We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only their hotel computer system worked!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

The Madison is a classic downtown DC hotel across from the Washington Post and down the block from the White House. Recently renovated, the rooms are nicely furnished and freshly designed. The hotel offers free papers in the lobby. I happened to stay there the last night of the old ownership and the first day and night of the Loews Hotels tskeover. Loews didn't plan the handover well. The computer system went down in the transition from the old one which meant all hotel Internet and the reservations plus front office data were not available. No WiFi for 20 hours. Upon checkout the system wanted to charge me for the rooms which were prepaid by my travel agency. The hotel had no redundancy so now they have to find the paper reservation in their sea of mess in the office. Other than apologies nothing was resolved as I left to catch a flight. Hotel amenities are fine. Staff are accommodating. But the operations people who may ultimately resolved their major teething pains need to be better trained and give me confidence that they know what they are doing on the corporate and hotel level.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanBernTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,625 - 1,631 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2013

Got a great deal with the pre-pay option during a weekend stay. The hotel is chic and stylish...the staff members are extremely friendly and service oriented...the downtown location was just perfect for my needs...and just steps away from The White House for those of you wanting to see the sites! Highly recommend for anyone visiting the city or for locals needing a weekend getaway from the everyday.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for your review, Amanda! Providing excellent service is our highest priority and we're thrilled that you found our staff to be attentive. We're also very happy that you were able to explore downtown Washington, D.C. and visit the White House - that is always a fun and unique experience! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back to Loews Madison Hotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the location and the facilities available, but most importantly we found that the service was excellent. We were very well looked after by all the staff we came in contact with and they were charming with it. Nothing was too much trouble and we look forward to returning. Kaeuthan in Concierge, Mariella in Reception and Innocent Chesang made sure we were very comfortable at the hotel and missed nothing of the sights also. Would recommend this hotel any time.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite which was large and had plenty of natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The Madison Hotel is wonderful. There are other wonderful hotels, But there is no equal to the personal service given by every member of the staff to make you feel like a million bucks! What a breath of fresh air fpor the weary business traveler.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent business trip. We hope you had the chance to take advantage of our Business and Fitness centers which are designed to make your time on the road as seamless and comfortable as possible. We look forward to serving you upon your return to Washington, D.C.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

But at 4 1/2 * it couldn't be all bad. Hotel will be called the Loews Madison next week, so everything was perfect. It went through a multi-million dollar renovation last year, so things now are just perfect.

Room Tip: Try Hotwire and request a 4 1/2 star. You might get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very well located and we really liked the service. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, being one of the best we've got in Washington DC. As everything are new I believe that it was renew recently.

Room Tip: I would recommend for business or tourist travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irineu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights for medical conference. I stayed in a king room Overlooking M street. The room was nicely decorated and clean! A little loud due to street noise. The bathroom was small but adequate. Large shower. Nice flat screen tv and mini bar but no microwave or fridge to store food.
The hallways often smelled strong of cigar smoke!!!!!!!!
Guest services very professional and helpful.
Location ok. Starbucks, caribu coffee and other restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.
Valet parking is outrageously overpriced and street parking a nightmare! A few garages within 1 block are reasonably priced.
Overall would problably go back and would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyja44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

We thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We regret to hear about the smell of cigars you experienced; we do not permit smoking within the hotel and sincerely apologize for this disturbance. While we do not offer a microwave or refrigerator within our deluxe guest rooms, we do have them available by request via the front desk. Finally, while we do require a substantial fee for our valet parking services, it is in fact competitive for the area. We strive to provide the best possible combination of service and value and hope that you experienced that during your stay. We appreciate your review and will use your feedback as we continue to improve upon our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
292 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
3,262 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,788 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $143 - $482 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing