We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I had a very enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loews Madison Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“I had a very enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

I would like to thank the staff for making my stay very enjoyable and memorable.
A special thanks to the Consear Tony Brown, he was very knowledgeable and helpful about what to do and how to do it, I would also like to thank Bridget Davidson whose services went above and beyond.
Thank you... Eric and Regina Molden

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank houmex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,039
    681
    232
    91
    59
See reviews for
518
533
77
667
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Seneca
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

I stayed at The Madison for a family vacation at Easter break in April. I was very happy with my decision to stay at there for our first time in Washington. The staff at this hotel is just about the friendliest I've ever experienced expecially the doormen and the front desk but everyone was extremely kind and helpful. The hotel was very nicely decorated and recently renovated. We had an inside room on the 11th floor which was very quiet but very small for three people. The space between the beds and the dressers was extremely small. The bathroom was very small as well. The room was very clean and attractive but small. The shower pressure was poor. I felt the beds were very comfortable but one family member felt It was great to have free Wifi and I had no problem with the signal. The Madison was close to a Metro stop so we were able to get to all the attractions very easily. I did have the opportunity to use the fitness center which is open 24 hours. It was very nice and well equipped. I would recommend The Madison and ould stay there again.

Room Tip: Inside rooms have no view but are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkishbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Attentive, helpful staff. Lovely, redecorated lobby and guest rooms. Attended conference at the hotel and stayed on to see the sites (total of 8 days). Concierge gave my daughter and me VIP passes to the Holocaust Museum (usually have scheduled times to get in) and great advice getting around DC.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012 via mobile

First time here. A regular at another hotel which was booked. Room was beautiful and service perfect. Great hotel at competitive price.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhaskelo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Vermont, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were in D.C.and The Madison was the perfect place to visit family, friends and sights. Conveniently located to all the sites, beautifully decorated (traditional with modern touches) & excellent service made for a great visit. Try the duck confit for breakfast..amazing. We were there over the weekend and visited the bar/lounge which had a nice vibe. Would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianevVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Superb. From check in to check out, everything was fantastic. The front desk was very warm and welcoming, the décor of the hotel and room was modern and polished, the bathroom was clean (though the shower head could have used more pressure), and the Keurig machine was a nice touch. Also, FREE WIFI! The location is good with cabs lined up in front of the hotel or a 10-15 minute walk to Dupont Circle. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaseMe516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I had to go to Washington the last weekend for an expected meeting and the hotel where I usually stay was fully booked. That’s the reason why I tried the Madison – I had never been there before and I found it to be a very good hotel – the room was very, very nice, and the price was convenient. Comfy bed, good internet access, modern bathroom and no noise at all. The Madison is in a wonderful location if you have meetings in the Pennsylvania Avenue area. The front desk people and the rest of the staff were very helpful and kind too.

The only but is that their room service is over-priced. 20 USD for a crème brulee is far too expensive by all standards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing