We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Graduation weekend--we paid for and reserved our rooms in February ., arrive at hotel and are told they don't have our room because they are overbooked and they will put us at the residence inn!!! Are you kidding me? What does reservation mean? I will never book this place or parent company again. They are idiots!

Room Tip: Your reservation means nothing so book a second hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
10  Thank Hanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, Hotel Manager at The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

We apologize for this inconvenience and greatly value your feedback. We would like the opportunity to discuss your experience further and make it up to you. I will be reaching out to you personally with my direct contact information shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,317)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,900 - 1,906 of 2,317 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel was beautifullly presented, nice atmsphere. Room was a a bit cramped for 2 adults and 2 children, the bathroom was small. The beds were nice and it was made up each day. The house keeping had to be reminded to leave tea & coffee and we had to request shampoos. We ate in the resturant, which was nice, however and they had a kids menu which was fine. We did feel it did not have a lot of choices. Staff were very friendly. Unfortunately the bell boys get upset if you do not tip them over $10, which for a family is just stupid, obviously we are going to have more bags. When we tipped the bell boy, he refused to put our bags into the cab, the guy on the front door had to chat to him about it all very unsavoury!!

Room Tip: 2 Double beds not really large enough for 2 adults and 2 kids, otherwise very pleasant, we were faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Close to the White House, close to the washington memorial and lincoln memorial.

Tip - visit the Lincoln Memorial after midnight. I arrived from the airport at 1am, couldn't sleep, went for a run down to the memorial. There was me, a security guard, and a stoned amorous couple. I had abe to myself. And the reflections in the water are amazing at night. Very cool.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaeltbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Extremely courteous staff-from check in to check out. Seamlessly handled. Concierge, Tony, was knowledgeable and helpful. We found the room to be well appointed, very clean, quiet and comfortable. The location is tops for the White House, all museums and the metro.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at The Madison! It is a beautiful hotel in a wonderful location. The staff is friendly and helpful. My room was spacious, beautifully decorated, very comfortable, and the view was fantastic! I could not have asked for better accommodations and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bridget m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed two nights and attended on site meetings. A bit of remodeling just finishing up - but well coordinated to minimize impact on guests. Within walking distance of the White House and so much more. Great staff - always ready to help.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed here for three nights after reading reviews on this website, and maybe expected a little more. The rooms are great, nicely decorated, and well appointed. The bathrooms are average in size but again very nice. The food is also a cut above average and was very enjoyable.
However I could not describe the service as great, reception was average, the usual feigned interest which was very obvious and therefore verging on rude. The doormen are hit or miss as to whether they were actually there and when they were they didn't open the door! We actually had to mention someones dirty plates etc left in our hallway for over 24 hours to reception so they would move it, (really!)
Compared to southern hospitality the service here felt aloof and bare minimum.
Would consider staying here again as price was good and location great but it really is a near miss, could be sooo much better.

Room Tip: Get a larger corner room as they could be considered a little small otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank istanbultrip059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Darcy Washington DC, Curio C...
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
3,200 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel

Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701 (Formerly Loews Madison Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $104 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated retreat with historic charm, The Madison, a Hilton Hotel is just steps from K Street, and only blocks from the White House, the city’s convention center and two Metro stations. Walk to Dupont Circle and McPherson Square. This heart-of-downtown location makes the hotel convenient for sightseeing, conferences and business. We are five miles from Washington National Airport. Our service-centered hotel boasts PostScript Restaurant and Lounge, fabulous event space for up to 500, a sauna and steam room in the health club, and some suites with balconies. We are also family- and pet-friendly. Each guest room, suite and accessible accommodation has free WiFi, a flat-screen TV and comfy bathrobe. On higher floors, our suites offer free premium-plus WiFi, a coffeemaker and a sofa bed in the living area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Madison Washington DC, A Hilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing