We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #86 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The good things from this hotel are (i) good location. 7 minutes walk to the Mcpherson metro station and the exit is vermont ave (ii) clean (iii) friendly, helpful and informative staff hotel (iv) 5 minutes walk to CVS pharmacy and 12 minutes walk to whole food supermarket (v) unique room interior design (vi) many places to eat nearby hotel (for example subway, pizza authentica, starbuck, potbelly, cosi).

When you check out, please double check the billing as the reception has mistakenly put other guest's bill to ours.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Fei77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,732 - 1,738 of 2,373 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

We typically enjoy accommodations at The Ritz but wanted to try something that didn't seem so predictable....The Madison came up in a search and we decided to take a try...We LOVED it...! The service was 5 Star from start to finish....Our requested room was not available and we were upgraded to a beautiful Suite....we hate in room and at the restaurant, both times we were very happy....highly recommend to all....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arlenepastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We're delighted that you enjoyed your first stay at The Madison; the pleasure is all ours. We appreciate your business and feedback and hope to host you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for a week in a King Room. At the price, the room itself was a bit small, but there were many positives: Comfortable bed, very clean, and working free and fast wifi. Near to the White House and lots of other sites (within 6-10 blocks).

A few nitpicks, which are not deal breakers:
-Room had a nice HDTV although no HD feed for relaxing in front of football.
-In the morning, there was quite a bit of outside noise -- I think because a neighboring building was under construction.
-Very pricey.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RItravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

First, just let me say that we are just regular people. We are ok with hauling our own bags, getting our own ice, etc. The Madison was way beyond (in a good way) the type of hotel that we are used to. This was likely obvious to the hotel staff, but they never let on. Every person we dealt with over the four days/nights that we stayed there was pleasant, accommodating and professional. The double queen room that we had was beautifully decorated. The beds were comfortable even though they were on the firm side. The bathroom had enough counter space for four women to use; with all our stuff in tow. The towels were huge and top quality. The Federalist restaurant served up a great meal the night that we stayed in for dinner. The free wifi was spotty at best, though. It is nice for the ice to be delivered upon request, but we used a lot of ice and felt like we were imposing by requesting it so often. No employee ever acted as though this was a problem. The heat/air was difficult to keep at a steady temperature. We were unable to find a happy medium in this regard. Overall, we had a great week in DC and The Madison went a long way toward making it great!

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank punchbuggy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We are thrilled that you found our staff to be accommodating and attentive! We do apologize for the spotty complimentary wi-fi service; our guest rooms, meeting spaces and lobby generally recieve a strong wireless connection. We're glad that you enjoyed your time in D.C. and hope that you will return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Madison is a beautiful small hotel in the heart of DC. We booked through Expedia 3 days before our arrival after a last minute booking fiasco at a different hotel. The Madison's website showed no room availability, but a room was available through Expedia. That room, beautifully decorated with a brand new bathroom, facing Fifteenth Street was $403 per night and truly the size of a European hotel room and bath meaning TINY. That being said I was happy to get the room since most of the city was sold out. The problem with an Expedia booking is that you get the worst room in the hotel. They have no reason to give you the room that you would typically get booking through their own website. Back to the hotel, great breakfast downstairs with attentive service. Both bars were very nice but could get crowded since the hotel was sold out. The location is good, and the staff are friendly. Housekeeping was great and unobtrusive. The workout room was not large but had huge windows facing the side street which made it bright and cheery. This really is a lovely property, and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Book through the hotel's website. No control over room if you book through a 3rd party. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lonestartravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We appreciate your feedback and are thrilled that you enjoyed your newly renovated guest room and breakfast at PostScript. We're glad that you experienced attentive service as that is our top priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Madison the next time you are in the area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights. Positives - close to Metro and White House, friendly staff, quiet room, comfortable bed, clean. Negatives - no view, long wait for weekend breakfast, no counter space in bathroom, no ice machines, first run movies were >$22.
Short walk to the Metro. The room was clean and the towels were big & soft. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet (we were in a corner room). There was no "cityscape view" as advertised - our room looked out on the Washington Post building. There are no ice machines - you need to call room service to get ice. There was a 30-40 minute wait for breakfast on Saturday & Sunday. The bathroom in our room was wheelchair accessible, which was fine, but there was no counter space for storing toiletries. I had added a comment with my reservation that we were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary. Received no perk (bottle of wine? congratulations?, etc.), which my sisters & received at a Kimpton by stating in the reservation that the reason for our visit was a "sisters weekend". Not sure it was worth more than $1,300.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room was very nice, the staff friendly and the location great. We could either walk or take a short taxi ride to any place we wanted to go. The concierge was very helpful in getting us to where we wanted to be. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
294 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,262 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,789 reviews
Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $143 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing