We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Madison hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toledo, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Madison hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

well located property. terrific food service options as well as a business friendly bar. quiet rooms are a real benefit. outside seating offers a nice break from the fast paced interior. doorman and front desk were very attentive

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    690
    235
    92
    60
See reviews for
524
537
78
677
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Warm professional staff, first class accommodations and a great bar. Loved this hotel! Centrally located, very clean, grey palette was soothing and cool on the hot summer days. Everything was effortless here - from check into check out. Comfortable rooms, great fitness center, and all the small details were noticed and appreciated. Highly recommend the Madison.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauramac727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

I come to DC a lot on business and as a freelancer I am look for a nice place at a good rate. The Madison is really lovely and one of the nicest places I've stayed. I happened upon a special but I do think the hotel is worth it at the higher rate too if it is in your budget. The renovation was a success and the common areas are elegant. I found the staff very helpful and not too cloying. It was nice to be in a upper end hotel that didn't charge for the fitness room (small but just fine) or wifi. As with most nice hotels the breakfast room service is pricey but there are several delis and coffee shops within a 2 minute walk where you can eggs, bagels, etc. Keuig coffee makers in the rooms a great thing. I've stayed at two Ritz Carltons in DC ( when I wasn't a freelancer!) and this hotel experience was as nice for sure. I think they have a high turnover b/c housekeeping really pounced on the rooms by 8am and I heard them politely ask someone when they were checking out today.....not the greatest move in my opinion...but that is a minor thing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromNYto?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Nice clean hotel with unique decor and very friendly service. Great breakfast and very good food in general. Mixed clientele - both business and families, but works very well. Would stay there again in the future. Spa needs a full-time attendant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank O T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shallotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Once I mentioned that it was our 41st anniversary and my 60th birthday, the receptionist upgraded us to a deluxe king for the same price. The price was very reasonable. The corner room was beautiful with a great view. We were within walking distance of the White House. The concierge was so helpful. She helped us with directions, tickets for busing and attractions, and advice on good restaurants. The staff was so friendly and polite. They went out of their way to speak to us or ask if they could help us. This experience has probably spoiled me from ever staying at anything but a five star hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suites have windows all the way around two walls with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherlyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
We are ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, Sherlyn. We hope you're birthday and anniversary were memorable and look forward to sharing many more memories with you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
171 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Our family had a pleasant stay at The Madison in DC. The hotel was well run and the staff was extremely helpful and polite. The rooms are nice but the furniture was dusty and not well maintained by the housekeeping person.
The dinner at the Federalist Restaurant was amazing. The rockfish was fantastic!

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the museums you may want to find a hotel closer to them. We spent about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dstillwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Very professional. The staff, location, food, service, cleanliness all presented with professionalism, care, and consideration. This is a clean, fresh, quiet, stately hotel. Also, a mere four blocks or so to the nearest metrostop. I recomend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing