We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newport News, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our impromptu weekend stay at the Madison Hotel. We were both impressed with the decor, room furnishings and amenities. We also found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The hotel is convenient to the White House, Washington Mall, and other DC attraction. We found the hotel via web searches and we are glad we did. We plan to stay there again and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    690
    235
    92
    60
See reviews for
524
537
78
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

We had an excellent stay at the Madison for 2013 Inauguration weekend. We stayed for three days which allowed us ample time to sight-see as well as attend the swearing in. Hotel is very centrally located. We walked each day to our destinations (although cabs are plentiful as well): The White House area attractions and restaurants (10-15 minute walk), the National Mall and Smithsonian museums (30-45 min), The US Capitol (45 minutes) and Dupont Circle (20 minutes). Hotel was very inviting: rooms were clean, staff was quite attentive, available and informative as needed. Hotel provided very thoughtful (and useful) inauguration gear and tote bag that easily got through extensive Inauguration day security. Only downside, this is not a major restaurant district like Dupont Circle or Adams Morgan, U Street, Logan Circle or Georgetown, so except when eating at the hotel, we went to these other areas for dinners. There are many useful stores a couple of blocks north on P street (P between 15th and 14th-Whole Foods, CVS Pharmacy, etc). Our 10th floor room was very quiet, even with Inaugural festivities on the ground floor. All in all an excellent hotel. I recommend highly.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms (ours was on the 10th floor) are very quiet. We were in a Deluxe with two queen si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We are delighted that you chose The Madison while celebrating the exciting events of the 2013 Inauguration! An electric time in Washington DC, Inauguration is a wonderful time to visit the city and we're glad that you found our Survival Bag amenity handy. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again upon your return to our nation's great capital!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was everything we could have wanted it to be. It only a few blocks away (walking distance) from just about everything you want to see. The bellman were great, they always welcomed us and opened the doors for us as we walked in and out of the hotel. The front desk was very helpful as well as the concierge. The rooms were a good size and the decorations gave off the authentic Washington DC vibe. My friend and I purchased the hotel through hotwire and the price could not be beat! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westwood, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location, as we prefer to walk to get to our sights, and that way we always get the feel of the city and all sorts of interesting things along the way. We were so happy to have chosen this place for our stay in DC. The staffs were very welcoming and obliging. The room and bathroom were clean, modern, and up to date. The decor is totally wonderful. We would be happy to stay at The Madison again the next time we are back in DC!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eiffel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an average. The booking process gets 1 star. The rest was a solid 4+.

Booking a reservation here was like pulling teeth! My email took 2 days to get a response, and when I called, 3 different calls before I reached a live person. Once I did get through, the phone reservation agent was so rude that I could only imagine he misunderstood and thought I wasn't coming at all (I was coming under another friend's reservation). Not good setup for arrival! I emailed the hotel to ask what was going on and if we could expect better treatment upon arrival and, surprise surprise, got nothing back. To be honest, if we hadn't been part of a wedding booking, I would have switched hotels at that point.

Once we arrived (we were part of a large wedding booking), staff was more friendly, which was much better. The hotel bar closed extremely early, that was our only complaint, and a bit of a surprise in a big city. Otherwise staff was consistent, location is perfect, rates were fine.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We apologize for the complications you experienced with your reservation. We strive to provide warm, attentive service and regret to hear that you were met with anything less than outstanding customer care. We are glad that you chose to stay at The Madison despite this inconvenience and thrilled that you enjoyed your experience once you arrived. We take your feedback seriously and will use this information to address these challenges moving forward. We look forward to your return so we can provide you with the superb, customized service for which The Madison is known!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Madison to attend the 2013 Inauguration. The hotel was very nice and the staff was exceptional. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The location was perfect and could not be beat. We did use the overnight valet which is $40 per night. The valet was efficient and there was never a long wait. However there is a parking garage next door which is half the price. None the less, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with turn down service. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydtayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
216 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

In DC for a fun weekend, no business. Upgraded to a junior suite room. Very helpful staff. The hotel is in a good location because we like to walk to get a feel for the city and find interesting things along the way. Comfortable room.

The breakfast / lunch / coffee bar in the hotel is fine and works. You may want to wander a bit and not stop into the attached bar/restaurant.

All things considered, a great stay.

Room Tip: Not sure what the regular rooms are like, the terrace junior suite is really nice and perfect for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
We appreciate your review, Michael. We’re glad that you had the opportunity to try PostScript and the Federalist restaurant, located adjacent to the hotel. Both menus change seasonally and feature weekly specials that are updated on a regular basis. We hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing