We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #76 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

This hotel is awesome.My husband and I stayed the weekend and hated leaving. The attention to detail from the minute you are greeted at your car to the turn down service at night is amazing. The rooms are incredibly clean and extremely comfortable. The food at the Federal was outstanding as was our breakfast in dining room. The hotel is located centrally to many of the monuments and museums. This is truly a first class hotel and we wouldn't hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    680
    232
    91
    59
See reviews for
518
533
77
666
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights - good, price, nicely decorated and in a very convenient location for exploring Washington. Renovations appeared to be over - we were on the 8th floor, didn't see or hear anything, but guess there could be renovations on other floors. Plenty of towels, nice, comfortable bed etc. Only downside was that we were near the elevators and could hear the gentle "bing, bing" of the bell and people coming back after a night out. Otherwise, couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lutonlassontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

I went to DC on business and was referred the Madison Hotel. I am happy to say that it lived up to every expectation I had. The decor was first class, top of the notch. Not a penny was spared during this renovation. The staff provided excellent service at every turn. The room was gorgeous and the beds and pillows were the best I have ever laid on! I had breakfast the following morning, and it was brought to the table hot and delicious! I was amazed by the value - it was worth every penny we spent! We will never entertain the idea of staying at another hotel in the DC or surrounding areas!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel is great, excellent room but when it comes to room service there is a different story.
When I arrived in the room we were surprised by our meeting host with several presents like a bottle of white wine, Italian cheese etc. Some how to keep this cool? Put it in the fridge... problem fridge was locked. Called reception desk, soeomen would come with a key. 24 hours later nobody. So called again because I was in need for fresh refreshments for the night. Reception desk said: "you have to take them out of the fridge".. Without a key not possible, on top the fridge was empty. So room service arrived at the moment I was leaving knocking at the room next to mine. Finally for a couple of bottles of water had to sign off for 54 USD! Then wanted to drink some water and saw the glasses were filthy, they were changed after going to the reception desk. The first day the room was no tidied before 5 pm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
180 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

This is a good choice when selecting a Washington, D. C., hotel. The property, itself, is excellent and its location is convenient.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamGodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in March and I'm happy to recommend it ! The hotel was in the process of being renovated when we arrived but this caused no issues at all, apart from a little noise during the day, there was no impact. The benefit of course is that much of the hotel is newly renovated and has a very special 'new' feel. The lobby had only recently been completed when we were there and is very tasteful and elegant and we really enjoyed the lobby bar for a drink or two at the end of exhausting days as first time tourists in this wonderful city. We also ate from the bar menu one evening and the food was excellent (as was the service.) The breakfast menu is very comprehensive and delicious. Our room was comfortable and clean (which, for me, is the most important criteria for a happy stay.) The gym is also quite well equiped with an outlook to the street. The only reason I didn't give the hotel an 'excellent' rating was that we had a couple of minor issues with the staff on the front desk that detracted from the experience and whilst a great location in terms of the various monuments etc. the hotel isn't particulary close to too many restaurant options - although we did eat at the restaurant in the hotel which was very good also. Other than that ... all good! If we ever make it back to Washington DC, which I really hope we will, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Hotel is only about 3 blocks away from the McPherson metro station. Rooms have been newly renovated with a posh decor. Close to P Street where there are several food options. There are great options on 15th St as well. Had dinner with friends in the hotel's Federalist restaurant on the main level -- food was great!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kstansb2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing