We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #72 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed for 6 nights. The location is very close to the White House. But, the first thing upon arrival was that there weren't any hand towels or wash cloths. In fact, the only day I didn't have to call housekeeping for towels was our last night. There are two restaurants in the hotel, neither of which serves the food in the menu listed in our room. The concierge was difficult to contact. When we booked this hotel, we were told it was 4 1/2 stars. But, maybe that was before it changed ownership two months prior to our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jodiola2323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,092
    720
    247
    93
    63
See reviews for
549
550
80
715
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, USA
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend for a family event and had no complaints. Front desk staff was very friendly, as were the valets and doormen. I probably would not have stayed there if I hadn't gotten a group rate, but it was certainly a nice room and if you were going for tourism, a good location. Parking is expensive, which is not surprising given the location: $40/day + 20% DC parking tax. But at least you can take it in and out of the garage as many times as you want without paying more.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoamingJuggler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This hotel is very confortable and has a very good service and wifi. I was there for a meeting and stayed five nights. It is very close to Washington oficial business and not very far from Dupont Circle. If you take a taxi it will cost 10 dollars or so to go to Georgetown. You can go by subway to Georgetown if you drop at Foggybotton station and walk 15 minutes. I would stay there next time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luiz Antonio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend for the presidential inauguration. It's a terrible time to stay in the city, hotel rates are unbelievable! That said, our room was nice & comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly-- we felt well taken care of.

The food choices in the restaurant were limited, so we usually found other places to eat. Location is decent, but we took cabs more often than we walked.

We were happy with this hotel & would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c4ww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Inauguration is definitely one of the busiest times in D.C. We are honored you chose to spend this historic occasion with Loews Madison! Our staff aims to be as helpful and attentive as possible and we couldn't be happier to hear that you felt taken care of. There is a multitude of restaurant options along 14th street, about three blocks from the hotel. Our concierge is able to provide a list of recommended dining options in the area. We thank you for your feedback and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again soon!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We got a pretty good deal from Priceline. Our rooms are pretty large with 2 queen beds and plenty of pillows (I loved that). Our flight was 2hr delayed, though we arrived the hotel at almost midnight, we finished check-in in 5 mins.

The restaurant staff at hotel lounge were so kind to extend the closing time so that we could get the dinner. He told me to "enjoy the food" and "no need to hurry"...It was a slow weekday and he was happy to stay longer.
I also love the location, it is a walking distance to White house and museums. The hotel is next to Westin which cost a lot higher.

There are CVS, Starbucks and restaurant near the hotel. The breakfast at lobby was good as well.

We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamu_ham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Our bedding and guest rooms were recently updated and we're thrilled that the extra pillows made for a comfortable stay. We're also delighted that you found our central location convenient for sightseeing. We thank you for your feedback and look forward to your return!

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights in March. The location was great, just four blocks north of the White House - a 10 minute walk max, and one block north of a metro stop, however there are not many restaurants / shops in the immediate vicinity. The decor is luxurious and everything looked newly decorated. The room was an average / good size with beautiful furnishings. The room - an internal room - overlooked offices and as a result the room was very dark. We love a bright room, but as we were rarely there it didn't really matter, but be careful what type of room you book if views or light is important. We had room service breakfast which was tasty and on time. The housekeeping was a little hit and miss - the facecloth and body lotion was not replaced for our second day. If you can book this hotel at a good rate, I would recommend it - it's certainly got the special luxury touch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank villadeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We're ecstatic that you enjoyed our location and were able to take advantage of nearby attractions like the White House. All of our guest rooms and suites were recently renovated and we appreciate your kind words regarding the new décor. While our Deluxe rooms are interior facing, our Luxury guest rooms and suites do offer views of 15th street and ample sunlight. We are sorry your body lotion and wash cloth were not replaced on your second day; our front desk is happy to contact housekeeping for amenity replacements should that happen again. We thank you for choosing Loews Madison Hotel and hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for four nights in February. The hotel has been recently renovated. Rooms were quiet, spacious walk in shower, and nicely decorated. Two cozy bars were convenient for a night cap. Staff was accomodating when I had to stay an extra night due to major blizzard. Decent fitness room, steam and sauna.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review, Gary. We're glad you had the opportunity to experience both the Lobby Bar and the Federalist. Our hand crafted cocktail menus are updated seasonally and we hope you will return to sample our newest libations soon. We are very happy you liked the décor of your guest room and look forward to welcoming you back to Loews Madison Hotel soon.

Warm Regards,
Sherry Abedi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,652 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#90 of 141 in Washington DC
955 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,272 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing