We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great if you want a comfortable stay in Downtown DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #89 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Summary: We stayed here for a weekend in june. The Madison is a very nice DC hotel which provide you with everything you need for your DC stay.

Check-in and reception: We arrived by taxi from Union Station. No problems at all. Our bags where promptly taken care of as we arrived. Check-in was quick and easy. Did not have to present passport (as you usually have to in Europe). We had a Newseum package and our tickets where given to us at check-in. The receptionist was kind and efficient, but a bit cold.

Room: We had a double double at the top floor. Room was clean and pretty spacious (we had the smaller kind of room, deluxe). Air condition was efficient and did not give us the usual aircon-cough. Bed were comfortable but may be a bit too firm for some. Bathroom-amenities, mini-bar and room equipment met expectations. The towels were huge and very soft. We only got one bathrobe, though. We were supposed to have NYTimes delivered to our room, but that did not happen. Newspapers are available in the lobby.

Breakfast (@ postscript restaurant): Breakfast was included in our room package. Postscript serves a great a la carte breakfast. We had omeletes on day one and a breakfast BLT with eggs on day 2. Both were very good. Good coffee and great orange juice. The give you a coffee to go as you leave, which is a nice touch. A very pleasant start of our two days in DC.

Restaurant (the Federalist): We ate at the hotel restaurant one of the nights. A very good experience (see separate review here: )

Location: The hotel is located in Downtown DC. If you plan on spending a lot of time in Georgetown, you might want to consider a different hotel. If your main purpose is visiting locations such as the WH, the national mall and the Smithsonian, the madison is perfect.

Check-out: Quick and efficient. The made a mistake at postscript and charged us for breakfast. That was quickly taken care of by the receptionist.

Service: The piccolo was a very nice and good-humoured guy. The receptionists were a bit colder. We asked for a late check-out at 3 PM, but only got 1 PM free of charge.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are facing the interior, while luxury rooms have street view. No noise in our top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariusmyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate you taking the time to detail your experience and are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Loews Madison Hotel! We are also glad you had the opportunity to try PostScript and the Federalist restaurant. We do apologize the newspaper was not delivered to your room and that we were not able to honor your request for a late check out at 3pm. We hope to see you again soon upon your return to the area!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel was fine, it was a great location for us as we were attending National Geographic functions for several days. Our usual hotel was booked, and the Madison turned out to be a bit nicer. Be sure to ask if there is a discount you qualify for, or it may also be a bit more expensive.

Room Tip: higher floors may be quieter, but the AC noise was present on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colduser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel during your recent trip to Washington DC! We are thrilled that you found our location convenient. We appreciate your comments and hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.
Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Madison hotel is located in the city centar, just a few blocks from the White House.
I was expecting luxury hotel, but it is actually good 4* business hotel.
Ok rooms, nothing extra.
Overall, I was not disappointed nor thrilled.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankyslav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Our staff is fully committed to providing guests with a relaxing, invigorating experience and we hope to better assist you during your next stay at Loews Madison Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Staying at the Loews Madison Hotel was one of the worst experiences ever. The stay was part of a short vacation where we wanted to see the highlights of Philadelphia and Washington. In Philadelphia we stayed at a 3 ½ stars downtown hotel and had nothing to complain about.
We booked this hotel in Washington because it was close to the White House and the Mall and because we wanted to experience what it feels like to stay at a 4 ½ stars hotel in the middle of the Capital City of the USA. We booked a room for three and thought that the number of stars was a guarantee for a satisfactory stay. Unfortunately we were wrong.
It all started during the check in. While the check in time was posted as 4:00 pm, the room was ready only much later in the evening. We found out at the reception that we must pay $50 per night for parking; this was not disclosed at the time of booking. Lastly, while the booking was for three persons, we only received two coupons for the complimentary continental breakfast. The reception staff told us that this is the standard offering and the third person should pay for breakfast.
In the mornings we had to wait for a while to get a table in the dining area. The complimentary breakfast offering consisted of only one drink (coffee, or tea) and toast or croissant with butter and jam. The breakfast was very small. We saw the bill, if we were to pay for the meal, the cost would have been more than $15 per person.
We stayed at the hotel for two nights. During the limited time we were in the lobby, or at the restaurant we heard quite a few times the staff apologize to unhappy customers. It did not feel like a well-run hotel and seemed that they wanted to nickel and dime their customers for everything. Our final bill even included gratuity for the disappointing complimentary breakfast at 15% of the regular price!
I recommend avoiding this hotel. The rating is way too high, I think it shouldn’t be more than 3 stars, though this may do grave injustice to the lower rated hotels that provide more value for the money. I hope the hotel management takes a hard look at how they run the business otherwise the business will dry out quickly. I will never return there and will advise everyone I know not to stay at the Loews Madison hotel.

Room Tip: Highest level, room with windows towards the street, not inside yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We appreciate your review and sincerely regret that you did not enjoy your stay at Loews Madison Hotel. We strive to provide the best possible combination of comfort, quality and value and are disappointed that you did not experience the high service standards we are known for. We are sorry to hear your room was not was ready upon arrival and that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience. We look forward to regaining your trust in Loews Madison Hotel upon your return to the area.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If I was here on business, I think this place gets five stars. It gets four because I was here on vacation and its relative location to all of the DC attractions (and lack of proximity to a Metro station) made getting around a pain for the four nights we stayed here. Additionally, it's in a major business area and completely shuts down on the weekend. We were a $10 cab ride to the action on U Street or Dupont Circle.

Now that the negatives are out of the way, this is still an amazing hotel. Beautifully decorated. We had an upgraded "penthouse" room, which wasn't really a penthouse, but was on the top floor and was slightly larger than a standard room. Everything was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was larger than my one at home (dual vanities and a walk in shower that could hold four people with ease).

Additionally, the conference spaces are excellent and the restaurant serves pretty decent (if pricey) food. I would definitely recommend the Madison to anyone who has business in the DC area and it's a good place to be during the week. But if you're looking for nightlife and the ability to walk everywhere, I would recommend something over by DuPont Circle.

Room Tip: If you can get a penthouse upgrade, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geiszlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked for one night as a stay over to break up driving, the reservations were made through a third party site and prepaid. One would expect for such a high priced "King Deluxe Room" one would have a functional Air conditioners that does not sound like your sleeping next to a swamp full of crickets. One would also expect some sort of "comp" of something (breakfast, in room juice, etc) everything had a price tag and a hefty one too boot! All in room mini bar items that had an expiration date were indeed expired by 4 months and even had curdled juices present.They asked for a debit card to keep on file for "security" and promised no funds would be touched, LIES!!! They would put a freeze on $255.00 of my money resulting in over draft fees in my account, so I was forced to drive home to New York with no money and unable to use my card the entire trip due to their holds knowing the room has been prepaid prior to visit. Valet drivers greeted us by opening my trunk and started rummaging through my belongings and removing them without saying a word or asking approval, not an overall fan! Upon check out we were informed we had to pay $50.00 to retrieve my car from valet and NO ONE had us sign off saying we acknowledged this fee let alone made it known upon arrival, completely deceitful!

Sum this visit up, Hotel is in excellent location and the bartender Kyle is top notch but needless to say i will NOT be returning to the Madison in DC and will NOT be recommending this hotel to anyone. In The end the valet fee was waived and the freeze on my account was dropped the next business day but still doesn't change the fact the entire stay in DC and ride back to New York we had no money due to their holds. Loews Madison Hotel, shame on you

Room Tip: Rooms are small, do not expect to add additional guest else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

We are very sorry to hear about your recent negative experience. We strive to provide the best possible combination of comfort, quality and value and are disappointed that you did not experience the high service standards we strive to uphold. We will be reaching out to you directly in hopes of regaining your trust in Loews Madison Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent hotel! Rooms and meeting spaces were wonderful. The location was great. We were able to walk to restaurants and to the White House.

We held a meeting here and everyone on the staff was very friendly and willing to help.

I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure. I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Ashley, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Loews Madison Hotel and its central location. We also appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff and newly renovated guest and meeting rooms. We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
214 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
3,204 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $103 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing