We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, would recommend !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #89 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for one week in mid to late October. Enjoyed the stay and would recommend this hotel!!
Stayed in a king room with patio- top floor.
Spacious room, nice bathroom and sitting area
Bed semi comfortable
Was quiet and great location
Staff very friendly
Ate twice in lobby cafe: once was great with great service but second time slow and food cold.
Booked through website and got a good deal, but had major bill problems at check out that were never completely resolved despite an email to the manager. Settled at check out for close to fair amount but had a plane to catch so got tired of debating bill despite having confirmation with booked price.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank mtnbikerScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,674 - 1,680 of 2,319 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at The Madison with our family this past weekend, The hotel is really well located near the White house and all the museums.
The Rooms are very well appointed, and the complementary coffee in the room is a great touch.
Housekeeping did a very good job, so as the Bar and Front Desk.
The only reason why it is a 4 and not 5 for me, is because of the Porter/ Doorman service, We had to wait over 10 minutes to be greeted when we first arrived, and after returning from dinner, we waited for another 15 minutes, before I had to ask the bellman standing outside to park my car. This is not what I expect when I am paying $40 dollars a day for parking! Please improve that area and you will be the best Hotel in DC.
Besides that, what a great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank André X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your kind comments! We are sorry to hear about your experience waiting for your car. We strive to provide prompt and attentive service and appreciate your feedback in this regard. We hope you return to The Madison soon so we can provide you with the superior customer service for which we are known!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The rooms are big. The service is excellent and the staff are very friendly. The restaurant and the cafe at the hotel were great too but the cafe is a bit slow in service. Even though the hotel staff are friendly the cafe staff that run the cafe in the morning never smile. Location is just perfect.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraDallal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

The Madison is a great hotel. We had a three night say which was extended by an extra night due to Hurricane Sandy. The hotel rooms are spacious, beds are comfortable, cable tv is good and the food is nice. The hotel was great as they were able to extend my stay in the same room with no fuss and help organize transport to the airport. However it has to be noted that the transport is not included in the hotel which would have been a nice to have.

Due to the bad weather we experienced both of the hotels restaurants and we were so happy with the postscript casual dining area. The Postscript restaurant presents diners with exceptional value for the quality of food, please see my blog for posts next week coving the food in more detail.

The only areas we were not impressed with:
1 the doors need some maintenance as they were not easy to close and walking around the floor we noticed several doors remained jarred open -so make sure your door closes
2 the in room air conditioning/heating stages, is very noisy and does not maintain an accurate temperature

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forktorque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My son and I stayed at The Madison during our first trip to Washington DC, in August 2012. I searched internet sites for hours to try to find a location from where we could walk the city, and chose the Madison. Going in August, they city is pretty empty, so we had a bargain rate for a luxury hotel. Our 2-queen room was on the small side, which is to be expected in any big city, but it was beautifully decorated and appointed. Friends met us for the getaway, and their room was equally as nice. The staff were very nice and helpful, and the doorman and bellman were extremely patient and understanding of our 3 boys' (all under 10 years old) exuberance. As for walking, we were only a few short blocks from the Metro, and walking to some of the sites is definitely doable.
The next time we're in Washington, we will return to the Madison.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelingmom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

First of all, I checked in late on a Friday after having spent over 5 hours in the airport with delays, cancellations, etc. so I was beat. The staff was friendly and helpful. They "upgraded" me free of charge - although I don't know what that included as I had reserved a room with a king bed, and I got a room with a king bed. But that is not the important part of this review, the important part is THE BEDS ARE AWESOME. I slept like a baby (but for the noise in the elevator lobby, which my room was directly off of). The bed was so amazing I wanted to lay in bed all day and read my novel (but I was in DC so I had to get out and visit the museums). The second night was just as good as the first (and this time I used earplugs) so again I selpt for almost 10 hours. The room service (although very nice people) was crappy. I got the lobster roll with fries and a large bottle of still water. The fries were limp and cold and just plain gross. The lobster roll was delicious but was about four inches long - I would have enjoyed two of those bad boys. Not to mention that the whole meal cost me $40 which I found horrifying.
Otherwise a great location, super nice and friendly staff, clean and well-appointed rooms, and GREAT BEDS.

Room Tip: Make sure you DO NOT get a room directly off of the elevator lobby on any floor. The noise level was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Our guest room beds feature Super Plush Englander Velvet Touch mattresses and 300 thread count Egyptian cotton sheets. We are ecstatic that you found them comfortable and were able to rest after your long day of traveling! We apologize that your room service arrived cold, as we strive to provide the best possible quality and value with our in-room dining services. We thank you for your feedback so that we can better address this challenge in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good things from this hotel are (i) good location. 7 minutes walk to the Mcpherson metro station and the exit is vermont ave (ii) clean (iii) friendly, helpful and informative staff hotel (iv) 5 minutes walk to CVS pharmacy and 12 minutes walk to whole food supermarket (v) unique room interior design (vi) many places to eat nearby hotel (for example subway, pizza authentica, starbuck, potbelly, cosi).

When you check out, please double check the billing as the reception has mistakenly put other guest's bill to ours.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fei77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
214 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
3,204 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $103 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing