We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVED THE HOTEL AND GRATEFUL FOR THE CARING STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Loews Madison Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“LOVED THE HOTEL AND GRATEFUL FOR THE CARING STAFF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

My friend and I stayed at the Madison as the Hotel where the conference we were attending was booked. So glad we did.

At the other hotel I obtained an injury resulting in a fractured tibia. The staff at the Madison was so accommodating and helpful to me. From helping me from the taxis, to lending a wheelchair, to even allowing me to use a handicapped room to shower.

I found the staff not only friendly but happy to be of service.

The Madison is a boutique hotel, which prides itself on its service and taking care of their guests.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,051
    689
    235
    92
    60
See reviews for
524
537
78
676
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2011

We really liked the madison, found it to be a friendly place. The room was clean and looked recently renovated. The free wine served Mon. - Thurs. in the lobby was a nice time to meet others and relax. I would stay here again. It was 3 blocks to the Metro and several good places to eat. We booked thru Hotwire and got an excellent rate for this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbuck48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Thanks for your kind comments about The Madison. We appreciate the feedback. The wine hour is definitely a nice touch.

I just want to point out one new feature at The Madison that we recently added - Free WiFi in all guest rooms and public spaces. Come back and see us again and check out the Federalist, the newest restaurant in our neighborhood, right next to the hotel.

Warm regards,

Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

The furniture is tired, the lobby looks a bit tired, the waitstaff in the bar/restaurant seem like they'd rather be somewhere else. Not sure what the renovated rooms are like, our room seemed to have new-ish furniture, but the carpet looked like it had seen better days. Our bed was broken, and we had to have them fix it. The restaurant, The Federalist, is in final stages of construction during our stay, and it looks like it will be pretty fun, and then maybe The Madison will be able to decide if it wants to look like a traditional-style DC hotel or become a hipper version of itself, because right now, it's trying to figure this out. Restaurant/bar is overpriced, parking your car here is uber-expensive. The air seems dusty and even a bit mildewy. Some of the rooms on the 15th floor have great balconies, although the outdoor furnishings are sparse and scattered. The best thing about this hotel is its proximity to the sites of DC, but we'll stay elsewhere next time we come to Our Nation's Capital.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms with "interior courtyard" view. If you must stay here, spend a bit more f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annwphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thanks for your response, both positive and negative, we really appreciate the feedback that we are getting. It let's us know what we are doing right and in some cases wrong.

Things are definitely changing at the Madison. We understand that some of the rooms look tired and we are working to rectify those as soon as possible. The Madison will soon undergo renovations in phases. A complete makeoever of our guestrooms are in order. You can take a sneak peek on our website at the bottom of the page as to what they are going to look like. Obviously it's a complete change from what the hotel is now.

PostScript, our lobby restaurant will also be closing for a few months while we renovate the area. Prices and menus are being evaluated and will likely change, for the benefit of the guest. All staff will undergo new training and I can assure you that we will be better in the service department once we re-open the restaurant.

Thanks for mentioning the Federalist, our new restaurant. We are really excited for the opening come the end of October and the menu is very approachable. For the 15th floor rooms, yes the outer ring of rooms do have large terraces and will be improved once we commence renovations too.

As for parking, I can only say that we are average in terms of pricepoint throughout the city. In our neighborhood, most hotels within a few blocks radius actually charge $45 or more for overnight parking. I know you already commented that you would look elsewhere for your next visit to DC but I encourage you to give the Madison another go, I'm certain that we can redeem ourselves with a refreshed look, quality service and better restaurant options.

Sincerely,
Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Spent four days sight seeing with my 11 year old daughter. What a great time we had and the Madison was a big part of that. The staff was so accommodating and helpful. Hard to believe they are heading into a full renovation - the hotel is beautiful and location was great. Easy to walk, use metro or rent bikes to get about anywhere. Can't wait to return and see the finished product. Restaurant was out of service due to constructIon but Meals were served in bar and through room service. No problem with construction noise. I purchase through priceline at a great rate and feared we may not be taken care of as well as higher paying customers, but I was so wrong. Staff went out of their way to make our stay terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for outside room, not inner that look into alley
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

We found a comfortable, quiet, well-appointed room for two. This hotel is centrally located (just a few blocks from the White House and other sights) with a helpful staff. The restaurant was fine for dinner and breakfast, as well as a place to enjoy an early evening cocktail. We couldn't be happier with our stay there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thanks for your comments, we really do appreciate them. We hope that you can make it back soon once our new restaurant, the Federalist, opens this fall (2011).

Sincerely,

Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

I got two rooms last-minute during a recent weekend, one for me and wife, and one for my father-in-law who was visiting from Japan and had never been to DC before. We all loved the location, which was four blocks from the White House - and perhaps even more importantly, two blocks from a Starbucks and CVS. We were impressed by the service, which is not easy to do for Japanese people considering how their nation has raised customer service to an art - but when my father-in-law called down for a toothbrush and toothpaste (as those amenities are provided in all Japanese hotels but not American hotels so he didn't know to pack them), a staff person was at his door in literally 3 minutes with the complementary items, which was much appreciated. All our interaction with the staff was pleasant and helpful. They also made a really excellent restaurant recommendation.

And while this will not be of relevance to most travelers, we were able to book our rooms on the top (15th) floor and they were excellent: spacious rooms, tastefully appointed, with ample living-room space, nice TVs, and best of all, HUGE balconies with a view of the Washington Monument.

If location and friendly service are important priorities for you, I recommend this hotel. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: 1501 and 1511 had large balconies with a table and 2 chairs on them, it was nice to be able to step...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PwopyChulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Thank you for your very kind review of the Madison. We're so happy to hear that your stay went well. It really is such a compliment that you're ranking our service right up there with a Japanese hotel. That's very exciting to share this news with our staff.

As for the 15th floor, that's one of our little known secrets at this property. All of our rooms on the exterior side of the hotel on that floor have a large terrace with table and chairs. Some of the other attractions you can see include: The Jefferson Memorial, the Washington National Cathedral, and the Basilica of the Shrine of the Immaculate Conception @ Catholic University.

On behlaf of the staff at the Madison, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Booked w points and was to be a 4.5 star hotel-it was the smallest we have ever stayed in-no room at all to move-shower handle cut my finger -not a pleasant stay w a 2 yr old

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RepRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMadison, Public Relations Manager at Loews Madison Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thanks for your feedback on the Madison. We appreciate your honesty. Our rooms are typical of the average size that you will find in Washington DC. They range in size from 215 sq. ft. up to 1,700 sq. ft. for our penthouse room. It's unfortunate that you felt cramped during your visit, especially while traveling with a toddler. Should you choose to stay with us again, I might suggest upgrading your room to a luxury or grand category for a nominal fee. These rooms have at least 50-100 sq. ft. of additional space compared to our standard rooms.

I would also like to point out that booking travel with credit card points has its values and limitations. While you are rewarded with travel, often credit card agents are unfamiliar with individual hotel properties or even room types, limiting their ability to find a room that’s best suited for you. For the most accurate information about a property, always visit their website or call the reservations department to confirm room types and sizes. At an independent property like the Madison, the reservation department is housed within the hotel, letting them share the most knowledge about the product.

As for cutting your finger on the shower handle, I really can’t explain that. It seems like an odd occurrence that we haven’t experienced before. I sincerely apologize and will have our maintenance team inspect all shower handles for sharp edges and replace them immediately.

Kind regards,

Chris Gieckel
Director of Public Relations
The Madison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Westin Washington, D.C. City...
#88 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loews Madison Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loews Madison Hotel

Property: Loews Madison Hotel
Address: 1177 15th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-2701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#40 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#45 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#58 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Loews Madison Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Become a part of history when you stay at Loews Madison Hotel. Located in the heart of downtown Washington D.C., our hotel has been honored to host distinguished guests including Elizabeth Taylor and John F. Kennedy. Our unmatched dedication to service has made us the first choice for political and social leaders, global travelers and families seeking the cultural legacy of our nation's capital. Only a short stroll from the White House, Embassy Row, and National Mall Monuments, Loews Madison Hotel is a refreshing destination for corporate stays, relaxing getaways and unforgettable gatherings. Appointed with sophisticated furnishings, our Washington, D.C. hotel features a collection of rooms and suites with amenities fit for a president. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Loews Madison Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Madison Hotel Washington Dc
Madison Washington Dc
Madison Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing