We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #74 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Glen Head, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic weekend stay”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Their attention to detail really made a huge impact on our experience this past weekend at The Madison. We booked our trip through luxurylink.com and won an auction for a weekend stay. It far exceeded our expectations. The hotel was beautiful and our breakfast each day was absolutely fabulous. Their foods were locally sourced and presented beautifully not to mention a great cup of coffee to start the day! We were about a 20 minute walk or a 4 minute cab ride to all the sites of the city and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to visit DC.

Room Tip: We had a handicap accessible room with a walk in shower which was awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenNY_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,066
    695
    238
    92
    62
See reviews for
531
538
78
693
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling Hts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Every staff member that worked at the hotel was very friendly. Didn't matter the time of day, they were super nice. From the Doorman to the bartenders, I can't say one bad thing about them. Tony Brown, the concierge was excellant and recommended some excellant choices on activities to do for the days we were there. The hotel was warm and inviting. I would definetly recommend this hotel. Very clean as well.

Room Tip: My pillows were like marshmellows, so I don't think you can go wrong with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake oswego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Madison was a great place to stay to see the sights of Wash DC. Close to the white house and the metro. We are at the hotel and the food was also good. Walking distance to The Mall or Metro. The only disappointment was I could not get wireless internet in my room with my IPAD. The IT guy said everything at the hotel was working fine but that hand helds have weaker antenae's to explain the problem. I was able to get a connection in the lobby but it would have been better to surf and email in my room. I am fairly new to my IPAD but I get good connections at home, airports etc.
The concierge was fantastic and she set us up with tickets to the Holocost Museum so we didn't have to go and wait in line.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colsmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMadison, General Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2012
Thank you so much for the feedback about your stay, we're glad you enjoyed Spring Break at The Madison, and in Washington DC! Our apologies for the issues you encountered with your wireless device - as we come to completion on a multi faceted (and beautiful!) renovation, we will also be taking time in May to exponentially enhance the internet infrastructure in the building. We look forward to welcoming you (and your IPAD!) back to The Madison in the near near future to showcase these enhancements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

If you are going to Washington DC for a holiday this is the hotel to stay at;close to so many must see sights, and a metro very close. Room was a good size and very clean with superb facilities.
Staff welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

After staying six nights and seven days, I have great confidence that this is a hotel of choice for the area. Conveniently located and in a clean, safe area.

The experienced staff were phenomenal and very attentive.

Only area for improvement would be their wifi. While it was free, being on the 7th floor, it was rarely accessible. Bring your own hotspot if you reliable access.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmscrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We were so pleasantly surprised at this little boutique type hotel. So clean and crisp from lobby to rooms...really nice. Very quiet...we stayed on the 14th floor. And Tony the Concierge, was a gem. He helped us plan our itinerary the week before we arrived and gave us the best tips. We had our week planned before set foot in DC...saved so much time and money by doing this. Thank you Tony!!
We were 3 blocks from the Metro. Everything was walkable. 3 blocks from CVS and Whole Foods. Great restaurants just a few blocks away as well. 14K has great happy hour food btw! We would stay in a Madison again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 14th floor was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktfeldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Stayed one night before flying back to UK. Wish we had stayed the 4 days at the beginning of our holiday as it was superb. The staff were really pleasant and the refurbishment amazing.
Our room was modern and beautifully decorated, complete with a wetroom instead of the dreaded bath, and a duvet on the bed. Heaven

Room Tip: Rooms off the street are much quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#88 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing