We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising luxury at modest price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Surprising luxury at modest price”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I selected The Fairfax because it was almost 50% lower in price compared to other business hotels in the capital. So I was fully expecting (and resigned to) an adequate but tired room for my brief visit. How wrong I was! My room was spacious and bright, with a view of the National Cathedral and distant Rosslyn across the Potomac. The furnishings were of the elegant "colonial" variety popular in DC. The hallways were beautiful with high quality carpeting, crown moldings and fine art prints of Washington sites--in short, true luxury. I used to live in this Kalorama district north of Dupont Circle, and love it for its restaurants, museums, beautiful residential architecture and pleasant neighborhood strolls. In the past I've stayed at the Cosmos Club across the street, where I have privileges. So I knew and appreciated the pretty neighborhood, just not this particular hotel. Now having stayed there, I have to say this will be at the top of my list, particularly if I can get the same low rate. I did park my car with the hotel valet--at a steep forty bucks a day plus tip. But this is after all near the center of the city, so I wasn't that surprised. In any case, I wouldn't normally have a car when staying in Washington.

Room Tip: If you're going as a couple, try for a larger than double bed, which is tight. My high (7th) flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenat323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, July 2, 2012
How wonderful that you were able to re-visit your former neighborhood that you love so much. The Fairfax at Embassy Row is privileged to be located in such a historically significant area of Washington, DC, giving our guests the perfect location to explore Dupont Circle via the Metro or by foot. It makes us very happy to learn that you were pleasantly surprised by your accommodations and hope to be able to welcome you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    849
    621
    194
    74
    39
See reviews for
440
511
120
518
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This hotel is nice and in good location. Comfortable beds and pillows. Food in bar was good and reasonably priced for the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

Unfortunately, during my stay there was road work being done outside so the noise was too much to sleep past 7:00 - but that's not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieatBamaOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for letting us know about your recent experience at The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We do apologize for the noise disruptions caused by construction, but are happy to see that you had an enjoyable stay despite it. We hope to welcome you back very soon for the truly restful stay that you have come to expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We've stayed at the Fairfax several times, for both business and pleasure. And indeed our most recent visit was a pleasure: great location, comfortable rooms, super-plush towels, but what sets the Fairfax apart is the staff, which is really outstanding and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Tee was especially caring and deserves special mention. Katie was also so kind. Our kids were treated especially well. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerFr0mPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff takes pride in ensuring our guests leave with wonderful memories of their stay, striving to surpass our guest's expectations each time. We're delighted to learn that your recent experience was enjoyable for your whole family, and we will be sure to acknowledge those staff that made such an impression on you. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back time and time again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Very good location and neighborhood. Not cheap, but this is an expensive city to stay in. The staff was polite and helpful. I had a corner room which was nice cos it was larger than typical, but the view was pretty bad as it looked into the aircon cooling towers. The king bed was very comfy, linen was superb. Aircon was a bit noisy - not the fan noise, but the constant cutting in and out. Room had a small walk-in wardrobe, but there wasnt much drawer storage space.
The bathroom was ok - one basin but plenty of counter space. The shower was a bit narrow, but deep. Water temp and pressure was fine. I would definitely stay again without a doubt when i return to DC. The neighborhood is vibrant, plenty of restaurants nearby. Short walk to Dupont Circle subway metro stop. No free wifi - at this price level, throwing it in would be a nice gesture.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your kind patronage and review of The Fairfax at Embassy Row. We appreciate you sharing so many details about your recent experience and are happy to see you enjoyed our exceptional beds. With our convenient location, surrounded by many historic and popular Washington, DC buildings, it also causes some of our rooms to have limited views, and for that we apologize. We're pleased to learn that you will be returning and we look forward to greeting you again in the future. Please don't hesitate to let us know if there is anything we can do to make your future stay more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The terrific staff was always on the alert & eager to please...my granddaughter felt like Eloise at the Plaza! Given a short stay, I value time, easy access to the metro for sightseeing, i.e. the White House, museums, restaurants and a big, comfortable room for an easy sleep. Highly recommend as a good deal!

Room Tip: Room on upper floors are quiet. Make your preferences known early to avoid restaurant noise down pil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChakChel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for your helpful tips and suggestions for our other guests. Knowing that your granddaughter left The Fairfax at Embassy Row with such a wonderful memory makes us all very happy! It seems you both had an exciting time exploring Washington, DC and we'll be waiting for your next visit with us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in DC for a bit of a history trip for our son. We loved this location in Dupont Circle. Easy walk to the Metro Station and lots of great restaurants and coffee shops. We loved the doorman who quizzed our son everyday when we returned to see what he had learned. He made him feel very special. The staff were very helpful when asked for directions or recommendations.

The only complaint I had was that they gave us a handicap room. Now I know there's a lot more space in the room but the shower was a bit of a challenge. We would have preferred a room with a tub. My husband is tall and trying to get the shower wand to stay put at the top of the bar was not easy. My son frequently flooded the whole bathroom if we weren't careful because of the open concept and short curtain. Maybe they could have mentioned that at check-in. We didn't notice it until we had unpacked some of our stuff and the thought of asking for another room wasn't important enough to pack up and move. So overall, not a big deal.

I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tburf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for entrusting The Fairfax at Embassy Row with the care of your family. Washington, DC is an amazing place to bring your children and give them the opportunity to immerse themselves in the history of our country and its people. We do apologize that your accommodations did not fit your needs as planned, and fully understand that a room switch would have been inconvenient. If, in the future, there is ever anything that you need, please don't hesitate to let us know. It was our pleasure to have you and your family as guests and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

A beautiful place. Formerly the Ritz Carlton back in the day. Great service and terrific Dupont Circle location. One word of caution: the restaurant 2100 Prime is a huge disappointment. Service was unprofessional (waiter could barely speak English) and didn't even acknowledge our comments about how disappointing the food was, much less offer to make things better somehow. The food was the big problem. In early June when one orders mozzerella and prosciutto, it shouldn't come to the table baked into submission, it should be served cold and fresh. This thing was distinctly unappetizing. This is a steak place and though we were the first diners of the evening, we were told that they only had one piece of rib-eye left. That was worrying and when it arrived heavily sauced, we should have suspected it was to cover the fact that it had been sitting around for some time. Please do yourself a favor and walk around the block to the myriad choices of places in the Dupont Circle neighborhood.
Please also note that if you book this place through hotels.com or Expedia, you will not be awarded your Starwood Preferred points. Nice way to alienate your best customers.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flicklives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairfaxatEmbassyRow, General Manager at The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C., responded to this review, June 19, 2012
We're grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us. While we're happy to learn that you enjoyed the decor and convenient location of our hotel, it does disappoint us to hear of your dining experience. Your comments really surprise us, as our food has been receiving excellent reviews. The first dish that you mention is our Seared Prosciutto Wrapped Mozzarella, which is intended to be cooked and is a delightful summer appetizer. Regarding your comment about the meat, I can tell you that all of our meat is fresh and locally sourced. Thanks for your comments, though. I will certainly share them with our team. One final point – as a member of Starwood Preferred Guest, we truly appreciate your loyalty to the Starwood brand. However, you can only accumulate points when you book directly with us, rather than through a third party. This is standard across the board, and is not unique to this hotel. We certainly do not want to alienate our customers – nothing could be further from the truth! We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future to regain your confidence in us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
1,206 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#53 of 141 in Washington DC
2,035 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#103 of 141 in Washington DC
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.

Property: The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Address: 2100 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2807 (Formerly The Fairfax at Embassy Row)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. 4*
Number of rooms: 259
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our intimate, upscale Washington, D.C. hotel offers approachable sophistication in a classic setting. Nestled among leafy avenues, world-class boutiques and exceptional dining, The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. is a haven of refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fairfax At Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Westin Washington Dc
Washington Dc Westin
Westin Embassy Row

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing