We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, but Dead Area on Weekends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, but Dead Area on Weekends”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

If I was here on business, I think this place gets five stars. It gets four because I was here on vacation and its relative location to all of the DC attractions (and lack of proximity to a Metro station) made getting around a pain for the four nights we stayed here. Additionally, it's in a major business area and completely shuts down on the weekend. We were a $10 cab ride to the action on U Street or Dupont Circle.

Now that the negatives are out of the way, this is still an amazing hotel. Beautifully decorated. We had an upgraded "penthouse" room, which wasn't really a penthouse, but was on the top floor and was slightly larger than a standard room. Everything was clean, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was larger than my one at home (dual vanities and a walk in shower that could hold four people with ease).

Additionally, the conference spaces are excellent and the restaurant serves pretty decent (if pricey) food. I would definitely recommend the Madison to anyone who has business in the DC area and it's a good place to be during the week. But if you're looking for nightlife and the ability to walk everywhere, I would recommend something over by DuPont Circle.

Room Tip: If you can get a penthouse upgrade, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geiszlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,093
    721
    247
    93
    63
See reviews for
550
550
80
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spackenkill, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We booked for one night as a stay over to break up driving, the reservations were made through a third party site and prepaid. One would expect for such a high priced "King Deluxe Room" one would have a functional Air conditioners that does not sound like your sleeping next to a swamp full of crickets. One would also expect some sort of "comp" of something (breakfast, in room juice, etc) everything had a price tag and a hefty one too boot! All in room mini bar items that had an expiration date were indeed expired by 4 months and even had curdled juices present.They asked for a debit card to keep on file for "security" and promised no funds would be touched, LIES!!! They would put a freeze on $255.00 of my money resulting in over draft fees in my account, so I was forced to drive home to New York with no money and unable to use my card the entire trip due to their holds knowing the room has been prepaid prior to visit. Valet drivers greeted us by opening my trunk and started rummaging through my belongings and removing them without saying a word or asking approval, not an overall fan! Upon check out we were informed we had to pay $50.00 to retrieve my car from valet and NO ONE had us sign off saying we acknowledged this fee let alone made it known upon arrival, completely deceitful!

Sum this visit up, Hotel is in excellent location and the bartender Kyle is top notch but needless to say i will NOT be returning to the Madison in DC and will NOT be recommending this hotel to anyone. In The end the valet fee was waived and the freeze on my account was dropped the next business day but still doesn't change the fact the entire stay in DC and ride back to New York we had no money due to their holds. Loews Madison Hotel, shame on you

Room Tip: Rooms are small, do not expect to add additional guest else where
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your recent negative experience. We strive to provide the best possible combination of comfort, quality and value and are disappointed that you did not experience the high service standards we strive to uphold. We will be reaching out to you directly in hopes of regaining your trust in Loews Madison Hotel.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Excellent hotel! Rooms and meeting spaces were wonderful. The location was great. We were able to walk to restaurants and to the White House.

We held a meeting here and everyone on the staff was very friendly and willing to help.

I would highly recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure. I hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLoewsMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Ashley, we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay at Loews Madison Hotel and its central location. We also appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff and newly renovated guest and meeting rooms. We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

When I first entered my room, I thought, eh, this room seems fine, but, then I laid down on the bed. Wow, great pillows, great bed, I slept extremely well. The bathroom was quite nice as well, marble, great shower/water pressure. They only negative was the way the door was situated with the shower head it was pretty much impossible to avoid getting water all of the floor when entering the shower. The staff was nice, I did not interact with them that much with the exception of checking in and and checking out - which was fast, I always appreciate a quick check out where they email you the receipt. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Champuga81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Conveniently located just outside of the city but still near The White House, this hotel was a joy to come back to and the end of our busy days. Everyone on the staff were friendly, attentive, and always had a smile on their faces. Clean room, very nice bars. Would definitely stay here again and have already recommended to friends

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieJ718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

As other reviewers have noted, the Madison has an exceptionally friendly and professional staff. The rooms are an interesting blend of boutique hotel furniture with many classic Washington, DC touches. Excellent wines by the glass at the hotel bar as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TouringLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We couldn't be happier to hear that you found our staff to be welcoming and professional. Our guest rooms were recently renovated and we did try to incorporate the feel and history of Washington D.C. into the decor. We hope you will come back to visit us again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
1 review
Reviewed June 9, 2013

EVERYONE at the hotel is service oriented. You are greeted outside the door by the most personable and professional staff and that same friendliness is experienced throughout the hotel. The room was immaculate and well-maintained. Top quality linens throughout. A nice large bathroom and a spacious bedroom to relax in after a long day of sightseeing. We initially had trouble operating the coffee pot, and they quickly brought up a fresh pot, courtesy of the hotel. The concierges on duty helped make the trip most memorable: A big thank you to Kaeuthau R. She was extremely patient and her insight and recommendations were the icing
on the cake. We especially like using public transportation but are unfamiliar; and with the help of the concierges we managed to master it, even venturing outside the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_R32147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We try our best to make our guests feel welcome and we're ecstatic to hear about your positive experiences with our staff. Using public transportation in a new city can indeed be challenging and we're glad that our concierge was able to assist you. We appreciate your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel very soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
956 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing