We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant, well-located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Elegant, well-located Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a very nice stay at the Madison. This elegant hotel has had a recent stylish renovation in the style of a old men's club with updated details.

The location is excellent, being so close to the White House and other attractions. I was able to walk to the conference I was attending at the Convention center in about 10 minutes. It is also close enough to the subway that we took it from the DCA airport and walked.

The rooms were comfortable with lots of space. I've been going to New York a lot lately and the rooms are enormous in comparison. Our room (1201, I think) had a great comfortable King size bed, spacious bathroom and shower that could fit a small party. It was nicely decorated in club style and had comfortable leather chairs. The TV was slow and awkward to navigate but that's a minor complaint. Overall, an excellent hotel. I would definitely return.

Fast free wifi!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank g4480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are happy to hear that you liked your room and our recent renovation! Our guest rooms have a lot of custom design elements and the signature white wingback lounge chair is one of our favorites. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing The Madison!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    690
    235
    92
    60
See reviews for
524
537
78
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed here for one night recently and we were not disappointed. It's within walking distance of the National Mall so great for tourists. The room was decorated beautifully, in fact the whole hotel is completed to a high standard. All staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Also, don't miss out on the breakfast, especially the blueberry pancakes!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Madison was tremendous. Their attention to detail, clean common areas and room, and impeccable service did not go unnoticed. The hotel room itself was absolutely beautiful. It was so well appointed and comfortable, that we did not feel compelled to leave very much. The hotel itself could be a destination. We enjoyed a late night dessert in The Postscript Lounge in the lobby, it was great. Our server, Libby, exemplified guest service. We had dinner in the Postscript on the following day, and that too was perfect. The drinks and service were great. We were sad to leave this hotel, and look forward to returning again. To the staff, great work!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheriff3477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed your experience at The Madison! We're also thrilled that you enjoyed the service and food at PostScript. Upon your return, we hope you have the opportunity to visit our neighbor, the Federalist restaurant, as well. They too have a wonderful menu of locally sourced American food. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, OH
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed here one night on business. Staff very courteous, room very clean although a little on the small side. No ice bucket in the room, but the water bottles by the elevator were a nice touch. You can walk to the White House, Embassies, etc which was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is very nice...great service and very friendly staff...room was very nice, well appointed, clean and the bed very comfortable. Unfortunately we had 2 negative experiences that tarnished what otherwise would have been an exceptional stay. At 2 am on our first night, the fire alarm went off and we were forced to evacuate the hotel. Luckily for all it was a false alarm. We did not ever get any explanation or apology. 2) on checkout I was billed an extra $100 for valet parking. I did not have a car and it was removed once I pointed it out, but it left a bad taste in my mouth as I left.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Timothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We greatly apologize for any disruption the fire alarm may have caused you. We also regret to hear about the mishap with your bill. We are glad that our staff was able to rectify the issue once you pointed it out, but apologize for the inconvenience. We thank you for your feedback, and hope to see you again upon your return to D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I loved my stay at The Madison (with one exception, see below)
The room itself (king bed) was very comfy and I had NO complaints about the room. (LOVED the shower!)
The hotel staff (with one exception, see below) were awesome. The receptionists, doormen, and concierge staff were all absolutely amazing!
I'm a tourist and the location was great! Just three blocks from the McPherson Metro station made this an easy arrival from Reagan, and an easy departure point for my adventures!

My only (and this is a minor issue) complaint is with the bartender. He was slow and didn't know his drinks.

Would I stay here again? Yes!!

Room Tip: My room was 12th floor, near the elevator, and I didn't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greasefire11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

The room is very nice. Bed is comfortable. Big bath with huge shower and a lot of ammenities. Great location, near everything. Warm and nice service. Clean and very good priced. I definitely recommend it.

Helpful?
3 Thank Chevy10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing