We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little luxury between Dupont Circle and the Mall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel provides good service and lovely rooms at 15th and M Streets. It's about a 15-20 minute walk from the Smithsonian Museums, 15 minutes from Dupont Circle - it provides good access to most of the things that you want to see in DC. Great bedding and luxury bath products. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,590 - 1,596 of 2,303 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Madison hotel, which is a nice place, but certainly not a 4.5 star boutique hotel! The rooms are fine, the room decor somewhat conventional, the staff is friendly, but not always very competent. All in all this place is OK, but not deserving 4.5 stars! The location at 15th and M streets might be quite OK, if you want to visit the White House, but it is about a 20-30 min walk to most of the Smithsonian museums. The restaurant menu is OK, but nothing out of the ordinary and you have to walk a significant distance or take a cab to find some decent affordable restaurants!

As a negative overnight valet parking is expensive ($40), there are a number of much less parking garages right next door or across the street (check on-line for available coupons). The doorman at the Madison reacted quite miffed and unfriendly when we told him we won't use his hotel's valet service, but park our car ourselves.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the backyard to have quite night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PIL-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We regret to hear that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Our staff is deeply committed to providing guests with a relaxing, invigorating experience and we hope to better assist you during your next stay. As in most major cities, the parking garages in Washington DC can be costly and our nightly fee is competitive for the area. As we are situated downtown, we are within walking distance of many of DC’s museums and monuments, however some sites do require public transportation. There are also various affordable bars and restaurants in the area and our concierge is happy to assist with recommendations and reservations. We greatly value your feedback and thank you for choosing The Madison. We hope to see you again soon so we can work to regain your trust in our newly renovated establishment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We very much enjoyed the location, within walking distance of everything including the Metro. The staff very friendly and accomodating- any request we had was taken care of immediately and accurately. The room was well set out- great bed and bedding, bathroom had large modern shower and it was very clean.
We were there for 4 nights. The staff gave us tips regarding the tour at Arlington cemetery and the changing of the guard.
We hope to return

Room Tip: We were in room 1227- it was very quiet, the air quality was good, it was bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 614,896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

We’re thrilled that you had the opportunity to visit Arlington National Cemetery. The historic site is a beautiful place to visit year round and we’re happy to hear that our staff was able to offer you tips regarding your tour. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to welcome you back to The Madison during your next stay in Washington DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at The Madison again (see my earlier comment) in December and enjoyed it very much, again. They upgraded me to a suite. Great food, great breakfast. Love this place. Warning : Dry cleaning and laundry service is pretty bad. The washed my shirt and it shrank by two sizes - I had to throw it away. Ironing is also very poor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank O T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. I got a cyber-Monday deal that made it reasonable enough to book a Penthouse room. The on line picture showed a room with a King sized bed and a couch with two chairs. As we were hoping to entertain some friends this was perfect.

From the moment we arrived at the front entrance the staff was exceptional. The doorman/bellman was charming. Giving us tips on parking, dining and then while escorting us to our room told us about the hotel's recent renovations. Upon entering the room he showed us light switches, thermostat, the bathroom, etc. The front desk clerk was prompt and smiling, the young gentleman was very professional while still being friendly.

Our 15th (top) floor room (PH60) was lovely. We had a small entryway that lead directly to a very large bathroom with a tub and separate shower stall, and double sinks with excellent lighting, the toilet was tucked in an alcove.Two steps down put us in a large room with a king sized bed, a desk and chair and two easy chairs. It was a corner room with lots of windows. Unfortunately the windows looked onto and into three other buildings' windows. We had expected to have a nice view of something other than office buildings. Still, the room was very nice, spotlessly clean, had a large flat screen TV, a clock radio with an iPod dock, crisp sheets, a firm bed and plush pillows, an upscale stocked mini bar with great snacks. We were very please, except there was no couch.

When I brought this up to the front desk clerk he was very nice and said he would speak to his manager. I went to park the car and when I returned he offered me a suite at no additional charge and gave me a key to go and check out the room. It was room 1217 and I wasn't sure why he'd bothered, as this room had no couch either, was smaller and had a much smaller bathroom without a separate shower. The view was much better though. Needless to say we stayed in our original room.

NOTE on Parking: The hotel offers valet parking for $40 a day. For Christmas Eve and Christmas Day there was free street parking very convenient to the hotel. On the morning of the 26th I had to get up and move the car before 7am and put it into a parking garage which cost me $10. I thought it was worth that minor inconvenience, but if you are there on anything other than a Sat. or Sun. you will have to pay the parking fee.

I would have given the hotel an "excellent" rating other than the couch thing, It bothered me that the website showed a picture of a room with a couch and then didn't follow through in reality.

The Postscript restaurant and bar in the hotel lobby was very nice. Again the staff stood out as super friendly and professional.

Room Tip: I was awakened Weds, day morning with the sound of a garbage truck despite being on the 15th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a very short visit to Washington D.C. to experience the National Tree Lighting Ceremony and see all that we could with my 7-year old daughter. We were impressed by the beautiful interiors and holiday accents. We were treated with the utmost care by every staff member of The Madison from the Doorman, to the Housekeeping Staff and most especially by the Concierge Team: Tony Brown and Kaouthar Bouhaouala. They helped us make the most of our 4-night stay and ensured that my daughter's first experience to the nation's capital was more than memorable. I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of menu options for children. We look forward to returning with more of our family!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

The National Tree Lighting Ceremony is such a wonderful family event and we’re delighted to hear that you and your daughter were able to attend! Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our décor and holiday accents; we took great joy in making our newly renovated space feel festive during this special time of year. We will extend your kind words to our concierge team and look forward to hosting you and your family at The Madison again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Over the phone we were told our room was very roomy and there would be plenty of room for a roll away. However, the roll away did not fit at all between the two beds. So, the hotel gave us another room in addition to the room we booked! Complimentary! For two nights! When we inquired about visiting the Holocaust Museum before we left the city, the hotel gave us FIVE complimentary tickets to the Holocaust Museum, PLUS they drove us there and picked us up! We were treated so incredibly well! Also, the location was awesome, just a few blocks from the White House!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#103 of 142 in Washington DC
196 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,728 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 142 in Washington DC
3,186 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $125 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing