We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed at the Loews Madison Hotel on business recently. Rooms were spacious and clean with nice appointments. I believe this was an older hotel that was updated to a modern boutique-style. Staff was friendly/helpful and the hotel was in a central location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NY_Huns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

You're right - while the Madison has been around for over 50 years, we recently underwent a large renovation and redesigned everything including our lobby, guest rooms, meeting spaces and suites. We're ecstatic to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed our central, downtown location. We thank you for your kind words and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

After some initial confusion was resolved regarding the adjoining rooms we had requested, we had a lovely stay here. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the rooms were spotless, and room service was prompt. When we needed little extras in our room (coffee pods for the keurig, a cot) these were delivered promptly, with a smile. Although pricey, the dinner we had in the hotel dining room was fresh and well prepared, When I found out the hotel was taken over by Loews I was leery, since we had had a bad experience with the chain, but everything met or exceeded expectations.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank Hppycmprgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thank you for your five star review! We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our newly renovated decor and in-room amenities. We realize it's the "little extras" that go a long way in making a getaway as relaxing and comfortable as possible. We look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoyed this small hotel. My room was a nice size for a big city hotel, very clean, and completely quiet. The elevators were extremely fast. The staff was very helpful, from the registration desk to the bell desk, to the concierge. I was with a group and we got excellent suggestions from the concierge for restaurants and attractions. Very nice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB5598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

It's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Loews Madison! It was our pleasure to host your group, and we are pleased to find that you received attentive service and helpful recommendations from our staff. We hope to see you again upon your return to the area!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I really like this hotel. It was a great base for our short 3 night stay in DC as it was well located for walking and the Metro to landmarks, museums and restaurant. All the staff are phenomenally friendly, polite, helpful and informative. We really felt that we were welcome and appreciated. The room was very comfortable and clean. I would happily recommend this hotel as a base for a visit to DC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheosWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We are thrilled to hear that you found our staff helpful and enjoyed our central, downtown location. We couldn't be happier that you felt appreciated - your loyalty is invaluable to us! We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a wonderful old fashioned hotel with bell hops, door men, two or three blocks from the Metro. The room was very nice and a huge soaking tub in our room. It was just blocks from the White House and all of the attractions. This is the cleanest hotel I have ever seen. Very good atmosphere and employees. The bar was fast and the food was tasty. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marguerite1300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

We're delighted that you had the chance to visit the White House, one of D.C.'s most remarkable attractions. We're also happy you enjoyed the atmosphere, food and guest room tubs! We appreciate your kind words and can't wait to welcome you back to Loews Madison Hotel upon your return to the area.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Good first: The room, two queen bed, was nicely furnished, not big but had a good amount of space, and was very clean. The hotel itself is an easy trip on the blue line to McPherson Sq from the airport. The Federalist Bar is wonderful. The bartender was nice, speedy, and the food was good. The front desk also let us check in early which was a plesant surprise.

Now the bad: The location. Yes, the hotel is only blocks from the White House, but it is very far away from EVERYTHING else. If youre like me, I went out to see the 'everything else', and spent almost no time at the hotel, I couldve stayed at a closer location for less. The bathroom..okay our bathroom smelled like raw sewage. Wafting odor of grossness. And, it had no working fan. We told the desk..nothing happened. We also called the desk to ask them to reserve show tickets for us and again..they didnt get back to us.

I didnt hate it,didnt love it. I wouldnt stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moynihana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

While we're very glad you enjoyed the decor of your guest room, we sincerely regret to hear about the offensive condition of your bathroom. We meticulously inspect each room prior to guest arrival, and we apologize for any distress this oversight caused you during your stay. We have since resolved the issue and greatly appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here during Pres. Obama's Inguration. I checked in Sunday and checkout Monday. I flew into DCA. I had been to Washington area back in the early 80's so I was excited to see that I could ride the rail line to the are of where this hotel was. That was very convenient and cheap. The hotel was very nice but I wasn't too crazy about the few restaurants around the radius of it. I would have liked better choices. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleRay65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

You certainly picked an exciting time of year to visit DC! The Presidential Inauguration is always one of our favorite traditions. The metro really is convenient and we're glad you were able to take advantage of it. Regarding restaurants, our Concierge has a list of a multitude of nearby, hand-picked dining options. We would love to recommend some wonderful restaurants during your next stay. We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
3,200 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $104 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing