We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Very Nice Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #70 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Morristown, NJ
Level Contributor
241 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Very Nice Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My company has a new preferred list of properties and The Madison was my recent choice for a business trip to DC. The location is very convenient to the city and the accommodations excellent. The rooms were VERY QUIET, which is important to me. They were also a nice size, the bathrooms were a little small but so it goes for hotels in a large city other than ultra luxury places. The amenities were very nice. The Loew's staff runs this place like hotels I have experienced in Europe, a very nice, welcoming experience indeed. I look forward to staying at The Madison again when I travel to our nations capital.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevesottl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    992
    645
    210
    89
    55
See reviews for
492
514
71
625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The Madison is a classic downtown DC hotel across from the Washington Post and down the block from the White House. Recently renovated, the rooms are nicely furnished and freshly designed. The hotel offers free papers in the lobby. I happened to stay there the last night of the old ownership and the first day and night of the Loews Hotels tskeover. Loews didn't plan the handover well. The computer system went down in the transition from the old one which meant all hotel Internet and the reservations plus front office data were not available. No WiFi for 20 hours. Upon checkout the system wanted to charge me for the rooms which were prepaid by my travel agency. The hotel had no redundancy so now they have to find the paper reservation in their sea of mess in the office. Other than apologies nothing was resolved as I left to catch a flight. Hotel amenities are fine. Staff are accommodating. But the operations people who may ultimately resolved their major teething pains need to be better trained and give me confidence that they know what they are doing on the corporate and hotel level.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UpperClass1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Shokan, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Got a great deal with the pre-pay option during a weekend stay. The hotel is chic and stylish...the staff members are extremely friendly and service oriented...the downtown location was just perfect for my needs...and just steps away from The White House for those of you wanting to see the sites! Highly recommend for anyone visiting the city or for locals needing a weekend getaway from the everyday.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review, Amanda! Providing excellent service is our highest priority and we're thrilled that you found our staff to be attentive. We're also very happy that you were able to explore downtown Washington, D.C. and visit the White House - that is always a fun and unique experience! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Loews Madison Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta, Europe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the location and the facilities available, but most importantly we found that the service was excellent. We were very well looked after by all the staff we came in contact with and they were charming with it. Nothing was too much trouble and we look forward to returning. Kaeuthan in Concierge, Mariella in Reception and Innocent Chesang made sure we were very comfortable at the hotel and missed nothing of the sights also. Would recommend this hotel any time.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which was large and had plenty of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Madison Hotel is wonderful. There are other wonderful hotels, But there is no equal to the personal service given by every member of the staff to make you feel like a million bucks! What a breath of fresh air fpor the weary business traveler.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent business trip. We hope you had the chance to take advantage of our Business and Fitness centers which are designed to make your time on the road as seamless and comfortable as possible. We look forward to serving you upon your return to Washington, D.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

But at 4 1/2 * it couldn't be all bad. Hotel will be called the Loews Madison next week, so everything was perfect. It went through a multi-million dollar renovation last year, so things now are just perfect.

Room Tip: Try Hotwire and request a 4 1/2 star. You might get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very well located and we really liked the service. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, being one of the best we've got in Washington DC. As everything are new I believe that it was renew recently.

Room Tip: I would recommend for business or tourist travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irineu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 746 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing