We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The staff was so attentive yet made you feel like they've been your friend for years!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,832 - 1,838 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Wonderful hotel! Beautifully appointed; immaculately clean; service is courteous and smiling; we had no complaints and much praise. We just returned from a 3-night stay and would absolutely recommend The Madison to anyone visiting DC. It really is only 4 blocks from the White House (mind you, these are DC blocks, not your normal neighborhood blocks, so wear walking shoes). The concierge, Tony, was very helpful in getting us on the right evening tour of the monuments. Everyone, from the front desk, the doormen, and the restaurant wait-staff (Eric, in particular), really seemed delighted we were there; they all smiled ALOT, we had no member of the staff at anytime seem less than pleased to assist us. And, the chicken and waffles were to die for (you have to try them!).

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views, of course!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Good location, friendly staff, love accommodations. A really wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

I completely second the positive comments below, the renovation are really gorgeous and the room are spacious and carefully appointed. I also want to add a word of praise to Krystina and her staff in the Business Travel Coordinator office. They were prompt and attentive in communicating with me, making sure that all my "requests" were taken care off well before I arrived.

Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grottafe06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

We're glad that Krystina was able to assist you with your travel needs and that you liked our new look after a year long restoration. We hope to welcome you back to The Madison soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you happen to travel to Washington, DC as we just did to show off our wonderful country to our friends from Germany, make sure you stay at The Madison. From the moment you exit your car to the time you check out, every staff member is there to make sure you have the best experience! The rooms are superb and quiet. The food in the dining room is great and so is the service! Our German friends are in love with Washington, DC and so are we.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The Madison is an elegantly appointed and conveniently located boutique hotel gem in the heart of DC. Although I originally had reservations for one night, my sister and I wound up staying there for two nights thanks to an unexpected downpour during our double decker bus tour. Although we'd checked out earlier in the day, the front desk staff were understanding and quickly booked us back into our original room at a great rate.

The accommodations exceeded my expectations, the staff were gracious and efficient, and the rooms decorated with an eclectic elegance. Also, it was a short and pleasant walk from the Farragut North metro station, if you are so inclined. On my next weekend foray into DC, I will definitely plan to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 8th floor and encountered no street noise or disturbances even though we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GBreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We have just completed a wonderful 5 night stay at The Madison. The hotel was a "Secret Hotel" deal on Hotwire, so we were very pleased when we found out we were staying at The Madison. We were even more pleased once we arrived. The standard of the room - and the rest of the hotel - was superb.
Our family of three stayed in a queen queen room on the 15th floor. The room was very comfortable. It was a little tight (more due to all our luggage), but there was certainly enough room to get around the beds (my only complaint is the legs on the desk chair jutted out, and I managed to kick it a number of times). The beds and linens were great. We all sleeped so well.
The thing that distinguishes The Madison from other hotels we have stayed at during this vacation is the service - it is exceptional. Little things like Ramon and Jose greeting you at the front door, a welcome kit on arrival (containing a handy list of nearby restarants), a copy of the Washington Post hanging on the door knob every morning, or bottles of water being distributed at night. Housekeeping always ensured there were plently of large, fluffy towels available. And when we wanted something specific, the staff always came up trumps. Innocent made an excellent suggestion for a night tour of DC (DC Tours). I had a small problem trying to print an email at the business center, but Innocent provided a more than satisfactory alternative. And Tony arranged our transfer to Dulles. To all the staff at The Madison, thank you for making our stay so memorable and pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TA_from_Down_Under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

We will be sure to extend your thanks to our staff. Our team strives to exceed guest expectations by providing the right service to make every stay relaxing, memorable and filled with positive interactions. We look forward to your next stay at The Madison!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
212 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
3,202 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $103 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing