We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Madison Hotel is a gorgeous place.. I enjoyed my stay, I love the great customer service that I received, keep up with the good work..I will definitely recommend The Madison Hotel to all of my friends and family...Thank you guys for making my stay AWESOME!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BJay0525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2012

Excellent hotel. The staff was very kind and sympathetic. The location is great, it is just three blocks from the subway and five to the White House. I was in DC for a convention and the convention center is a few blocks (walking distance). The area around is more bussines and not a great variety of restaurants or stores. Definitely recommended, would stay again.

Room Tip: There isn't great views, so doesn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andre Xenofonte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Madison is a DC institution and is situated in a place pretty central to most of the things you'd want to do in Washington DC. After a huge face lift the hotel has a very modern contemporary look that it extends throughout the hotel. Clean and quiet would be the best way to describe it and the beds are very comfortable. The upside its reasonably priced for its location and rooms, the downside is the rooms are small and the bathrooms are very very small. Light on staff and amenities you wont feel a tip hand following you around that's for sure. But keep in mind that goes both ways as light on staff means light on staff and little help especially when checking in. The staff that is there though is polite and helpful. Again I see a lot of 5 star reviews here and while Id like to be generous the reality is that it really is just a 4 star experience and hope others who read this understand that. Again for the price and location in Washington you wont go wrong at the madison.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Herbert_Tabin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for your honest review, Herbert. We strive to provide a five star experience and regret to hear that you felt our staff presence and amenities could be improved upon. Having recently undergone a complete restoration of the hotel, we are constantly making changes to enhance our service and the property as a whole. We greatly value our guest feedback so that we can build upon our successes and address our challenges moving forward. We hope that you will return to The Madison and give us the opportunity to surpass your expectations the next time you are in Washington, D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed five nights for a conference and the over weekend for fun. On business side, well located for downtown meetings, good wifi in room. On general side, staff was helpful when I showed up a day early for my reservation (found me a room), beds comfortable, room quiet, food good (with reasonably priced options), bar was nice without being overcrowded scene, and staff overall were helpful. All for a decent price, taking into account how expensive it has gotten to stay in downtown DC.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ramblegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

My company booked me 2 nights at the Madison due to hurricane Sandy. The room was comfortable, bright, and warm with all the amenities you can think of. Especially the complimentary Keurig coffee in the room; it was a nice touch. The property has been recently remodeled and is completely spotless. Perfectly clean, perfect location, perfect stay. I will definitely recommend The Madison to all of my friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonimaccroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay during such a tumultuous time in D.C. The pleasure was all ours, and we greatly value hearing about your first experience at The Madison. We hope you fared well during the storm, and look forward to welcoming you back to The Madison soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We loved our stay at The Madison - it was well placed for the metro, to walk to The White House and Smithsonian sites and to access the fun nightlife of Washington.

You know when you walk in a room and you feel immediately at home? The Madison was like that. The room smelt gorgeous and was large and bright. The first night we were in a room which was near some outdoor construction but they happily moved us the next night and one night we didn't get left any towels, but again quickly rectified.

Much recommended for young and old, families and couples.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Madison. Hotel is clean, modern, quiet and comfortable. Excellent service. Only complaint would be having no view - but what can you expect in the middle of the city. Room was comfortable and well furnished, nice shower, clean bath. Staff was helpful and friendly. We enjoyed breakfast every morning in their restaurant where there was a nice menu, friendly waitstaff and comfortable seating. Convenient to downtown (about 7 blocks from all the major attractions). The Madison's driver even gave us a ride to the Lincoln Memorial and gave us guidelines on how to best plan visiting all of the memorials. We arrived really early and they eagerly let us check in at 9am because our rooms were ready, which we really appreciated. I'd highly recommend the Madison.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor or a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank masssunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

The Lincoln Memorial is really a sight to see and we're thrilled that you had the chance to explore such an integral part of D.C.'s charm and history. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff and guest rooms and eagerly look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
212 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
3,202 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $103 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing