We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got a great rate on Hotwire, didn't know what I was getting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Got a great rate on Hotwire, didn't know what I was getting.”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

But at 4 1/2 * it couldn't be all bad. Hotel will be called the Loews Madison next week, so everything was perfect. It went through a multi-million dollar renovation last year, so things now are just perfect.

Room Tip: Try Hotwire and request a 4 1/2 star. You might get lucky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    695
    238
    92
    62
See reviews for
531
538
78
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This hotel is very well located and we really liked the service. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, being one of the best we've got in Washington DC. As everything are new I believe that it was renew recently.

Room Tip: I would recommend for business or tourist travel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irineu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights for medical conference. I stayed in a king room Overlooking M street. The room was nicely decorated and clean! A little loud due to street noise. The bathroom was small but adequate. Large shower. Nice flat screen tv and mini bar but no microwave or fridge to store food.
The hallways often smelled strong of cigar smoke!!!!!!!!
Guest services very professional and helpful.
Location ok. Starbucks, caribu coffee and other restaurants within a few blocks of the hotel.
Valet parking is outrageously overpriced and street parking a nightmare! A few garages within 1 block are reasonably priced.
Overall would problably go back and would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyja44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We regret to hear about the smell of cigars you experienced; we do not permit smoking within the hotel and sincerely apologize for this disturbance. While we do not offer a microwave or refrigerator within our deluxe guest rooms, we do have them available by request via the front desk. Finally, while we do require a substantial fee for our valet parking services, it is in fact competitive for the area. We strive to provide the best possible combination of service and value and hope that you experienced that during your stay. We appreciate your review and will use your feedback as we continue to improve upon our establishment. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

A friend of mine and I stayed here for the Inaugural weekend and we had such a girlfriend weekend! The room was very stylish and most importantly, WARM. The design of the room sis boutique like and very detailed but thoughtful at the same time. Rooms are quiet here and that is a plus. The prints in the room were so perfect for DC? I must admit that the room was appoints in such a way as to make one not leave the room which sis saying a lot for DC.
The biggest surprise was the restaurant which I swill review later. Utterly fantastic food and service. I did not think staying inside the hotel was the way to go for a good meal but wow.

Back to the hotel, the staff was very nice and the only complaint is that no one really on where to get the Circulator buses because taxis were hard to find. The lobby has been nicely updated and they have a little area where one can eat breakfast items.
The location of the together could be a bit better to be frank but there is plenty near the hotel. T
Madison is a great option for DC whether you are in for business or not.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fattycrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Having recently completed a year long renovation, we are ecstatic to hear that you enjoyed the decor of your room. The toile pattern you noticed was actually used by JFK, guest of honor at The Madison's 1963 opening, in his private quarters of the White House. We are sorry that you had a difficult time finding a taxi; generally we have a line of taxis waiting outside, however during the Inauguration it can be quite difficult to get around the city! We thank you for your positive feedback and eagerly await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We spent inaugural weekend at the Madison.
Location is perfect however ...
- Heater so loud we couldn't sleep while it was on.
- Laundry personnel loudly barged into our room when we had specifically asked not to be disturbed.
- No-one showed up to pick-up our luggage upon check-out.

Plus you spend so much for the hotel, and yet parking and internet service are so expensive.
We do not plan on returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veronesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent comfort, and ammenities, great location to catch up with morning coffee and Washington Post, N.Y. Times, WSJ, USA Today before walk, taxi, metro to wherever your pleasure of the day in moumental D.C. The bellman was a treat with a smile to start each day! Up the street from the White House, I could see why presidents have chosen to stay there...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOSman_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great location , close to the Mall the White House and near Dupont circle for restaurants . Our stay was easy and uncomplicated with friendly staff , lovely room and good weather ! I am sure they can not promise good weather but they seems to deliver everything else !

Room Tip: all the rooms seem well thought out and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PItexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#88 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing