We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Nice stay”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was in Washington, D.C. for work and thanks to Kauthor my stay at the Loews Madison was excellent. Kauthor was very personable and informative. The staff at the front desk and door were also great in securing early morning cabs. I look forward to staying at the Loews Madison again the next time I'm in DC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Christine L,
Thank you for taking time to review your Loews Madison experience. I’m glad it was a nice stay that has you planning to return to us! Thank you for highlighting our staff – Kaouthar, our head concierge, is a shining star on our team. With her combination of knowledge about Washington, DC, and dedication to our guests, we hear frequently about wonderful experiences and memories she has helped create!

I’m glad you experienced our commitment to top notch service all around, from the doormen assisting with cabs, to our front desk. Thank you for choosing Loews Madison – we’re excited to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    695
    238
    92
    62
See reviews for
531
538
78
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Beautifully refurbished room with modern amenities and =great friendly front desk attentive staff-Neveed is an awesome guy along with Milan- the concierge:-)

The only suggestion is to improve the housekeeping department, needs daily reminder for room service and extra amenities to be replaced.

Room Tip: Pick deluxe room upgrade if possible
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling facilities are visible in all public area...
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Chris W,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I’m glad you found our renovated property to be beautiful and enjoyed the amenities we offer. I really appreciate your note about our team members who work hard each day to deliver service that exceeds expectations. Naveed with our Front Desk team, and Milan, concierge, are excellent examples of our knowledgeable, friendly and professional staff. We are lucky to have them both on our team! I’m very sorry for the inconvenience you experienced with housekeeping and have reviewed this with our department director to ensure we address this lapse in service immediately. We are continually looking to improve ourselves and deliver memorable service at every turn, so thank you for bringing to our attention.

I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Loews Madison anytime your travels bring you to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights for a trip to Washington. Hotel has everything you could need for a stay. Room was very welcoming and comfortable as was the bed. Good strong air conditioning too as it was very hot while we were there! Would book again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G8681VNjamesp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear James P,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I’m glad we could provide everything you need, and you felt welcome and comfortable. We always want our guests to feel supremely comfortable, so thank you for letting us know we delivered.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and we would love to welcome you back anytime you travel to Washington, DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hadley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I fell in love with Loews Madison. Arrived at the hotel at 8:30 a.m. and I knew the room wouldn't be ready. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent. The room was ready by 10 am and I couldn't have been happier! The room was excellent. The bed was heaven, the room was quiet and it was sparkling clean. Stayed there with my daughter on a trip to look at a college in the area and after staying in MANY hotels over the past year for this purpose, I can say without question this was the best hotel by far. I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. We enjoyed the breakfast so much on our last night there we had dinner in the hotel restaurant. It was delicious and my rather picky eater daughter was very happy with her meal. Every staff member we met was friendly and helpful. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again and again and again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the fifth floor with two queen beds. Very roomy. The view was of another building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kate9340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear kate9340,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. It’s such a wonderful compliment that you fell in love with this property we all love so much, and you’d stay here again and again. I’m very happy we could provide a great experience, and at such a memorable and important time as looking for colleges with your child!

It’s great to hear how much you enjoyed the room and comfortable bed, and that you experienced our staff’s helpful, friendly attitude. Thanks for reviewing our on property restaurant, PostScript- I’ll be sure to pass on the kudos to our Food & Beverage team.

Exciting news for return visits – this Summer 2014, we’re proud to be opening Chef Jose Garces’ new DC restaurant at Loews Madison, an Argentian steakhouse. Hopefully you can visit soon.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and please come again for a stay and a meal anytime you’re in DC!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

It was great to see The Madison update its rooms and have included wifi. This was a pleasant stay but I could not help but notice a smoky old smell in the corridors. It was fine but the neighborhood was not as good as I remembered from past years.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank lton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear lton,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. I’m glad you enjoyed our renovated rooms and property, as well as the complimentary WiFi we offer in all guest rooms and our lobby. I’m disappointed learning that you noticed an odor, as this is not feedback we have heard from other guests. We are very focused on cleanliness and creating a comfortable environment, and I will be sure this is something we monitor closely. I’m glad it was a pleasant stay overall.

Did you get a chance to enjoy a complimentary FIAT ride with our new guest chauffeur service? Our drivers will drop-off in many locations, including the very nearby 14th Street, busy restaurant scene, of course the White House just four blocks away, and many other sites.

I hope we’ll have the chance to welcome you back to Loews Madison when your travels bring you to DC. Perhaps you can return after we open Chef Jose Garces new restaurant at Loews Madison this summer 2014!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western U.S.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Loved the bed, nice pillows, excellent sheets, good t.v., very nice bathroom, and in a decent location with proximity to the White House area. Staff was very friendly. Bar was small but nice. Bell staff very good. Overall happy experience at another fine Loews location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryder03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear ryder03,
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. I’m very happy you enjoyed the room and bed so much and found everything comfortable. It’s always our goal to deliver a supremely comfortable stay, and I’m also happy you enjoyed the bathrooms and in-room TVs. Thanks for mentioning our very convenient location, just four blocks from the White House. I appreciate the note about our staff – they are dedicated to our guests, and I’m happy it showed.

I’m glad you found our PostScript bar and lounge nice and am very excited to let you know that in Summer 2014, we’ll be opening renowned Chef Jose Garces’ Argentian steakhouse restaurant at Loews Madison!

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and I hope we can welcome you back again anytime you visit Washington, DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Loews Madison in DC for a few nights for our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a top floor luxury suite and chocolate strawberries, champagne on ice, and a lovely signed card were waiting for us in the room. The location is outstanding-we were within walking distance or a two-mile cab trip to Georgetown, the National Mall, monuments, and all the museums we wanted to see. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and very dark and night even with the large windows. The service at the front desk and concierge was prompt, personal, and enthusiastic. Sylvia at the front desk was especially sweet. We ate breakfast at PostScript in the hotel and it was fairly priced and well-prepared. It is a bit pricey for us ordinarily but for a special occasion, and for the ambiance and service, it was well worth it. Overall an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bmdels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoews, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear bmdels,
Thank you for reviewing your stay. A big congratulations to you and your husband on your marriage! I’m delighted we could be a part of a wonderful honeymoon experience. I’m glad you enjoyed one of our suites and our team’s welcome to you. We are dedicated to top notch service that leaves a lasting impression, so thank you for noting the prompt, personal service you received. Sylvia is indeed a gem, and we’re fortunate to have her on our team!

I appreciate you noting our very convenient location, great for walking to the White House just four blocks away, as well as other monuments and sites and areas like Georgetown. It’s great you enjoyed everything on property from your room to a meal in our PostScript restaurant. We’re also very excited to open Chef Jose Garces’ new Argentinian steakhouse at Loews Madison in Summer 2014.

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison, and congratulations again. I hope we can welcome you back again soon for another exceptional stay!

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#88 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing