We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good stay”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived around midnight and was very worried about overbooking. However, check in was a breeze and they took our bags to our room for us so we could get a dinner order in before the kitchen closed. The bartender at the Federalist was great. Super friendly and made recommendations for other places to go after they closed. The room itself was nice. Clean and adequately sized. They didn't give us a key to the minibar. Our view was also terrible, but we booked the cheapest room so I can't complain. The hotel was in walking distance of plenty of places to eat, able to walk to the White House and monuments, and close to the Metro too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em5585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,091
    720
    247
    93
    63
See reviews for
548
550
80
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly Hills, California, USA
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a week, and the staff was fantastic, from the doormen, front desk, to the bartenders. We had some slight issues on our first night, but the hotel was quick to fix and ensure the rest of our stay was perfect. We even received an apology cheese plate, which was a very nice touch. The location was fantastic. Literally 5 blocks from the White House. The restaurant served a great breakfast and even made me a custom meal (I'm a bit picky) and dinner was even better dinner. (My mom, said her salmon was one of the best she's ever had) The beds and pillows were beyond comfortable and our room was clean and very nice sized. I would 100% stay here again, and would reco anyone heading to DC stay at this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Severn, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at The Madison at the beginning of April. The room was gorgeous and well appointed. Check in was quick and easy. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Valet parking staff were again friendly and efficient. The hotel's location was excellent. Walking distance to the museums and there was a coffee shop right across the street. We will definitely choose The Madison again if we find ourselves in DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WaubChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted that you enjoyed your experience at Loews Madison Hotel. Our guest rooms were recently renovated so it's always wonderful to hear positive feedback about the new decor. We appreciate your five star review and can't wait to welcome you back to Washington D.C.!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ironwood, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Clean, located very easily to walking distance of many attractions, staff friendly and helpful, concierge is very helpful and always available...restaurant was wonderful at breakfast and at dinner...this hotel made this a great trip.. I only wished there had been a jacuzzi available...thank-you all

Room Tip: The room I had did not have a good view at all...was the H-vac cooling/heating system...but kept cur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank culaugh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
It was our pleasure - we're honored to have hosted you! We're thrilled that you enjoyed our downtown location and found our Concierge helpful. While most of our Deluxe Rooms are interior facing, our Luxury and Executive Rooms feature cityscape views and may be of interest during your next stay. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will visit Loews Madison Hotel again upon your return to DC!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miltown
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at The Madison for 4 nights in the beginning of April. The front desk staff was very friendly as well as the bartenders in the hotel. However , our room had a horrible view of the Hvac system and when we asked right away to be moved they said they had no other rooms. The door to our room was broken. It looked liked someone had kicked it open because the locks barely worked. The room overall was clean but there were some noticeable stains on the chair and floor. The bed was not what you would expect from a hotel with that rating. The mattress was sinking in and squeaky. The paper was never delivered on a daily basis as promised. When we check in the concierge explained to us that we could have k-cups whenever we requested them. However, my husband called to request more and we waited over an hour (while showering and getting dressed) and no one ever brought them to us. During our stay no one checked in on us to see how we were, or if we needed anything. We travel often, and are from the Chicago area. We have stayed in many hotels that have received the same rating as The Madison. However, I just don't feel like this hotel matched the service we had expected to receive. No price menu for the mini bar either ??
Good location, easy walking distance to almost anything.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for your review, Allison. We're sorry to hear about the housekeeping oversights in your guest room. We try to make each stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible and we regret to hear about the various inconveniences you endured. We will be reaching out to you directly to further discuss the issues you experienced.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

I came with my husband for the weekend. The front desk was very friendly and accommodating. I arrived early and was afraid I would have to sit around but they had a room available and let me check in. I was thrilled! The rooms are modern but small. White duvet on the bed and the normal flat screen tv,etc. The bathrooms were also very modern and CLEAN but extremely small! I am a small girl so I don't really know how a large person could utilize this space.
The only negative thing I can say and it's actually funny is - I was heading out the front door and apparently there was a celebrity walking out as well..well the front door staff moved quickly to help her and they must have forgot that there was someone else walking out the door because it practically slammed in my face... no biggy they were probably excited.
Room service was just ok..the salad was blah with no taste, but the crabcake was really good.
The breakfast was really good at the restaurant.
I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslierapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We're glad that you and your husband enjoyed your time in DC! Being able to check in early is always a nice surprise and we're thrilled that your room was ready upon your arrival. We're sorry to hear that your bathroom felt small, however we do offer larger bathrooms in our Executive Rooms and Suites. We appreciate your review and thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nantucket
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2013

our family trip to the madison was all we could have hoped for: beautiful and luxurious rooms, helpful and attentive staff, an incredible location and a fair price for the level of appointment....everything was top notch, including the food at the federalist (literal best burger of my life, plus some delicious more refined fare as well). the only caveat i'd offer is to put up the do not disturb sign if you want to sleep in as house keeping gets an early start. basically, though, a home run.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielfrasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
It sounds like you had a fabulous time during your recent stay! The burger at the Federalist is one of our favorites as well - you should also try the Braised Pork Shoulder sandwich, another popular choice. We're thrilled that you enjoyed our downtown location and found our staff to be helpful. We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,650 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
952 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,272 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing