We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$269
$229
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$455
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$444
$399
The Watergate
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$279
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$339
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$402
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$233
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,406)
Filter reviews
2,406 results
Traveler rating
1,162
775
288
106
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,162
775
288
106
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural societywhite housenice hotelroom servicefew blocksmini barwithin walking distancecoffee makerhotel restaurantluxury hotelsight seeingnational mallking bedfitness centervalet parkingdupont circlemetro station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,668 - 1,673 of 2,406 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel was everything we could have wanted it to be. It only a few blocks away (walking distance) from just about everything you want to see. The bellman were great, they always welcomed us and opened the doors for us as we walked in and out of the hotel. The front desk was very helpful as well as the concierge. The rooms were a good size and the decorations gave off the authentic Washington DC vibe. My friend and I purchased the hotel through hotwire and the price could not be beat! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibI8678CQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location, as we prefer to walk to get to our sights, and that way we always get the feel of the city and all sorts of interesting things along the way. We were so happy to have chosen this place for our stay in DC. The staffs were very welcoming and obliging. The room and bathroom were clean, modern, and up to date. The decor is totally wonderful. We would be happy to stay at The Madison again the next time we are back in DC!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eiffel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is an average. The booking process gets 1 star. The rest was a solid 4+.

Booking a reservation here was like pulling teeth! My email took 2 days to get a response, and when I called, 3 different calls before I reached a live person. Once I did get through, the phone reservation agent was so rude that I could only imagine he misunderstood and thought I wasn't coming at all (I was coming under another friend's reservation). Not good setup for arrival! I emailed the hotel to ask what was going on and if we could expect better treatment upon arrival and, surprise surprise, got nothing back. To be honest, if we hadn't been part of a wedding booking, I would have switched hotels at that point.

Once we arrived (we were part of a large wedding booking), staff was more friendly, which was much better. The hotel bar closed extremely early, that was our only complaint, and a bit of a surprise in a big city. Otherwise staff was consistent, location is perfect, rates were fine.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wonderlilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We apologize for the complications you experienced with your reservation. We strive to provide warm, attentive service and regret to hear that you were met with anything less than outstanding customer care. We are glad that you chose to stay at The Madison despite this inconvenience and thrilled that you enjoyed your experience once you arrived. We take your feedback seriously and will use this information to address these challenges moving forward. We look forward to your return so we can provide you with the superb, customized service for which The Madison is known!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Madison to attend the 2013 Inauguration. The hotel was very nice and the staff was exceptional. The rooms were very clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The location was perfect and could not be beat. We did use the overnight valet which is $40 per night. The valet was efficient and there was never a long wait. However there is a parking garage next door which is half the price. None the less, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay with turn down service. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sydtayscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

In DC for a fun weekend, no business. Upgraded to a junior suite room. Very helpful staff. The hotel is in a good location because we like to walk to get a feel for the city and find interesting things along the way. Comfortable room.

The breakfast / lunch / coffee bar in the hotel is fine and works. You may want to wander a bit and not stop into the attached bar/restaurant.

All things considered, a great stay.

Room Tip: Not sure what the regular rooms are like, the terrace junior suite is really nice and perfect for us
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We appreciate your review, Michael. We’re glad that you had the opportunity to try PostScript and the Federalist restaurant, located adjacent to the hotel. Both menus change seasonally and feature weekly specials that are updated on a regular basis. We hope you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews