We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,566)
Filter reviews
2,566 results
Traveler rating
1,227
836
308
111
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,227
836
308
111
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrural societywhite housenice hotelroom servicefew blocksmini barwithin walking distancehotel restaurantsight seeingnational mallfitness centervalet parkingmetro stopdupont circleloewsconciergelobby
Filter
Updating list...
1,905 - 1,910 of 2,566 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband & I stayed for 4 nights. Positives - close to Metro and White House, friendly staff, quiet room, comfortable bed, clean. Negatives - no view, long wait for weekend breakfast, no counter space in bathroom, no ice machines, first run movies were >$22.
Short walk to the Metro. The room was clean and the towels were big & soft. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet (we were in a corner room). There was no "cityscape view" as advertised - our room looked out on the Washington Post building. There are no ice machines - you need to call room service to get ice. There was a 30-40 minute wait for breakfast on Saturday & Sunday. The bathroom in our room was wheelchair accessible, which was fine, but there was no counter space for storing toiletries. I had added a comment with my reservation that we were celebrating our 29th wedding anniversary. Received no perk (bottle of wine? congratulations?, etc.), which my sisters & received at a Kimpton by stating in the reservation that the reason for our visit was a "sisters weekend". Not sure it was worth more than $1,300.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolaMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo_Pedrazzini, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for your review and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Madison. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The room was very nice, the staff friendly and the location great. We could either walk or take a short taxi ride to any place we wanted to go. The concierge was very helpful in getting us to where we wanted to be. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo_Pedrazzini, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Madison. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The furnishings were fantastic. From the wall paper to the tables and chairs, the rooms were well laid out. My only comment was that the bathroom did not have enough counter space to put my cosmetics bag as well as a man's grooming kit. Other than that, i would say it was a lovely visit. The staff a check in were very helpful and upgraded us to a king bed even though i prepaid for 2 queens.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jun B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo_Pedrazzini, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Madison. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My son says "AWESOME"! Good base for sight-seeing, friendly staff, good food, comfy beds - would recommend it! You do have to go further afield for evening meals if you don't want to be restricted to the hotel restaurant. The hotel food is great but a little more pricey as all hotels are! We got a good deal through our travel agent, so it might have been more expensive direct (always worth searching for the best price!)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnalouise11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paolo_Pedrazzini, General Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at The Madison. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Madison. This elegant hotel has had a recent stylish renovation in the style of a old men's club with updated details.

The location is excellent, being so close to the White House and other attractions. I was able to walk to the conference I was attending at the Convention center in about 10 minutes. It is also close enough to the subway that we took it from the DCA airport and walked.

The rooms were comfortable with lots of space. I've been going to New York a lot lately and the rooms are enormous in comparison. Our room (1201, I think) had a great comfortable King size bed, spacious bathroom and shower that could fit a small party. It was nicely decorated in club style and had comfortable leather chairs. The TV was slow and awkward to navigate but that's a minor complaint. Overall, an excellent hotel. I would definitely return.

Fast free wifi!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We are happy to hear that you liked your room and our recent renovation! Our guest rooms have a lot of custom design elements and the signature white wingback lounge chair is one of our favorites. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing The Madison!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews