We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Nearby Hotels
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$410
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$197
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$186
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$131
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$309
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,995)
Filter reviews
1,995 results
Traveler rating
927
689
230
95
54
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
927
689
230
95
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circlejockey clubanderson housephillips collectionluxury hotelfront desk staffbeautiful hotelmetro stationlocation is greatper dayking bedbusiness centertwo blocksdc areawhite housevalet parkingnational mall
Filter
Updating list...
1,487 - 1,492 of 1,995 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

I can't imagine the reviews praising the service at this hotel are from actual people who have stayed in the hotel. The problems with service here were not confined to a single person or singular incident, rather, they seemed to be systemic in nature. First, the front desk personnel LOST the luggage from a member of our party in the short time and distance from the car to the lobby door...they totally lost the bags. Secondly, the serveres at the restaurant attached to the hotel were rude to several members of our party as well as "forgetting" multiple items that were ordered. Additionally, we called down to the front desk to help us out with an item we forgot. We were told politely that someone would be up shortly with the item. 36 hours later the item, of course, never arrived. Even more laziness on the part of the front desk: they failed to give out the "welcome bags" that the bridge and groom arranged for their wedding guests. I shouldn't even bother mentioning the fact that the maid service failed to refill simple things like coffee when they cleaned the room, but I think it's important to note just how lazy every aspect of customer service is at the hotel. Also, while not directly related to a specific worker at the hotel, be prepared to pay $13 PER DAY for Internet use. Having to pay such fees so that I can conduct business while away from home is unacceptable and a far cry from providing exceptional service to your guests. There are many hotels to choose from in the area, I would highly recommend choosing one other than Fairfax.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank macdillbirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

It is extremely disappointing to hear about your recent experience and we apologize for the problems you encountered. We are concerned that so many aspects of your stay were challenging and will be sure to share your comments with our management staff as it is important that they hear your perspective. Your stay should have been memorable for many other reasons, and we do offer our sincerest regrets that your needs were not met. We will certainly review your feedback further and we greatly appreciate the time you've taken to bring these points to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here as part of a convention, so it was both business and pleasure, and I could not have been more pleased.

The hotel itself is lovely with tasteful historic decor. The staff is friendly and always accommodating-they have a more than ample number of doormen to greet you, answer questions, help with luggage and taxis, etc. The concierge desk also helped with arrangements with professional efficiency. If early morning traffic noise bothers you, be sure to ask for a room on an upper floor.

It's within an easy walking block from a few shops and lots of restaurants on DuPont Circle.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mort39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for sharing the story of how our staff was able to assist you with all your needs, from arranging a taxi to travel plans. We're thrilled that their dedication prompted you to write such a wonderful review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Fairfax at Embassy Row for another exceptional stay in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Fairfax at Embassy Row. All employees were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very nice, the bathrooms were spacious, and they accommodated our early check-in. The rooms were also very quiet with no noise from outside. My only complaints were that the shower water pressure was INSANELY strong - like my back was bright red after getting out of the shower. Also, the wait at the front desk to check my bags the day we were checking out was super long (15+ minutes) when they had one person working check-in, check-out, and any other requests. There was another gentleman over at the concierge desk and it probably would have been appropriate to have him help guests in the front desk line given that no one was at concierge. Overall, it was a nice experience and we will return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ericacoh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your kind review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row and its staff. We're happy to learn that your accommodations met your needs and that our personalized service was one of the highlights of your stay. Our Maintenance Engineers will certainly check the shower in your room to make sure the water pressure is comfortable for future guests and we appreciate you letting us know. We're looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This hotel was great, the staff was wonderful especially Peter Gill the concierge, he was so helpful and recommended a great tour. I would definately stay here again. The only down side, the room we had, the mattress was lopsided... they need new mattresses.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anniechesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Your review has made us smile; in particular, your kind comments for our staff. We invest greatly in our staff at The Fairfax at Embassy Row and we're thrilled to learn that their dedication created a memorable stay for you. Please don't hesitate during your next stay with us to let us know if your accommodations do not exactly match your expectations; we would be more than happy to help. We hope to welcome you back soon and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A fantastic location. I am in D.C. for business on a regular basis and I have stayed all around the beltway - and, the Fairfax Embassy Row is the best.

The rooms are well apportioned. Very clean. There is a classic elegance to the common spaces. And, the scale (the hotel is small) of the hotel makes it a very manageable. The staff are impeccable and very service oriented.

The hotel is just outside of the "frenzy" of DC'ism. It sits right on the edge of some great restaurants and watering holes. It also affords a phenomenal access to the great trail running in the Rock Creek area. One of my favorite runs is along Embassy Row. I just love running along up the hill to the Navy Observatory and the National Cathedral.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Enjoying an invigorating run through the historic streets of Dupont Circle and taking in all the beauty of the area sounds like a great way to enjoy Washington, DC. Thank you for your compliments and for mentioning our dedicated staff and convenient location. We look forward to greeting you again in the future and appreciate the kind words that you've shared in this forum about The Fairfax at Embassy Row.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews