We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A beautiful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The rooms in this hotel are beautiful, so tasteful and stylish. And the bathrooms are some of the best I have see. Great showers. Service was fast, friendly and efficient. Post-script - the restaurant downstairs was an experience on its own. The waffle-chicken was so much more than the name suggested.

Every moment of my stay here felt like a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodseth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    616
    203
    86
    53
See reviews for
466
504
68
609
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
World Traveler
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I would stay here again but know an additional charge of $50 per day is added to your room until you check out. Example if you room total on your reservation was 400 for 4 days the hold on your card no matter whether it is CC or Debit is an additional $200 - Total held until check out is $600, but when you check out it is refunded if not used during your stay for incidentals. This was an issue for a few guest who had just saved a bit extra for the hotel stay.

Very Lovely Hotel, large rooms with Tubs. I would stay here again, just blocks away from everything. Thank you to a FABULOUS Hotel staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have Tubs others do not, this may be issue if traveling with children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feelslkesilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

There were many elegant touches in this magnificently refurbished hotel: great step-in shower, Kuerig coffee maker, comfy robe and excellent service from bellman to wait staff and accomodating front desk (printed out my boarding pass). The Madison is surrounded by restaurants and coffee shops, the metro stop is down 15th/Vermont several blocks (16 minutes to Reagan National) and the White House is nearby. Every evening there were freshly baked cookies waiting in the reception area

Room Tip: If you prefer a BIG soaking bathtub, rather than a huge step-in shower, just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled to hear that you found our staff helpful and enjoyed our central, downtown location. We hope to see you again on your next trip to Washington D.C.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay at The Madison every time I'm in Washington, DC. The location is excellent, lobby renovations are fantastic and the staff – from the porters to the concierge – is always friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: If you're traveling alone, ask for a large room with a full-size bed or queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Located four blocks north of the White House, near Embassy Row, several blocks north of National Mall Monuments and Smithsonian Museums. Key location. Several eateries nearby. Things close down early in this area of DC. National Geographic Museum is one block away. C.O. Bigelow body products and Keurig Gourmet coffees are available in rooms. Decent wi-fi signal in room. Plush towels and comfortable linens. The hotel and our room had exquisite decor and design...very classy. Standard expensive city parking extra. Lobby bar was a nice place to relax with a drink.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zurak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We recently underwent a complete redesign and we greatly appreciate your positive feedback regarding our new look. We’re happy that you enjoyed our Lobby Bar - we hope you were able to sample the Washingtonian, one of our most popular cocktails. We thank you for your review and look forward to having the pleasure of hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at The Madison for 3 nights in September, and it suited me perfectly. The room was attractive, and quiet, the staff were helpful and as I was on my own I certainly felt secure. The location was great too. The Concierge was friendly and efficient sorting theatre tickets for me and offering sightseeing tips. My one meal in the restaurant was most enjoyable with good food and wine.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I spent two nights at the Madison in late November, 2012 on a business trip. This was my first stay at this hotel and I was impressed. The room was large and quiet, staff very friendly, and the room service food surprisingly good. It's also near a stop on the Metro Orange Line. I get to DC a few times each year and will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiesDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 698 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,330 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,513 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., Our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. Luxury hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing