We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent: Value, location, service not surpassed in my 9th visit to DC.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent: Value, location, service not surpassed in my 9th visit to DC.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel and the service at the front desk is the best I have ever had (I used to work at front desk many years ago) and they were friendly and efficient. The President of Somalia was there during my stay and it did not interfere with our stay and we were not ever inconvenienced as a result. Food is average, service was super, bar was great although due to some renovations elsewhere. Sitting outside was great:). Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedneckAristocrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear RedneckAristocrat,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the Loews Madison Hotel. We are delighted to hear how friendly and efficient you found our Front Desk team members to be. We appreciate the great feedback and are very excited to hear that you would highly recommend our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back anytime your travels bring you to the DC area.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    721
    250
    93
    64
See reviews for
553
550
80
716
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
SouthGa
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I spent two nights at the Loews Madison Hotel and was pleased to find it a nice Washington, DC hotel, recently refurbished and in a convenient location, not far from the White House, Convention Center and DuPont Circle area. The front desk staff was friendly, efficient and helpful, and the doormen and bellmen were always quick to hail a cab, open the door, grab a bag - very nice. My room was fairly small, inside and on a lower floor with a view of the air conditioning system, but I had booked on Hotwire so I'm sure the "full fare" customers get better views so no issue here! :-) But the room was clean and fresh, nicely decorated and very quiet (a benefit of not being on the street side). I didn't eat on-site, but the lobby bar had a nice atmosphere, and my colleagues and I enjoyed a nice after-dinner conversation over drinks there. One little complaint - the 24-hour business center is a pay-as-you-go internet connection - a disappointing trend in high end hotels these days - I mean, if the Holiday Inn Express and Hampton Inn can offer free internet in their business center, why not a luxury hotel? All in all, a very pleasant experience and a nice choice in DC.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthGaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear SouthGaTravelGuy,
Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent stay with us. You are absolutely right about our convenient location just steps from all that DC has to offer. We appreciate the kind words about the service all of our team members provided and we are happy to know that you had a wonderful experience overall. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I booked a 4 night stay with Loews Madison for my mom's 83rd birthday. Tthe concierge Kaouthar and Hotel Manager, Justin found out what a special trip this was and went over and above to make sure our stay was perfect. The service and customer care was outstanding and they made us feel like royalty. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated, beds are amazing and i have never seen such clean bathrooms before this hotel. Another plus for me was believe it or not, the elevators, We never had to wait. So many hotels have you sitting there forever trying to get an elevator and at the Madison, even during the busy hours, elevators came amazingly quickly. A nice touch in the rooms is the Kuerig coffee maker with hot tea and coffee which was especially appreciated on our return from all day sight-seeing, We saw a lot of the city and not much compared to the Loews Madison. Even when our tour guide picked us up from the hotel he said we made the right choice and that this was the best hotel in town. If you want quality, luxury, customer service and special attention to detail, this is the hotel.

Room Tip: pay a little extra for a luxury room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear kimt21,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are excited to know that we were able to make your mom feel so special for her birthday getaway. Creating memorable moments is our goal for all of our guests and it is great to hear that we were able to do that for your family. We will certainly share your kind words with our team as they work so hard every day to ensure our guests feel right at home in our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews Madison Hotel anytime your travels bring you to DC.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Madison is a great hotel with a long standing reputation of good quality and excellent service, I was not disappointed. The hotel looks fantastic following the recent refurbishment. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and the public areas are both stylish and comfortable. The lobby bar will be closed for a little longer but please don't let this put you off as there is another bar area which is just as good. The food served in the restaurant is of extremely good quality and I would recommend it to even the most discerning diners, Especially the NY Steak Strip which is to die for!
The location is wonderful, being just a few blocks north of The White House and very easy to navigate the city from. I would like to say a big thank you to all the staff for looking after me during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Lesley1210,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Loews Madison Hotel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found the hotel to be extremely pleasant. We appreciate that you liked our new decor and took advantage of all that our fantastic location has to offer. Our team works exceptionally hard to provide a supremely comfortable environment for all of our guests and it is great to know that was done for you. We look forward to welcoming you back any time your travels bring you to Washington DC.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 6 nights at Loews Madison Hotel in DC last week. We had a wonderful experience at Loews. We requested a quiet room on a high floor and a very nice quad room with 2 queen size beds on the 14th floor had been held for us by Mozi and Tobi at the front desk. When we arrived at the hotel on Sunday evening, we were greeted by an extremely friendly staff and Naveed checked us in within a few minutes and gave us our breakfast coupons, which were already prepared with our names on them. The hotel lobby is elegant, comfortable, and inviting.

The room was stylish and extremely clean, relatively spacious for a downtown DC hotel, with very comfortable beds, efficient AC, and a large and bright bathroom with lots of towels and nice toiletry. Above all, it was very quiet. There was also a Keurig coffee maker in the room with a nice selection of coffee and tea. Since there are no ice machines on the floors we called room service for ice and they provided us with ice and additional coffee very fast. The free WiFi in the room was also very helpful.

The restaurant was very nice and elegant and the continental breakfast included a nice variety of breakfast items such as OJ, coffee/tea, bagels, toast & preserves, and cereals. One recommendation for the hotel is to have a list of continental breakfast items, which would make the ordering easier and faster. Frank, the restaurant manger was simply outstanding. He and his crew were extremely friendly and made us feel at home. As I said earlier, the hotel staff is really nice, professional, responsive, and helpful. They helped us with all our needs.

We did not have a car but the cab fare from the Reagan airport to the hotel was $20 including the tip (~4.5 miles). The hotel location is great and is within walking distance to all the DC monuments, museums, and the White House. We had no problem in getting to the places we wanted to see and the Dupont Circle is also about 10 minutes walk with lots of restaurants. If you like Mediterranean food and Kabobs, there is a great restaurant at 1300 Connecticut Avenue called Moby Dick, House of Kabobs (not fancy but very nice food) with great chicken, beef, lamb kabobs served with either well prepared basmati rice or delicious bread baked at the restaurant and a variety of salads. Their prices are very reasonable for such a wonderful and high quality food. Highly recommended. If you decide to go to Georgetown there is no Metro directly going there, so you can either take a cab or a Circulator Bus within a block from the hotel. Very convenient.

We really enjoyed staying at Loews Madison Hotel in DC and we sincerely thank the hotel staff and management for making our DC vacation trip a wonderful experience and make us feel at home. We will stay at Loews Madison on our future trips to DC and we highly recommend it.

Parviz M.
San Diego, CA

Room Tip: Request a quiet room on a high floor looking at the courtyard. Our room on the 14th floor was extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParvizM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear ParvizM2013,
Thank you so much for the kind words and for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are delighted to hear how wonderful your experience was. From the friendly service on arrival to the exceptionally clean room, it was our pleasure to host you as our guest. We have recognized those team members who you mentioned specifically and they were excited to know that they made such an impact during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

I usually like the more funky Kimpton hotels but since my meeting was being held at the Madison I decided to stay here. The hotel is classy but not dated. Staff was fantastic! I was upgraded to a penthouse room, which was actually just a larger than normal room, nothing too fancy but still very nice. the room overlooked the inner courtyard and i slept like a dream. it was very quiet. Meeting rooms are a little noisy with street sounds.
The workout facility was a little disappointing. Three treadmills, 2 older cross trainers, and a few weights. For best workout facility it is definitely the Capital Hilton. There is a fun eclectic restaurant walking distance from hotel called The Pig. They specialize in pork & bacon dishes (of course) as well as had great cocktails.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2travelingscientists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear 2travelingscientists,
Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay at the Loews Madison Hotel. We are delighted that you had the opportunity to experience all that our location and wonderful hotel have to offer. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding our hotel interior and rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews Madison Hotel any time your travels bring you to Washington DC.


Kind regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. Room is big enough, good size bathroom too. Improvements to be done: take out the carpet and put a nice, clean, healthy wood floor; put a fan in the bathroom; change the mattress with a better quality one. They never fill up the fridge, even when we asked the reception to remind them; although I have no problem to pay for service, I consider that 12.50 $ for a 50 ml bottle of Glenlivet from the room fridge it is a shame!

Room Tip: We had a room with the windows to the main street and the city did a lot of work with heavy and nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spirituscapirai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear spirituscaparai,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are glad to see that you enjoyed our superb location just steps from all that DC has to offer. We appreciate your thoughts from your stay as it is feedback like yours that helps us to continually improve the service we provide our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews Madison Hotel soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
958 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing