We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #78 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived at the Loews Madison at 9:00PM. Someone took us to our room and when he opened the door, we only saw 1 bed. We booked this room way in advance (March) and we booked a Deluxe room with 2 Queen Beds. When we told this man about the mistake, he immediately said to us that this is the last room available and if we didn't like it, we have to go to another hotel. We asked him to check with the front desk. Again he said that it wouldn't make a difference, because he already knew what they would say…no more rooms available and move to another hotel. We told him that we have the confirmation about the 2 Queen Beds but he told us that if we made our reservation at Booking.com or Expedia (this is where we booked), the hotel can't guarantee the room. So, in our case travelling with 2 kids (13 & 15 years old), we just have to take this room with 1 bed. We asked him where he thought we would sleep then. He answered that he could arrange for 1 extra bed and the last person would have to find a place to sleep. Well, there was no sofa in the room. I guess he meant in a chair. Of course, we didn't accept that. He would make it better by giving us a free breakfast for the 3 nights we would be staying there. Well, that still didn't solve the problem with the sleeping arrangements. When I said to him that we've booked with Expedia for many years without problems, he said and I quote…"well, you're a guest, so I can't say that you're lying but it's not true". So he did call me a liar. That's so rude!! We told him we wanted to go to the front desk and discuss this matter with them. He wasn't pleased, but we went downstairs. A friendly man helped us further and while he was talking to us, another man came up to us and said there's nothing available. I'm sure he was the one the bell boy was on the phone with. Anyway, the man who was helping us told him to leave him alone. He would figure out something. After a few minutes (looking at the computer), he told us he changed a group reservation, because they hadn't specifically asked about a room with 2 Queen Beds. So we could have that room. Yeah, right!! We booked this room and now we can finally have this room. By this time it was already 10:00PM. The same bell boy took us up to the room and said we passed up on the best room in the hotel, by not taking the other room. Well, why would that be the best room. We're a party of 4 and it only could take 2 people. Rude, rude, rude!!
The room was clean, although the bathroom was quite small. We've stayed at cheaper hotels where the bathroom was a lot bigger.
One night when we got back to the hotel, the door man had already opened the front door for other guests, but instead of saying "good evening" to the guests and to us, he just ignored everyone and kept on talking to his colleagues. We said "good evening", but he was too busy. All in all, we will never go back to this hotel. It's convenient for walking to the White House, but there are plenty hotels in the same area. Parking is $50 a night. The rude staff really ruined this stay for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doepie1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We would like to express our deepest apologies for the various service mishaps you experienced during your recent stay. We are very saddened to hear how the situation regarding your room reservation was handled. I can assure you these are not our standards and this was not the typical Loews Madison Hotel level of service. I will be reaching out to you directly so we can work to resolve these issues and regain your trust in Loews Madison Hotel. I hope to speak with you soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,311 - 1,317 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Madison is one of my favorite luxury hotels in DC. It offers a combination of traditional elegance with stylish furnishings throughout the hotel. Your experience begins with the professional and very knowledgable doormen who set the tone for the stay. The rooms are luscious and plush, complete with bedroom slippers and robes, the way a luxury hotel should be!

The area closes down quite early so you may need to walk a few blocks to get to restaurants. bars, shopping etc. A CVS is just around the block for good convenience.

The hotel seems to be aware of current affairs and events and provides materials and gifts accordingly (at least for the time I was there). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2MillionMileMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear 2MillionMileMan,
Thank you! We appreciate your time in reviewing our property and for the positive comments regarding your stay. We pride ourselves in offering friendly and efficient customer service and we are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Loews Madison Hotel.


Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After previously staying at The Fairmont, Sofitel and Mandarin Hotel we decided to try at The Loews Madison after reading about the recent renovations and value for money. We stayed in an Executive King Terrace room on the 15th floor.

The "welcome" to the hotel was not good.

When we arrived on Wednesday night in our rental car, there was no-one at all to greet us outside or to help unload our luggage. Only after we went to look for someone inside did a staff member appear. Inside, there was only one person on duty at the front desk, and he proceeded to answer the phone as soon as we approached. The call took well over 5 minutes. The seeming shortage of staff was a constant theme during our entire 4 day stay. We left and returned to the hotel at least 3 times per day. Each time there was a queue at the front desk, with front desk personnel either on the phone or staring intently at the computer screens.
In addition, we had at least 3 calls a day to the front desk go completely unanswered. On one of the days the wifi had gone down, and it took over an hour just for the front desk to confirm that IT was working on it.
Breakfast at the Postscript restaurant was hit and miss. The food was generally good, but staff were difficult to attract to our table. On 3 of the 4 days we were shown to our table, not given menus and then left to sit there for 5-10 minutes. On 2 days I had to get up to find our server.
One of the elevators must have been out of order (it was stuck on level G throughout our stay).

The room itself was pretty good. Huge terrace, but with no real view (looked onto the National Association of House Builders building). The décor is stylish, and bed very comfortable. The TV has loads of channels, but is small and difficult to see from the bed. The bathroom was very small, with good shower but no tub. The glass door to the shower had dropped on the hinges, so couldn't shut. The air conditioning was effective, but very noisy.

Overall, our impression was one of an average hotel. Would neither recommend nor dissuade people from staying there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear SussexCpl,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your stay with us last month. We appreciate your feedback and are certainly looking at all the opportunities that you mentioned. We hope you will give us the opportunity to host you again when your travels bring you back to Washington DC.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We were impressed!
We went back to Washington DC after 2 years to take a closer look at the Museums. This time we stayed at Loews Madison. I had reservations about staying a bit further from the museums than where we were 2 years ago. Despite this, I was banking on the reputation of the Loews Chain of hotels and continued with the choice of this hotel. I was justified in my selection of accommodations. To add a bit of difficulty..this time we brought our 11-month old toy poodle who was quite welcome at the hotel. She was given treats and a dog bowl and mat. Loews did love pets!
We arrived at 3AM after a tedious trip of Long island. And we were quickly checked in. Our room was on the 7th floor facing 15th Street. Great view! The shower was clean and the bathroom sink was well lighted. The bed was quite comfortable (one of my hotel standard gauges) There were electrical sockets all around (which was good!) and an ipod charger/radio as well on the night stand. Another one of my gauges is the coffee maker. Loews uses a keurig in the room and Emil Largasses Easy Bold blend for coffee (K cups) and Emil's "Jazzed up" (K-cups) for decaf. Again Loews did not disappoint. Two trash cans side by side indicated where the recyclables should go and where we should place the non recylable trash. Despite being steps away from the elevator, our room on the 7th floor was quiet.
Location - Location - Location. this hotel is one block away from a CVS Pharmacy (Vermont Street) were one can obtain groceries for our little 5 night sojourn into Washington DC. Also, one block away was Pizza Autentica down 15th Avenue..and another block down was a Starbucks. Across the street from the Starbucks coffee shop is Cosi Bread for breakfast. Two blocks down M Street is the National Geographic Museum. In the opposite direction of M Street (toward CVS) is the Thomas Circle - a small park (where we walk our dog everyday) where one can see The National City Christian Church
The Federalist Bar was under renovation so my daughter and I sampled their coffee shop called PostScript . My daughter , a precocious 11 year old, recommends the hot chocolate.
The staff is amazing. they made us feel relaxed and are quite friendly greeting me by name in the morning (during my daily unpleasant task of walking our dog). Kudos to German the Concierge whose restaurant recommendation was spot on! and the doorman Jose in the lobby who knew what to do during the rain (Loews Umbrella of course!!) and how much a taxi to the museums where.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eugene712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear eugene712,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our genuinely friendly service as much as our wonderfully convenient location. We appreciate the kind words about Jose and German, both of who have already been recognized for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews Madison Hotel again soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a short business trip. The property is well located with a subway station nearby and a number of good restaurants to choose from. The rooms are good sized and well appointed. Everyone on the hotel staff was friendly and helpful from the front desk to the concierge. I previously stayed at the ritz Carlton in dc, which is very nice hotel. However, this hotel, at a much lower room rate, is a better value and I was just as comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bshutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear bshutts,
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to review our property from your recent stay. Our team members pride themselves on providing genuine hospitality in a warm and inviting manner. We are glad that you agreed about their friendly nature as well as mentioning our superb location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel several years ago for work and loved it. I wanted to stay here with my family but wasn't sure how it would be with kids. It was fantastic! The staff is amazing and helpful! They have greeted us by name each morning. The room is clean and modern. Before our arrival, I called to ask for a crib in the room and they asked what time my flight was getting in. We arrived at 11am and the room was ready for us to check in and the crib was already in the room. Everything about this hotel feels clean and modern. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRaegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear KRaegan,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us from your recent stay at the Loews Madison Hotel. We are excited to hear how wonderful your stay was and that we were able to surpass all of your expectations. Our team strives to provide genuine hospitality to create lasting memories for all of our guests. It sounds like we accomplished that for your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Loews Madison Hotel very soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

A fabulously decorated hotel (lobby and rooms) with wonderful welcoming staff (the door man even refused a tip at one point)! Has a nice calm, serene feel and very stylish and urban design. Loved the attached restaurant with outdoor seating for drinks.

Rooms were very spacious and well-appointed. Loved the balcony with views of the city but it was so hot that we could not take advantage of this outdoor space.

Great location - we were able to walk to the White House and Washington Memorial in 10 minutes and to a few highly-rated local foodie restaurants, such as The Pig. Didn't have breakfast or eat in the hotel restaurant so can not comment.

It is worth the money in my view. My one complaint is that the Housekeeping seem to finish early and did not always turn down the room. This would not normally be an issue, other than that we were in a suite with one adult using the sofa-bed and this was not made up daily, meaning that after dinner, we would have to come back and pull out the bed. It also meant that there was no replacement of water and coffee sachets etc for the next morning. However, it was quickly rectified each time we called but had to remind them on a daily basis.

Just a minor call out. Otherwise, this is a very cool and comfortable luxury hotel in DC,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimSP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Director of Rooms at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Dear SimSP1,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and how wonderful you felt our team members were. We strive everyday to exceed our guests expectations and provide that home away from home feel. We are excited to know that we accomplished this with your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Warm regards,
Justin Adam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,698 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $125 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing