We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised Once Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprised Once Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I stayed at The Madison again (see my earlier comment) in December and enjoyed it very much, again. They upgraded me to a suite. Great food, great breakfast. Love this place. Warning : Dry cleaning and laundry service is pretty bad. The washed my shirt and it shrank by two sizes - I had to throw it away. Ironing is also very poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank O T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    690
    235
    92
    60
See reviews for
524
537
78
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
White Stone, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked for Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. I got a cyber-Monday deal that made it reasonable enough to book a Penthouse room. The on line picture showed a room with a King sized bed and a couch with two chairs. As we were hoping to entertain some friends this was perfect.

From the moment we arrived at the front entrance the staff was exceptional. The doorman/bellman was charming. Giving us tips on parking, dining and then while escorting us to our room told us about the hotel's recent renovations. Upon entering the room he showed us light switches, thermostat, the bathroom, etc. The front desk clerk was prompt and smiling, the young gentleman was very professional while still being friendly.

Our 15th (top) floor room (PH60) was lovely. We had a small entryway that lead directly to a very large bathroom with a tub and separate shower stall, and double sinks with excellent lighting, the toilet was tucked in an alcove.Two steps down put us in a large room with a king sized bed, a desk and chair and two easy chairs. It was a corner room with lots of windows. Unfortunately the windows looked onto and into three other buildings' windows. We had expected to have a nice view of something other than office buildings. Still, the room was very nice, spotlessly clean, had a large flat screen TV, a clock radio with an iPod dock, crisp sheets, a firm bed and plush pillows, an upscale stocked mini bar with great snacks. We were very please, except there was no couch.

When I brought this up to the front desk clerk he was very nice and said he would speak to his manager. I went to park the car and when I returned he offered me a suite at no additional charge and gave me a key to go and check out the room. It was room 1217 and I wasn't sure why he'd bothered, as this room had no couch either, was smaller and had a much smaller bathroom without a separate shower. The view was much better though. Needless to say we stayed in our original room.

NOTE on Parking: The hotel offers valet parking for $40 a day. For Christmas Eve and Christmas Day there was free street parking very convenient to the hotel. On the morning of the 26th I had to get up and move the car before 7am and put it into a parking garage which cost me $10. I thought it was worth that minor inconvenience, but if you are there on anything other than a Sat. or Sun. you will have to pay the parking fee.

I would have given the hotel an "excellent" rating other than the couch thing, It bothered me that the website showed a picture of a room with a couch and then didn't follow through in reality.

The Postscript restaurant and bar in the hotel lobby was very nice. Again the staff stood out as super friendly and professional.

Room Tip: I was awakened Weds, day morning with the sound of a garbage truck despite being on the 15th floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We had a very short visit to Washington D.C. to experience the National Tree Lighting Ceremony and see all that we could with my 7-year old daughter. We were impressed by the beautiful interiors and holiday accents. We were treated with the utmost care by every staff member of The Madison from the Doorman, to the Housekeeping Staff and most especially by the Concierge Team: Tony Brown and Kaouthar Bouhaouala. They helped us make the most of our 4-night stay and ensured that my daughter's first experience to the nation's capital was more than memorable. I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of menu options for children. We look forward to returning with more of our family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
The National Tree Lighting Ceremony is such a wonderful family event and we’re delighted to hear that you and your daughter were able to attend! Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our décor and holiday accents; we took great joy in making our newly renovated space feel festive during this special time of year. We will extend your kind words to our concierge team and look forward to hosting you and your family at The Madison again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Over the phone we were told our room was very roomy and there would be plenty of room for a roll away. However, the roll away did not fit at all between the two beds. So, the hotel gave us another room in addition to the room we booked! Complimentary! For two nights! When we inquired about visiting the Holocaust Museum before we left the city, the hotel gave us FIVE complimentary tickets to the Holocaust Museum, PLUS they drove us there and picked us up! We were treated so incredibly well! Also, the location was awesome, just a few blocks from the White House!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I did read a lot of reviews before booking this hotel because me and my wife are somewhat clean freaks and don't like to take chances when we travel. Mostly all of the reviews I read had nothing but great things to say so about this hotel so we booked it. What a great decision that was. This place was immaculate from top to bottom. The service was awesome and the staff was very helpful with any questions and did so with a smile on their face. Me and my wife stayed here for our 20th wedding anniversary and this place actually exceeded our high expectations. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a high quality place to stay for business or pleasure. When we go back to D.C. in the future this is the first place I will call. Thank you everyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
The pleasure is all ours; we are honored to be a part of your 20th wedding anniversary and ecstatic that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to sharing many more memories with you and your family in the years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Love the clean, comfy furniture, ease of using tv, free internet, and ordering movie$ ($20 for Looper though, so be careful its expensive). The Keurig coffee maker in room is a bonus since some of the competing hotels nearby don't offer in room coffee makers let alone a Keurig (selections include green tea, french roast decaf, & a bold, i think sumatran, blend).. Excellent staff. room service very accomodating, but also expensive.

Bus and Metrorail were so easy to use and there are at least 2 metro stations (Mcpherson & Farragut) within a 5-10 min walk. Of course you can use those (very fun!) red rental bike stations near the hotel and along all of those national mall sites.

Whole Foods, a few CVS's, delicious bakery, restaurants, & coffee shops are all right there. If you are into healthy fast food Freshii has great bfast, lunch, dinner. We loved dining at Lincoln, just on the other side of the block, where it's seasonal menu changes and the floor is made of pennies- decor is worth taking a look see.

Room Tip: 1421 was right in front of the elevators and we did not hear them at all with our heater on all nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

In addition to being a great place to stay, we really appreciated the ability to bring our pet with us. Outstanding service, fabulous food and extremely friendly staff. Would definately go back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DaveWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing