We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made Our Stay in Washington The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #62 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Made Our Stay in Washington The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Great hotel in the embassy neighborhood of Dupont Circle. The room and amenities were top notch. The staff was always available, very friendly and helpful with all our questions. Wandi was particularly helpful with the assistance he provided when we 1st arrived in Washington, D.C. A perfect location (1) block from the Metro which took us to all the attractions on the Mall. Great neighborhood with lots of wonderful restaurants and things to do. Would definitely stay at this hotel on a return visit to D.C.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at The Fairfax at Embassy row during your recent visit to our Nation’s Capital. We truly appreciate the kind compliments and words that you have shared, both for our staff and our convenient location. It would be a privilege to welcome you back to our hotel and we hope it’s soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    829
    602
    185
    70
    36
See reviews for
426
488
119
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Outstanding customer service. The management is fantastic. They accommodated every request, even rushing out food from the packed restaurant bc we were late for a show. Beautiful suite overlooking embassy row. A little out of the way, and not near the metro, bu overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Your kind comments are sincerely appreciated and we love hearing that the service you received while at The Fairfax at Embassy Row was exceptional. Please note that the Metro is located less than two blocks from our hotel, and we apologize if you were not made aware of that fact. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

You never quite know what you're going to get from the Starwood branded hotels. I stayed here, solo, while visitng Washington DC

I don't think this hotel as a lounge for gold/platinum guests (I'm Platnium). I wasn't offering anything at check-in and there was nothing listed in the hotel directory. I don't know if I recieved a room upgrade or not, as Peter didn't mention it, like other SPG properties. There was no complimentary water in the room,

The workout club was great. I didn't expect it to be as spacious as it was for a building of it's age.

The rooms are nice (I like the shower and bathroom amenities) and are sized approiately for a building of it's age. Everything was in working order, which I really appreciated. The iPod Stereo was extremely helpful as I forget my iPhone charger. I really liked the Pacific Coast down comforter.

Peter, the Conceirge, was helpful and efficient.

I walked away from this place with an average feeling and I'm not sure why. May be because there was nothing over the top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasch3904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know about your recent stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. While we are very happy to learn that you fully enjoyed our Fitness Center and helpful amenities included in our guestrooms, we are disappointed that you left feeling less than pampered. It is always our goal to deliver exceptional quality and service to all of our guests and when we learn that they have concerns, we work quickly to attend to their needs. Please note for future stays – the mini refrigerator in your room can be fully stocked with your preferences upon request and please don’t hesitate to question our staff as to what upgrades you have received. We hope to welcome you back for the exceptional stay that you deserve and we sincerely thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

During our stay at the Fairfax, everything was wonderful. At times I use a wheelchair and the ADA room we had was spacious and easy to navigate. The staff we interacted with were, to a person, helpful, friendly, and always pleasant. I can't think of a single negative thing to say. I've stayed in numerous hotels in and around DuPont Circle and this was far and away the best. I know I will return every time I need to be in that area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We’re so glad that you felt the need to review your stay at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We love hearing the positive comments from our guests and are glad that we were able to make your stay comfortable. It was our pleasure to supply you with an accessible room that met your needs perfectly. Our exceptional staff is certainly looking forward to your return and we thank you for your gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Friendly staff and clean, quiet, rooms made our 4 day stay very pleasant. Everything is walking distance: CVS, restaurants, Starbucks, Metro, Georgetown. The WiFi in the room is expensive but in the lobby it is free. So it is at Starbucks 50 meters from the hotel.
The Philips collection (worth visiting) is at 200 m from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with windows to the court. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myworld2008Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your helpful suggestions for other guests. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we appreciate your kind compliments for our staff. Our convenient location gives our guests easy access to many wonderful places in the Dupont Circle area and we’re thrilled it worked out so well for you. We hope to welcome you back very soon and we thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

While our daughter and son-in-law were checking in, my husband and I went to speak with Peter re sight-seeing. He was very informative and also gave us a tour of hotel with lots of background info. Very comfortable smaller hotel -- great food in dining room. Also had drinks and lunch in bar area. Great location - three blocks to metro. Definitely coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbaraski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Isn’t it nice to have a sense of the history of an establishment that you are visiting? We’re so happy that Peter had the opportunity to fill you in on what makes The Fairfax at Embassy Row so special! Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with your family and for your gracious compliments. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again and we hope that it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

CONS:
dated furniture (cabinet in bathroom had a lot of nicks)
small rooms and bathrooms with zero counter space
room by elevator can hum loudly
hear this dripping noises from the AC unit (and blew loudly and right over the bed)
lamp didn't work
mirror light in bathroom didn't work
Digital TV didn't always work
EXPENSIVE (and not very good) drinks in the lounge (2 drinks will run you $25+)

PROS:
They opened the door 95% percent of the time I entered or left
Housekeeping organized my toiletries
Dupont Circle is a great area to stay
Comfy bed

A man at the lounge told us the place has really "let itself go" and that The Fairfax used to be a hotspot destination back in the day. While I thought the staff was nice, they didn't seem very luxury in their presentation/communication.

It's wasn't horrible and it didn't ruin my time in DC. It was fine, but for the price, I'd look for something else.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttneptune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We strive to maintain the highest level of service, hospitality and comfort for our guests, so we were very disappointed to read that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Please don’t hesitate on any future stays to immediately inform us of any problems within your guestroom, as we would be happy to correct any issues promptly. We apologize for any missed opportunities to make your stay exceptional and hope to be able to welcome you back and regain your trust. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#101 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing