 12x15 guestrooms to change your mind! Other "high end" hotels in Washington seem to be able to deliver a larger living space. The staff was friendly and for the most part very helpful (apart from telephone operators for whom English names seemed a challenge). Every day of our stay, something was not working. On the last day of our stay, for example, there was no hot water for early morning showers. On another day, we had heard the sound of running water in a utility closet in our room for several hours, and when I called the engineers, they said "there's water in the system that we need to drain"--probably not a maintenance item that a guest should have to bring to their attention. We have yet to get an in room coffee pot that worked, and I've finally decided that the only way for early morning coffee is to purchase it from the dining room. My guess is that these folks need to sharpen up their operation in order to get much repeat business.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank amosesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointing stay that you have described. We are certainly most concerned to read about your experience and disheartened that you were not able to leave here fully satisfied. We do take it to heart when we are unable to meet or exceed any of our guest’s expectations and we will be sure to review your comments with our staff, along with your compliments regarding their efforts. Thank you for reaching out to us and we would hope to be able to fully impress you with another stay in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hotel still channels its former lif as a Ritz. The furnishings are very traditional and our room (2 double beds, NOT 2 queen beds) was cozy. I haven't seen a double bed in ages! Lovely linens, towels, and toiletries. I was surprised that wifi internet was not free, even for Starwood Preferred members. We paid for wifi, then found that only one device could use it (if my husband used it with his laptop, I couldn't use it with my I-Pad.) That made the experience feel a little dated. The staff was very friendly and helpful; the concierge was great with resto suggestions.

The location is great--just steps from the Dupont Circle Metro station, which makes getting around DC so easy. The Phillips Collection is a few blocks away. There are many restaurants--casual, formal, al fresco within easy walking distance. the concierge had good suggestions and let us know the best time to go without long waits (many don't take reservations.) Easy to walk to embassies, also.

Room Tip: Note that a room woith 2 beds may be 2 double beds rather than 2 queens. If this is important to yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

At The Fairfax at Embassy Row, we offer a variety of bed sizes; each featuring the Luxury Collection pillow top and 300 thread count Fili D’oro linens. We’re thrilled to see that you enjoyed your accommodations and fully benefitted from our convenient location and Concierge services. It would be our pleasure to have you and your husband stay with us again and we thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#87 of 142 in Washington DC
1,422 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#24 of 142 in Washington DC
3,294 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#62 of 142 in Washington DC
1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,174 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#78 of 142 in Washington DC
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $103 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing