We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, clean hotel, good location and friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice, clean hotel, good location and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel, as we were attending a conference. It is about a 10 - 15min walk to the convention centre. The rooms are spacious and clean. Rooms contain a nice coffee pod machine. Good location, but no metro stops close by. Staff are helpful and friendly. Free wifi available in the rooms. There is also a small gym. The bar attached to the hotel - The Federalist is great. Good cocktails and drinks and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anabab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
We're glad to have been your hotel of choice during your recent conference. While the fastest way to get to the Convention Center is to walk, McPherson Square metro is located 2 blocks away and provides easy access to many other nearby attractions. We're thrilled that you enjoyed the bar at the Federalist and hope to see you again upon your return to the area.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    690
    235
    92
    60
See reviews for
524
537
78
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
adelaide
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was the first time we have stayed at this hotel. First the positives - beautiful hotel and rooms, very comfortable accommodation, great facilities. When we arrived though the doorman (an elderly gentleman) was extremely antagonistic. When we were unloading our bags from our car he was shocked and annoyed that we wanted to handle our own suitcases! I explained to him they were heavy and two cases contained fragile items. When I asked to use the trolley he refused, stating it was "against the hotel rules" - I couldn't believe it, immediately entering into an extended argument with him in front of the hotel we were about to stay in for 5 nights. My wife managed to contact a manager (I assume) inside the hotel who told the doorman to allow me to use the luggage trolley. The ridiculous actions of one employee was the only downside to our otherwise fantastic stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Everything was ready when we checked in. We were warmly welcomed by the front desk and our room was immaculate. A hotel that I would return to on my next visit to Washington DC. All of the staff that I encountered from the doorman to the wait staff was wonderful. Everything was handled in a professional and friendly manner. Emphases on the FRIENDLY. The dining experience was the same excellent food at good prices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach
Level Contributor
114 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

From the time you are greeted at the front door to check in everyone and everything in this hotel is PERFECT. We stay here often and look forward to the little touches the staff does. Nothing is ever a chore! So many wonderful Staff-some of the OUTSTANDING ones are Romeo-Maureen-Scott and Innocent, to mention a few. They along with the rest of the staff make this hotel what it is!!!

Room Tip: Love the 14th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Doslocosguyspvrmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was a nice hotel. Concierge on duty all the time. (unlike other Washington hotels where I stayed) We were immediately set up with a wonderful tour for our first full day and reservations were made for dinner that night by Innocent G. The rooms are nice and big and the bathroom was really nice. Large with granite counters. The large desk chair which they rave about is too much. Too close to the bed and we got a couple of toe stubs. Just move the chair though. Took us a couple of times to realize this. lol.

A coffee shop, Le Caribou, is directly across the street from the hotel and it's great. Pizza Authentica is a half a block from the hotel and it was very satisfying. Wish we had gone there the first night rather than to Bar Code which was twice as expensive, and a bit farther to walk. If you are interested there is also a liquor store within a couple of blocks. I know I am always interested. Unfortunately the hotel has no ice machines. We were informed of this immediately by the bellhop who took our luggage to our rooms. He said that all we had to do was to call room service and they would bring the ice. Of course they would also be looking for a tip. I would much prefer ice machines on every floor. We never used the service so I don't know if they actually were good about getting the ice right to you.

A CVS is pretty close. We made a few trips there. The hotel is close enough to the back of the White House to walk, although it seemed like more than the four blocks they say it is. All in all the hotel was very nice. It's in a good location and I would recommend it. I would also stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street, and on an upper floor. We were not in a good location in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stellagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Spent a lovely week at this hotel. Room was lovely, staff were lovely too especially the doormen! The only grumble i would have is that we had an interior facing room and the air conditioning units located in the yard were very noisy and often woke me up in the night. Food at the hotel was good but quite expensive for what it was

Helpful?
Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
We're thrilled to hear about your pleasant experience during your recent stay! We understand that the noise from our air conditioners can be distracting and we are currently looking into a solution. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent 7 days in Washington DC and the hotel was ideal, in a good location within walking distance of the White House. The staff were very friendly and on our arrival the bellboy was very helpful, telling us where the nearest supermarket was and the best place to have breakfast. The only downside was that we had an interior room which look over the air conditioning and the air conditioning was very noisy in the room, had to turn it off a night,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel during your recent trip to Washington DC! We're delighted to hear that you found our staff to be attentive and helpful. We appreciate your feedback regarding the AC units and are currently looking into the issue. We hope to see you again soon upon your return to the area!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing