We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Humble, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This was my time staying at Loews and the experience was great. The hotel could have extra staff at the front desk. The wait was borderline unacceptable. We also waited about 30 minutes for the valet to bring our car.

The rooms are beautiful and the hotel decor is nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Pamela B,
Thank you so much for staying at the Loews Madison Hotel recently and taking the time to share your experience. We were delighted to read that your experience was great and that you found the rooms and decor wonderful. I do apologize about the wait to check in as well as receiving your car from valet. These are not normal occurrences that we read about, however we appreciate you bringing them to our attention for review. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    616
    203
    86
    53
See reviews for
466
504
68
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

What a wonderful place to stay! From the time I checked in until the time I left I was tottally impressed. The staff was friendly and attentive.

I only had two issues:
Housekeeping came to my room 4times one morning and continued to wake me up!
Incidental fees - I called ahead, after I booked my room and was assured there were additional costs to be incurred. Wrong, I had to pay $100/day to be refunded. That was a hassle.

Overall, I will be back and I am now a Loews Madison fan forever!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Willis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Willis J,
Thank you for recently staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted that you are a fan of Loews Madison Hotel and that your time with us in DC was superb. I apologize for the miscommunication regarding additional charges. We do have 2 options upon check-in, you may leave your account open in order to have charging privileges to your room which are $100/day. When leaving a credit card at check-in this is simply an authorization placed on your card, however, when using a debit card we do have to charge the card up front and refund upon departure. This is because authorizing a debit card actually takes longer to release unused funds on departure than issuing a refund. The second option we have is for our guests to leave a 1 time $150 security deposit which does not give them the option of charging back to their room. I do hope this is helpful for future visits any time your travels bring you back to the DC area! Thanks again for staying with the Loews Madison Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Hotel was great for our DC vacation. Centrally located to the various places we wanted to see & experience. Hotel was clean, quiet, & comfortable. Lots of nearby dining options. Hotel staff professional, friendly & very helpful. Will stay again next DC trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jan K,
Thank you for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our central location close to all the DC sites. Whether looking to utilize the metro, walk to the White House or enjoy all the dining options on 14th, our location provides the perfect retreat to access all that DC has to offer. We appreciate you mentioning our exceptionally clean rooms and very friendly staff. We pride ourselves on providing a supremely comfortable environment for all of our guests and we are glad this was the case for you. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Staying at this hotel made me question my judgement.

As in: Why have I ever stayed anywhere else?

My partner and I stayed at the Loews Madison for a volleyball tournament. Sylvia at the check-in desk, was our first impression - and what an impression she made! Hilarious and efficient, friendly and helpful. Our entire stay followed suit - incredible service (Thanks, Kallie!) and an amazing experience.

Speaking of amazing: Try the scallops at the PostScript...and then the pistachio ice cream. Good god.

I don't know many things, but I know one thing: If there is a Loews Hotel in any city I visit - that is where I will stay. And if there is no Loews hotel? Then I might need to determine if the trip is even necessary.

Thank you to everyone at the Loews Madison - for showing us what real customer service looks like.

Room Tip: I bet every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Kevin T,
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to share your review. We appreciate you mentioning the phenomenal service you received from a few of our team members. We have shared your feedback and recognized them for their outstanding efforts. You are certainly right about the Scallops at Postscript and the Pistachio ice cream, they are truly delightful. We are so happy that we were able to create such fantastic memories for you during your travels to DC. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime you are in the DC area.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Loews Madison Washington DC from May 16 - 19, 2014.
Everything at the Loews is exceptional - the staff at check-in, the doormen, the concierge; everyone was so nice, welcoming and helpful.
The room was spectacular, we stayed in room 926, and it was quite (even though it was near the elevators). The bed very comfortable, and the room spotless.
We ate breakfast at Post Script every morning, and the meals were great!
We also enjoyed the location of this hotel.
We would definitely return to the Loews Madison when we come back to DC.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Richard L,
Thank you for staying at the Loews Madison Hotel and taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate the kind words and were delighted to read how wonderful your stay was. From the friendly service to the supremely clean room to the fantastic food in the restaurant, we were happy to hear that your experience was a phenomenal in all areas. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heswall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Excellent hotel with a good location. Staff are so friendly and helpful. Nothing was to much trouble. From the lovely doorman, to the concierge who helped with the silliest of questions to the cleaning lady who never stopped smiling. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in this beautiful historic city.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Sue B,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing the kind words about your experience. We were delighted to hear all the positive comments you had regarding your stay. We love to hear our guests say how friendly our team is, how clean our rooms are and how wonderful our location is. Our team works very hard every day to create these fantastic memories that you write about and everyone was excited to hear your feedback. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to the DC area.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Close to the White House this a beautiful spotless hotel. Attentive welcoming staff ,very helpful with every little detail. Good shower with lots of hot water. Fresh crisp bedding. As nice as the ones at twice the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vonrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Vonrall,
Thank you so much for staying with us recently and taking the time to share your experience. We were delighted to read how wonderful your stay was. We appreciate the very kind words about our property, our team members, and the overall cleanliness. We strive every day to create a supremely comfortable experience for all of our guests and we are happy to hear this was the case for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews Madison Hotel any time your travels bring you to the DC area.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#31 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing